We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The African Regent Hotel

Hotels.comUS$196*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The African Regent Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 289: English reviews
Start your review of The African Regent Hotel
 Click to rate
Accra, Ghana
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff very helpful Room service very nice Restaurant correct but buffet is mostly the same every day Room OK TV could have more channels and better quality Swimming pool nice near to the airport but no noise

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeromemouille
Cape Town
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for two nights for a conference and had a great experience at the hotel. The airport shuttle was efficient and provided much appreciated ice-cold water. The rooms were relatively simple (not flashy), but everything worked. The staff were all very helpful -when I checked in my room's safe was still set for the previous user - the immediately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MJBCapeTown
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is conveniently close to the airport - about 15 mins and there is a free hotel shuttle. Rooms are comfortable, spacious bathroom with bathtub and shower, good complimentary toiletries and good free wifi connection. The breakfast buffet selection was good with western and local choices.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CherylJ123
Johannesburg
Reviewed 5 March 2017

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in February 2017. The good location and facilities are very much in line with the price that we paid, but the lack of speed and the mistakes made by room service were just not acceptable. On the morning of our departure we had ordered an early breakfast before catching the 6...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeterSharland
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Spent Christmas there with my family , had a wonderful time. The staff and service were excellent. What can I say about the food? That's why they won an award for Hotel Restaurant of the year 2016. My only complaint is I gained a few pounds 😂. I would recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laryeap
Adwoa O, Promotions and Brand Executive at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laryeap, It was such a delight reading your candid five star review of our property.We appreciate you and your family making us a preferred hotel for an important holiday such as Christmas. Our restaurant of the year feat was made possible due to excellent feedback and recommendations such as yours for which we are most grateful. We look forward...

Reviewed 3 February 2017

This is a comfortable and clean hotel. The staff are nice and friendly. What I enjoyed most was the nearness of the hotel to the airport and the shopping mall. The Buffet was ok. However the menu can be quite repetitive. Overall I always enjoy my stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Osayomore O
Adwoa O, Promotions and Brand Executive at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Osayomore O, Thank you for your continued patronage of The African Regent Hotel and for sharing such a glowing review of our property. Our closeness to the Kotoka International Airport and the Accra mall is indeed one of many reasons guests prefer our Airport West property and we are glad you experienced same. Your feedback regarding our buffet menu...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Rooms = large, clean and comfortable with a safe and TV. The bathroom was a little outdated but the water was hot. Service = friendly but a little clumsy. We had to ask for towels several times. The hotel affiliated taxi drivers are excellent especially, Ayesi. Restaurant = breakfast is great with hot and cold selections as well as an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danrzr
Adwoa O, Promotions and Brand Executive at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Danrzr, Thank you for making us your preferred hotel during your recent trip to Accra.We appreciate the opportunity of hosting you to personalized Ghanaian hospitality. Your comments regarding our bathrooms and service have been well noted. Our property has been undergoing facelifts over the past few years and there are plans to revamp all bathrooms and other critical areas...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 22 January 2017

This was a last minute booking hence I looked for a medium price range, close to the airport deal. The reports seemed OK so I took the plunge. Location was excellent and the overall appearance was quite good. Check in was relatively quick apart from the need to fill in another form (address etc) which seemed unnecessary when it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bizfish
Adwoa O, Promotions and Brand Executive at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bizfish, Thank you for making the African Regent Hotel your preffered hotel during your recent trip to Accra. We appreciate your kind compliments and constructive feedback and the time taken to share your experience with the travel community and look forward to more opportunities of welcoming you back to our property. Warm Regards,

Philly
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Sometimes a hotel can be all you dreamed it would be and a few little things can put a damper on the entire trip. We only stayed at the hotel one night and what was worst than staying in a hot room ( that we expected) was the attitudes of the people working there. It was like asking for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Goddess69
Adwoa O, Promotions and Brand Executive at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Goddess69, Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our property with us and the travel community. Feedback both positive and negative is very critical to us as it helps in bettering the total customer experience and we are disappointed to learn your experience with us was marred by poor customer service. We sincerely apologise for any...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Only given this 4 stars because shower curtains were too short causing wet floor when showering. Spacious clean bed room with air conditioning, speedy efficient room service, staff welcoming & very accommodating, approx 10 mins drive from airport, clean & comfortable airport shuttle, splendid array of food & drinks= excellent value for money, well equipped gym, small swimming pool, security...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SMC1925
Adwoa O, Promotions and Brand Executive at The African Regent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SMC1925, We thoroughly enjoyed reading your glowing four star review and your experience here at The African Regent Hotel. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and we are most motivated by your kind comments. We look forward to more opportunities of welcoming you back to our property. Best Regards,

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
1:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
7.5 km away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 91 in Accra
562 reviews
7.8 km away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
1.3 km away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#4 of 91 in Accra
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Accra Airport Hotel
2.9 km away
Golden Tulip Accra
Golden Tulip Accra
#15 of 91 in Accra
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An icon to the finest hospitality in Ghana, the African Regent is an integral part of Accra's most prestigious residential community and features exclusive accommodations that offer more than just a good night’s sleep. It is boldly contemporary, yet inspired by elements of traditional African design. The stunning African-themed décor and professional staff make The African Regent as much a place to stay and relax as a prime destination to entertain and socialise. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The African Regent Hotel

Address: 237/238 Airport West | P. O. Box CT 6143, Accra, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Price Range: RM841 - RM1,316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The African Regent Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The African Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accra Regent
Regent Hotel African
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Accra
#6 Business Hotel in Accra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The African Regent Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The African Regent Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher and away from the pool are quieter.”
bizfish, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 4005 is the BEST room ever!!!!”
  • Mr Francis Amoh in-charge of Rooms
  • Beautiful area from outside Rm 4005
nunu8199, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with a balcony to have a view of the surrounding areas. The 360 degree view all have nice scenery”
  • Balcony View
  • Shot from my balcony
drakoni, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near the lifts can be noisy as this is a KLM stayover hotel and their flight arrives fairly late. ”
huckfinn77, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I stay in roon 208. It was nice”
ousmanefaye, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$196* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$196
Booking.comUS$216
AMOMAUS$204
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates