We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Belvedere

Booking.comUS$43*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Hotel Belvedere
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 57: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Belvedere
 Click to rate
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is sprawled over three floors and, from the common views, has nice views of Tana as it is perched atop a hill. So lots of nice places to watch the sunset with a beer or a coffee. The rooms are slightly cramped (some of them with a little attic) and the bathrooms are ok. The breakfast is sparse...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peripateticously
Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I've stayed twice at this hotel and both times had wished I'd skipped Antanarivo aka Tana altogether. Hotel has no bottled water in room, no toiletries, no hair dryer, TV did not work, no phone, etc. Rooms are below modest. The location is in a seedy area and when I went out to take a walk, I turned around in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CyberAynne
Capel, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Attractively set on a high point overlooking the city, the twin rooms had a mezzanine and good bathroom. The restaurant offered a range of meals, including some local dishes. My travelling partner and I (both women) felt safe walking in the neighbourhood during the day, didnt try at night and enjoyed discovering the 'Belvedere' it was named for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise L
marco b, Direttore generale at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Best regards Bruno

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Antananarivo can be quite overwhelming and claustrophobic. Imagine, then a leafy oasis with charming rooms, a decent restaurant and two cats roaming : you have the Belvedere. It's within walking distance of the key traveller sites in the capital and there are alternative restaurants close by. The rooms are reasonably priced, comfortable and offer hot showers but no aircon. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Inspector_More
Trapani, Italy
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Location: excellent. In this hotel you have an amazing view of the all town. The place is near many shops and restaurant and has good and relaxed atmosphere. There is an excellent variety of rooms for every pocket. Good relation quality/price. Service: The service in general is very good. The personnel is very polite & available at any time. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Noemi C
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 5 January 2017

i found this hotel very very ..basic, its not safe to leave it alone if you are a woman, dont know about it if you are a man. the restaraun ist not too bad but thats the best part of the hotel. if i was going there again i would look for a 4 star

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 111Ellie
marco b, Proprietario at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review

Choose a two star hotel (32 euro) and to complain because there are not performance as a four (160 euro) is equivalent to choose to go on vacation in Switzerland and to complain about the lack of sea .. !! .. No comment. . !!

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Hotel Belvedere is a great address, very well priced, the rooms are really nice, and the location in Tana is perfect. You are at a walking distance from restaurants and markets. There is a range of rooms / prices from single to double / loft type with kitchen, which can be a good thing for longer stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin C
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 21 November 2016

I stayed here total of 5 nights from Oct 30 - Nov 19. I had a small group - we had 5 rooms in total. Everyone loved the place. I personally think it is a gem. They have built the hotel into its surroundings, tucked into a neighbourhood and off the main road a bit. The views over town from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMacKay
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

We were coming from few days of road trip and we found an amazing spot where to rest in this beautiful hotel. IT s so cute, built on 3 floors, with nice sight and nice architecture. We got the studio room, big, spacious, with great bathroom. Overall very well cleaned, no surprises. Only remark would be that bed linen were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Diego P
Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Just a shame our first night was blighted by power cuts to some of the rooms. Also wifi is focussed on the restaurant area and the immediate vicinity. Rooms great and comfortable, 23 has a higher level with an extra bed. Great views of the city, but you do get woken up at first light as the local cockerels and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WelshwizardK10D

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
255 reviews
0.8 km away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#5 of 59 in Antananarivo
128 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
318 reviews
1.5 km away
Les Trois Metis
Les Trois Metis
#8 of 59 in Antananarivo
113 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#12 of 59 in Antananarivo
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the city center of Antananarivo, close to government, banks, restaurants and commerce, The Belvedere Hotel is perched on a hill overlooking part of the city of Antananarivo. You can also admire the landscape from four panoramic terraces of the hotel facing west. Its privileged position, set back from the main road, next to the park mosque and height give you the wonderful feeling of being in an oasis center of the capital. The architecture and decor make our hotel a boutique hotel with excellent value for money. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: Lot IF 27 bis Isoraka | Tananarive, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Price Range: RM215 - RM282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
#3 Spa Hotel in Antananarivo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Belvedere staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Belvedere staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best rooms are on top floor (family rooms)”
noemicorsini, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The spa room is great, but can't open windows. If you have trouble with stairs go for rooms 1-8.”
AnnaMacKay, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Top floor for extra room”
WelshwizardK10D, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All are good rooms, if you wish second floor has also a bigger choise of tv channels”
francicalini, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some stairs and I don't remember a lift so those with difficulties may need ground floor.”
annarL9557MA, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$43* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$43
TripAdvisorUS$43
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates