We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Aknac Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Aknac Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Aknac Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 127: English reviews
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Went in very unsure to expect based off varied reviews but my stay turned out to be one of the more pleasant experiences of what Ghana can offer. Although off the grid the hotel offers a great atmosphere and the staff were extremly pleasant and made me feel very at home. I was very happy with my room, as well...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Ron M
Accra, Ghana
Reviewed 12 March 2016

I have been travelling to Africa for over 15 years and have stayed in a lot of hotels in the world but The Aknac hotel was so one of the best. I was not impressed with the road leading to the hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised when I saw the building and the big car park . The welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 210Bryan
Reviewed 10 March 2016 via mobile

This hotel was a big disappointment and I don't know why it has 4 stars. For that kind of price they charge, I expected at least close to first class service. Originally booked for 4nights but had to cut my stay short to just a day. I woke up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adesua N
County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 22 February 2016

I have been travelling to Africa for over 25 years and have stayed in a lot of hotels but The Aknac was so far if not the best, then certainly one of the best. I was not impressed with the road leading to the hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised when I saw the building. The welcome drink, the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Joe B
Villars-sur-Ollon, Switzerland
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Location.... MORE than 20km from some of the main places of interest as opposed to the 6-10 the advertise as on Hotels.com. NOT on the motorway as their map location suggests. In fact a 16km DETOUR was needed including two PERILOUS if not ILLEGAL motorway manoeuvres. first room had MARKED WALLS and STAINED BATH. The manager kindly moved my room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BSTony
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2016

A very nice hotel to simply relax. I enjoyed it here very much and spent 4 days lazing around the pool. Had an airport pick up, very useful as hotel was slightly off beaten track. It was a nice first impression, I was greeted with a warm welcome, a cold freshly squeezed drink and friendly staff. Stayed in a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Josef F
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 18 January 2016

This place is horrible. There are bugs in the rooms, the food, etc. No internet that works, extremely poor service, manipulation of prices and inconsistencies in charges. Horrifying experience. RUN AWAY. Don't allow the look of the hotel to deceive you about the service you will receive. The service is horiffic.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Nia M
TheAknacHotel, Front Office Manager at The Aknac Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/madam, We do not have a reservation under your name in any of our records, therefore we cannot respond to the allegations made. We urge the trip advisor community to read the reviews below in order to gain a factual view of the hotel from guests that have actually stayed. Regards RESERVATIONS

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2016

i'm used to travelling around the world and staying in luxury hotels. I had never visited Ghana before and was keen to see what the country had to offer. I choose this hotel based on reviews that I had got from the internet and also a recommendation from my friend who had visited Ghana and had gone for a drink...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank kwab a
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2015

I’m not usually one to post reviews but after reading some of the others on Tripadvisor, felt inclined to also add my opinion. I had a very good experience staying at this hotel. First time staying here as I’m usually a fan of the larger city chains such as holiday inn, but it was well worth the change. I have...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Michel B
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

I would like to revert to an earlier review put up on this forum without my consent. This was done by an over enthusiastic colleague. I think it was wrong to have put that up when constant comms was still ongoing between myself and the hotel management. I did have issues with some of the services provided by the hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Hardegun

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
9.8 km away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 95 in Accra
551 reviews
8.6 km away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#4 of 95 in Accra
194 reviews
7.5 km away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Pemicsa Hotel
Pemicsa Hotel
#36 of 95 in Accra
17 reviews
14.3 km away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
14.0 km away
Hotel Elegance
Hotel Elegance
#34 of 95 in Accra
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Aknac Hotel

Address: Trasacco Valley, Accra, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Price Range: RM461 - RM624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aknac Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Jovago.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Aknac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Aknac Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Aknac Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2 floors and pool and non-pool view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles , 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pool view rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles adwoamensah128, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lovely stay and hotel had wheelchair access”
 of 5 bubbles B4562ZGelizabetha, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Poolview was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles katiehunter555, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel. If stuck there, get a room facing the pool even if you have to argue to get it. You have to argue to get anything.”
 of 5 bubbles HHSFVR, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5