We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Hakos Guest Farm

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hakos Guest Farm
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 12: English reviews
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We camped there for an evening: two adults and three boys under ten years old. The gruff hostess was no non-sense. I would not come here with kids to stay in a room: pins and needles. We did not eat in the "restaurant" because there were too many guests and they didn't think they could serve us. The pool was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael K
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Not worth the money at all. People not friendly at all. Poor facilities, dirty, best of all the host replied that the fee of R2400 included breakfast, but when we arrived we were told the deduction from safari now made it not profitable to give us breakfast. As we didn't had the confirmation email with us and no WiFi available... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Deon v

Travellers are raving about these Windhoek hotels

Manresa, Spain
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2016

A farm -hotel located near the Gamsberg pass , rooms and dinner very correct, also it has the advantage that the owner is an astronomer , so if you like this activity you will be in one of the best places to do it !

Helpful?
Thank Josep M G
Zambia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2016

It's definitely a place that is not to be judged by first impressions!! Campsites are well positioned with each one having an uninterrupted view of the Gamsberg mountain area as well as being a good distance apart from each other. Ablutions are neat and spacious. Campsite also have a shelter big enough to pitch a small tent or to sit... More 

Helpful?
Thank ebensandie
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2014

After over 12 months of extensive travel throughout Namibia over the past 4 years, this is sadly our first terrible encounter with a hospitality business professional, which I feel needs to be reported here for the sake of other visitors' awareness. Not to mention that the campsite facilities provided by the farm are one of the very worst that we've... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Anne-Marie D
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

They are pleasant enough people,but at the price(about $160 US/night per couple)it was below par in many respects,especially considering the trek.They hype the stargazing,so be sure of the weather,and be aware it is charged seperately-kind of petty on their part,IMO.

Helpful?
Thank sam k
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Hakos guest farm is an interesting place for those who like adventures like me. It has wonderful mountain view, the meals are so good and reasonably enough. The only problem with the owner or the lady managing the house treat guest as children in her house, she is also a racist, I understand most of the reviews were good probably... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Gabez U
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one fabulous night with some amazing stargazing. Middle of nowhere, clear skies. Beautiful house with indoor pool and library. Basic, nice and clean accommodation with good dinner and breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank YaeliGr
Angelholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We went to Hakos to have a very first time experience of stargazing. The farm is on a convenient 135 km drive from Windhoek and it is easy to find - just go C26 and find the road to Hakos a few kilometres before the Gamsberg pass. Don't expect a traditional luxurious farm. This is much more homely. Rooms are... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Anders E
cairo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Well we didn't actually stay here, but broke down and got towed here. What I can vouch for is the fantastically generous hospitality we were offered by the family when we arrived. They welcomed us (smelly, unwashed after bush camping for several days) even though they we closed for christmas holiday and having their own family celebration. We were made... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank zuluCairo

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windhoek
26.6 km away
ROOISAND Desert Ranch
ROOISAND Desert Ranch
#6 of 71 in Windhoek
52 reviews
0.0 km away
Corona Guest Farm
Corona Guest Farm
#10 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
72 reviews
99.1 km away
GocheGanas
GocheGanas
#4 of 71 in Windhoek
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
120.9 km away
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
#20 of 71 in Windhoek
100 reviews
118.6 km away
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 71 in Windhoek
305 reviews
106.3 km away
UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Hakos Guest Farm

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hakos Guest Farm

Address: Gamsberg Mountains | P.O. Box 5056, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Number of rooms: 14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hakos Guest Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“camping spots are on an exposed hill; the shower facilities were decent. There was water at each campsite but no electricity.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelkO7417XY, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Because of the stargazing the farm is kept dark. Bring a torch to find your way between the rooms and the dinner room.”
  • Sunset over the mountains
 of 5 bubbles AndersE663, 13 Oct 2012 | Read review
2 of 2