We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Avenida

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Avenida
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Avenida
See the most recent reviews
Showing 133: English reviews
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This is my sixth stay here at Avenida. Some problems remain: Insulation (very thin walls) and internet. Now I observed they get fewer cable channels, for instance no CNN or Globo (this hotel receives a lot of Brazilians). Internet signal very slow and not reliable. Housekeeper simply entered my room one day while I was still sleeping. She woke me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ccap77
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review

Dear Customer We sorry for the inconvenience caused about what you should expect from our Hotel. I will share with our team your comments. I would like to say that we changed the TV Channels, they are more adequate for the business customers and we are preparing for an renovation very shortly We hope to have the opportunity to welcome...

Waltham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed here on business and was satisfied with my experience. The front desk staff were helpful and the airport shuttle was very prompt. The location is great, with shops and restaurants nearby (try the Thai place next door), and a taxi stand across the street. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was strong....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lenivtsa
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review

Dear Lenivtsa, Thank you for spending time review our Hotel. Definitely we are the most central hotel in Maputo and it was nice to know that you enjoyed our service. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future! Kind Regards Rui Viegas

Mauritius
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Very Average Hotel - not sure who owns it but it needs a professional to polish up the service, procedures and decor. Reception was friendly but not efficient and credit card machine fell apart on departure and watched various people try to make it work and run around. The rooms when you enter are dark and dull and there is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SforSani
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review

Dear Costumer On behalf of Avenida Hotel, thank you for your comment because it´s very useful to have feedback from our customers so that we can implement and improve our service. We are making arrangements to make a renovation very shortly We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future! Kind Regards Rui Viegas

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Spent a few nights here for business, quite comfortable. Inside there is a restaurant, but at walking distance from the hotel there are also different restaurants among which to choose (from Thai to Mundo). Taxis are just out the door, breakfast is excellent for choice and quality, lobby is very comfortable, rooms are large (free wifi), and personnel is kind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 936marco
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review

Dear Marco Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback We are very happy to hear that your stay was comfortable and that you were satisfied with the standards of the hotel. Avenida Hotel is the most central hotel of Maputo. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel...

Merstham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife, a colleague, and I were in Maputo on a business trip and very much enjoyed the hotel other than for the front desk staff who were less able to help and be on task than most comparable hotels in which I have stayed. We enjoyed our rooms and the restaurant. We would choose to return on our next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter v
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review

Dear Peter, Thank you for reviewing our Hotel. Hotel Avenida has a year training program to all staff member to improve the attitude and skills I apologize if something went wrong with the reception. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future! Kind Regards Rui Viegas

Randburg
Reviewed 22 June 2014

[+] Front desk person was friendly. [+] Rooms are clean. [+] Some personal touches added like fruit supplied in the room. [+] entrance hall, bar and dining area have a new feel to it. [-] Bathroom design does not make sense, toilet roll holder placed directly next to and very close to the toilet, meaning that you are constantly in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zhenn z
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review

Dear Zhenn We sorry for inconvenience caused about what you should expect from our Hotel. We updated the internet system and today we have a faster Internet service. We will do a renovation very shortly We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future! Kind Regards Rui Viegas

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Recently here for business and was very disappointed. The walls are thin so you can hear what goes on next door and above (like the shower or toilet,tv).the internet only works best between 3 and 6am---skype is difficult as the phone lines are frequently down. The fan in the bathroom is not adequate so you must run the ac all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ibt2
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review

Dear Costumer, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate client’s feedbacks about our services and facilities, whether positive or negative, because we always want to improve. Thank you for the comment regarding wifi signal, and the room general condition. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. We definitely will use your comments to make...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed here because all my preferred hotels were fully booked. The hotel location is excellent for the business person, being located in the centre of town and with several restaurants within walking distance. The hotel itself is old and outdated, with very dark and sparse rooms. The room service was very poor and the service of the staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phantomreviewer280
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review

Dear Costumer We appreciate clients feedbacks about our services and facilities, whether positive or negative, because we always want to improve. Your disappointment is not bigger than ours, trying daily to exceed guest expectations and keep the good name of Hotel Avenida has in the market. We regret your experience was not at the level of your expectations. I apologize...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed in Hotel Avenida for 3 nights on business. Although, relatively expensive (like all the decent hotels in Maputo), it is a reasonable business hotel, conveniently located. The bathroom was a bit run down, although still perfectly serviceable, the rooms are spacious, the breakfast was reasonable, the gym clean and well maintained, and the service at the front desk was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin T
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review

Dear Robin Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback We are very happy to hear that your stay was comfortable and that you were satisfied with the standards of the hotel. Avenida Hotel is the most central hotel of Maputo. Thank you for the comment regarding front desk, please accept our apologies for...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 31 May 2014

It feels like this place was one of the first five star hotels in Maputo and now still charges amounts as if there was no competition. The rooms seem dated (I had a standard room) and the breakfast is just average. The gym is good and has a lot of equipment, although some of it is rather old. The location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisK-Austr_al_ia
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review

Dear Chrisk Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback. We are considering in making a refurbishing in a near future. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future! Kind Regards Rui Viegas

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maputo hotels
2.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
2.1 km away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#3 of 22 in Maputo
400 reviews
0.7 km away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#1 of 22 in Maputo
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Montebelo Girassol Maputo Hotel
0.8 km away
Hotel Cardoso
Hotel Cardoso
#4 of 22 in Maputo
329 reviews
1.9 km away
Afrin Prestige Hotel
Afrin Prestige Hotel
#8 of 22 in Maputo
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the 5 star Avenida Hotel, you have 159 fully equipped luxury Rooms, of which 7 are Suites and one Presidential Suite. Every Room is equipped with free Wi-Fi internet, Air-conditioning, Satellite TV, Radio, Internet, and many other details that will surely make for a very pleasant stay, including our Health Club, so that, even when on vacation, you can keep fit. At your disposal there's a Swimming-pool and a Panoramic Bar, and you can enjoy the local and international specialities at our luxury Restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida

Address: Av. Julius Nyerere, 627, Maputo 3236, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Price Range: RM815 - RM1,350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Hotel Maputo
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Maputo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Maputo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Avenida staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Always ask for a room near the elevators. Corridors are too long.”
 of 5 bubbles 881paolof, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“upper floor which have a view front side”
 of 5 bubbles vrcsfl, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I recommend staying here i stayed at 8floor sea view”
 of 5 bubbles laricagoncalesg, 26 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Sea side room is recommended for nice view.”
 of 5 bubbles luke19562015, 3 Sep 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms are generally quiet, but to escape the afternoon sun, you might want to request a room facing the street.”
 of 5 bubbles TheLongestHair, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5