We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Chameleon Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Chameleon Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chameleon Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 251: English reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Good value for money in the centre of windhoek. Kind staff who are very informative and knowledgeable about getting around Namibia. Good base to meet other travellers. Stayed in two different dorms, the first one was very very warm at night with the fan not doing much, the second dorm I stayed in was much cooler. Make sure to book...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kylie K
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Kylie Thanks for taking the time to review us and I'm glad to hear you had an awesome stay with us. It was a pleasure to accommodate you. Looking forward to accommodate you again in the future and it is always a good idea to book in advance. Cheers Rosa

Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 28 November 2016

I came here at the end of a business trip, attracted by the photos of the superior rooms on the website. The room was visually really nice, the rest wasn't. Poor breakfast, no place to work inside the room, very noisy outside area, guests start getting drunk around 9am. Wi-Fi didn't work properly, Staff at the reception was mostly pretty...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon J
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Simon Thanks for taking the time to review us it is much appreciated. Traditionally we do not cater for business travellers but if we had been informed of your requirements and that you needed to work in your room then then we may have been able to put in a small table for you to be able to get...

Powell River, Canada
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 3 boys ages 12, 9 and 9. We stayed in the Buffalo room, which was large, bright and immaculate with a great bathroom and shower. We self-catered and the kitchen facilities are very good. The boys really enjoyed the small pool. The staff are friendly and helpful and there is a travel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JerryandNatalie
Franeker, The Netherlands
Reviewed 9 November 2016

We stayed 3 nights at the beginning of our trip and two days at the end in Chameleon Backpackers. We loved our stay. Chameleon has dormitories and private rooms (with shared bath or en suite). We had en-suite rooms both times which where both good. Comfy matrasses, clean. It's a good place to meet other travellers> You can use the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank meacrea
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here twice as it was centrally located and very reasonably priced. If you're heading off on one of the tours then this is a great base to have. The rooms were comfortable & contained everything you needed. Staff were all very helpful. Happy to recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grunter2014
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I had a great time. The staff was very helpful with information and connecting me to fellow travelers who we're heading the same way. The dinner served was delicious and I enjoyed my stay. Thank you very much!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank benjaming788
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Hands down this is by far the best value for money you'll get in Windhoek. I've stayed at a couple other places but nowhere were location, cleanliness and service more in line with the price tag. Very friendly staff, excellent food, good vibe plus quiz night every Friday. Breakfast is included and laundry service available, what more can you ask...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed in this Hostel at the start and end of the trip on B&B terms. I think it's part of the Chamelion Holiday Company. It's a friendly Hostel; you wash up the plates you use and cook your own food in the communal kitchen. Small friendly bar and gift shop. Very small swimming pool. Private and secure parking. Variety of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Bern
Reviewed 19 October 2016

It is a very popular backpacker in windhoek, so in high season they might be fully booked if you just show up without reservation. But they have an outdoor bunk bed and 2 set tents that they don't take reservations for, so you could be lucky and get one of these sleeping opportunities even if they are fully booked. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank obi81
Reviewed 7 October 2016

This is most popular backpackers in Windhoek. Definitely book far in advance or you will be disappointed. The staff is very helpful. They have built-tents available that cost the same as a dorm bed; but they are first come, first served. I was lucky to get a tent on my first visit. During my second visit, even the tents were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loxa1a1

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.5 km away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
1,175 reviews
4.3 km away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
195 reviews
0.5 km away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
183 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 17 in Windhoek
323 reviews
2.1 km away
UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For Backpackers we offer dormitory beds. There is also a range of twin, double and three bed rooms for those wishing for more privacy. Our Guesthouse has spacious rooms with en-suite bathrooms having off street parking and a continental self serve breakfast included. Need safe long term accommodation while staying in Windhoek. We have 3 flats available for stays of more than 3 months. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chameleon Backpackers Hostel

Address: 5 7 Voight Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Chameleon Backpackers Hotel Windhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chameleon Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Chameleon Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want an en-suite room, try and get one of the larger rooms in the guest house area rather than one of the rooms near the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles aviatrix_aus, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we stayed in "Leopard" for 4 people, very nice and spacious room”
 of 5 bubbles , 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are wonderful and have animal themes”
 of 5 bubbles Lil_0685, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“all the rooms weather East,south ,west north are just perfect!... they are spacious,”
 of 5 bubbles liemo10, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Eagle is self contained and away from the pool area which tends to be loud. Nice bathroom space and high ceiling so it's cooler.”
  • broken toilet in love nest.
  • love nest bed.
 of 5 bubbles PreciousM474, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5