We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chameleon Backpackers Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

344 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chameleon Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 269: English reviews
Kigali
Reviewed 25 January 2016

I stayed in a private room but I may as well have been in a dorm because it was so loud! My room didn't feel private at all as it was right next to the kitchen and a bunch of picnic tables. My window looked out on the small picnic area, so of course I didn't open the curtains. Still,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelSoul
Rosa M, Front Office Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review us- we value your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us I'm sorry that you exprierenced noise at night but it is very difficult to keep adults quiet especially when they might have more then 1 drink but we do try our best to keep the noise levels down,...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Chameleon Backpackers just made my stay in Windhoek worth it, mainly because of the extremely friendly staff. The location is ok and the dorms are quite good (although it depends in which room you're staying), but everybody around makes it a really good place. The pool and bar are nice with every night (food)specials and there are plenty of places...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jurre A
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our place.It is awesome to hear you enjoyed your stay and a daily smile, wish to welcome you back again in the future: Cheers Rosa

London
Reviewed 19 January 2016

It is many a year since I stayed in a backpackers hostel but I stayed here before and after a Chameleon safari as it was convenient for early starts. The service here is friendly and helpful with the staff happy to make suggestions about restaurants and any other services in Windhoek. I stayed in two different superior rooms which were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AnonLondon23
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our place. We happy you enjoyed your stay and safari and it was convenient for you, wish to see you in the future again: Cheers Rosa

Welkom, South Africa
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Chamelion backpackers is a friendly accommodation. Home aware from home. Situated on an easy to find place. Rooms are very clean. It is a cool place to relax with family. Friendly workers. I will come back again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mr. M
Chameleon0, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Happy New Year, thank you for taking the time to review our place. We are really happy you and the family enjoyed your stay with us once again, wish to welcome you and your family back again in the future: Cheers Rosa

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2016

This a great backpackers for a quick over night stop when traveling around in Namibia. It includes all the basics such as swimming pool, bar, wifi etc. Included in all the packages is a free continental breakfast! The location is very central to great restaurants and bars in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tristan G
Chameleon0, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to see you again in the future. Cheers Rosa

Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

I have been staying here for many years and it has never failed to impress me. Good accommodation, friendly and excellent service. All staff are more than willing to offer help and advice. You also get to meet a interesting a various range of people.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marzipanfruitcake
Chameleon0, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Happy New Year, thank you for taking the time to review our place. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us everytime you return, wish to welcome you back again in the future: Cheers Rosa

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 9 December 2015

We had a lovely double room with ensuite that hardly felt like a backpackers place! Affordable rate includes breakfast. Rooms and surrounds are tastefully decorated with African wall hangings, wicker baskets etc. nice laid back feel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tamaletown
Chameleon0, Owner at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our place. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and liked our decorating, I really enjoy buying the linen and things for the rooms. Have a lovely Christmas and safe travels in 2016. Cheers Jackie

Iran
Reviewed 25 November 2015

It was a beautiful place, very central,clean with fully equipped kitchen and great breakfast, but last not the least the great manager Rosa. I went there to stay for 1 night and ended up to be there for 8 nights and in fact didnt want to move to other places. I really enjoyed my stay there. One thing they should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank b_kashan
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was good to talk to you regarding your travels and management feedbacks and experiences. I hope that you will enjoy the rest of your travels and see you again in the beautiful future. Cheers Rosa

Reviewed 15 November 2015

During my 5,5-month stay in Namibia (May-Oct '15) I've spent several nights at Chameleon's, which made it my operating base in Windhoek. It's very centrally located in Windhoek, on walking distance from the city centre. The helpful staff made me (26 years, female) feel very welcome each time I stayed with them, but especially when I arrived: slightly nervous about...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ineke K
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Ineke it was a pleasure meeting you and your mum and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I wish you all the best back home and a Merry Christmas and a Happy 2016, please send my greetings to your mum. Hope to see you in the future. Cheers Rosa

Heidelberg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 November 2015

Had to stay 2 nights in Windhoek while waiting for our 4x4 tour to start. Found Chameleon Backpackers on the net and said " Why not". Very friendly and helpful staff. Good room. Bar and pizza was good. Did a day trip and it was worthwhile to explore Windhoek !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KurtBunker
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to review Chameleon. It is glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Windhoek we hope to see you again in the future. cheers Rosa

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.5 km away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,257 reviews
0.6 km away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
4.2 km away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
342 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
200 reviews
2.2 km away
UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For Backpackers we offer dormitory beds. There is also a range of twin, double and three bed rooms for those wishing for more privacy. Our Guesthouse has spacious rooms with en-suite bathrooms having off street parking and a continental self serve breakfast included. Need safe long term accommodation while staying in Windhoek. We have 3 flats available for stays of more than 3 months. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chameleon Backpackers Hostel

Address: 5 7 Voight Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Chameleon Backpackers Hotel Windhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chameleon Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Chameleon Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The guest lodge rooms were fabulous! (I recommend the Love Bird room for couples)”
, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with air conditioning, although all the rooms have fans...”
Viviane_Muller, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you want an en-suite room, try and get one of the larger rooms in the guest house area rather than one of the rooms near the pool.”
aviatrix_aus, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we stayed in "Leopard" for 4 people, very nice and spacious room”
, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are wonderful and have animal themes”
Lil_0685, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5