We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lilongwe
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I am more of a hotel-person, but I really enjoyed my stay at Heuglins Lodge. A lovely bohemian building, good facilities and fantastic staff and ownership. Highly recommended for anyone visiting Lilongwe for business or leisure.

Helpful?
Thank Simon H
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe, responded to this review

Dear Simon H, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Heuglin’s Lodge. We are so pleased to hear that you were able to have an enjoyable stay with us. We really appreciate your kind comments about the property, facilities, staff and your overall positive feedback about Heuglin's Lodge which we value so much. We look forward to having... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A great oasis of calm in a leafy neighbourhood. A suitable spot to stay for an afternoon and evening before travelling home (or indeed on arrival if you're heading out to the bush). Great swimming pool and ‎yet again, wonderful food (this was our last of 10 nights in Malawi and the two packets of biscuits I brought remained untouched.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Banburybaby1
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe, responded to this review

Dear Banburybaby1 Thank you for your lovely review of Heuglin's Lodge. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to relax and unwind at the guesthouse on your last night in Malawi. Our team is really delighted that we could make your mom's birthday special. We also thank you for your kind comments about... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the second time we have stayed at Heuglin's. After a gap of ten years we found it to be every bit as good as the first time. The staff are warm and attentive. The rooms are well equipped, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The large sitting room is full of books and artefacts from Malawi - and there... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2easyrider
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe, responded to this review

Dear 2easyrider, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Heuglin's Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you have once again enjoyed your stay with us and we truly appreciate your kind comments about our staff, our food, our standards of service & hospitality and our overall offering. Yes our generator does help us to keep the lodge... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yet again Heuglins, was the perfect guest house during my recent stay. As a regular visitor I have never been disappointed. The food, room, and hospitality from the team couldn't be faulted. Thanks to all the team and I'm looking forward to returning again soon.

Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe, responded to this review

Dear Rachel G, Thank you so much for your wonderful review which we value so much. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the lodge. It is always a pleasure for us to host regular visitors such as yourself and we are so pleased to hear that everything at the Lodge has been to your... More 

Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were booked into Heuglin's by our tour operator as a stopover before our flight home to the UK. This is not a place we would ever choose to frequent. Our room was not adequately cleaned and serviced - no hot water, no drinking water left in the room, no torch (for the inevitable power cuts), no soap in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ange086
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe, responded to this review

Dear Ange086, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. As you had also filled in the personal questionnaire we give to all guests we were aware of some of your views and would have liked to have replied to you privately but no contact details were left. We are of course terribly disappointed to have received our... More 

Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Like a previous reviewer we ended up at Heuglin's unexpectedly because our flight to Nairobi was delayed for over 12 hours. A quick call to the colleagues we had been visiting in Malawi for an hotel recommendation brought us to Heuglin's, nestled in the quieter suburbs of Lilongwe - but still on the 'right side' of the town for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank EOGdorset
Marketing M, Marketing Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe, responded to this review

Dear EOGDorset, Thank you for your lovely review of Heuglin's Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and were able to unwind at the lodge whilst waiting for your flight to Nairobi. Despite any stress caused by flight delays, we are so pleased that our team's warm welcome, was able to put you... More 

Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2016

I had resented having to stay in Lilongwe because of the flight scheduling to Mfuwe, Zambia and Liwonde my main target destinations. It was with this attitude that I arrived thinking I will just bear this enforced stopover (3 times) . The friendly and homely nature of the place just blew away any reservations I had. This was not a... More 

Helpful?
Thank LipKee
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. I'm pleased to hear that your stay at Heuglin's exceeded your expectations. We do strive to create a home away from home vibe for our guests as far as possible. I'm glad you were able to sample the fantastic bird life, we actually recorded 40 species in one day on our last count in... More 

uk
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2015

I stayed here for almost three weeks while working in Lilongwe. A great base. A few tips if you are there - particularly in the summer. 1. Take swimming things - I wish I had. The garden pool looked very inviting! 2. Either take electrical equipment with a long battery life (as power cuts occur every day) or a spare... More 

Helpful?
Thank kn0wmad
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay at Heuglins, though a shame you didn't have your swimming gear as a dip in the pool to escape from the heat is very refreshing! Unfortunately with electricity very unreliable at times in Lilongwe we, along with everyone else, are susceptible to power cuts. I'm sorry your stay coincided... More 

Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2015

Heuglins is in what some describe as the better part of Lilongwe's residential area. Ambassadors' residences abound. The outstanding feature is the food and friendliness of the staff! Not the forced and canned politeness you so often get at chain hotels. Each evening the chef produced original, creative 3 course meals that were a hit with the guests. I noticed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Noel S
Marketing M, Marketing Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to having you back again soon! All the best. Richard and the CAWS team. More 

Mauritius
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Food is great, mind your waistline!!! Heuglins is indeed a home away from home, I particularly like the way people connect around dinner time. The house is very nice and the staff as well. The bed was also super comfortable and cozy.

Helpful?
Thank Yakalele
Marketing M, Marketing Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your time at Heuglins. We look forward to you staying with us again soon. Take care. Richard and the CAWS team. More 

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
6.9 km away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#5 of 12 in Lilongwe
61 reviews
1.8 km away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
131 reviews
6.5 km away
Kiboko Town Hotel
Kiboko Town Hotel
#1 of 12 in Lilongwe
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Sunbird Capital
Sunbird Capital
#4 of 12 in Lilongwe
179 reviews
1.3 km away
Burley House
Burley House
#6 of 23 in Lilongwe
30 reviews
1.3 km away
Ufulu Gardens
Ufulu Gardens
#3 of 23 in Lilongwe
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Heuglin's Lodge is situated in the peaceful garden suburbs of Lilongwe's residential area, yet is in a prime location being just 5 minutes from Capital City and just 35 minutes from Lilongwe International Airport. The Lodge offers a variety of spacious and tastefully furnished bedrooms accommodating up to a maximum of 18 people providing a perfect base for both visitors and business consultants alike. The lodge has 9 spacious rooms, broadband internet access, TV's in rooms, TV lounge with self service bar, fine dining, swimming pool, extensive gardens, transfer service within Lilongwe, airport transfers and a wildlife library. For business guests a business centre with broadband internet, photocopying, printing and faxing facilities are available. Children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe

Address: 43 Off Blantyre Road, Area, Lilongwe, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Price Range: RM1,072 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Darlington, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are as good as each other. You can't go wrong!”
 of 5 bubbles 2easyrider, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 6 is particularly spectacular”
 of 5 bubbles kn0wmad, 4 Dec 2015 | Read review
“The lodge has a variety of differently configured rooms. Select one that fits your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles NoelS454, 15 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room with attached bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles Yakalele, 9 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The corner rooms in the main house are amazing.”
 of 5 bubbles LeahStockholm, 6 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5