We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Express Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Express Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 30: English reviews
Loenhout, Belgium
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We stayed here one night starting our 2-week tour in Uganda. The room was basic, the mosquito net was broken, very small and basic bathroom In general this hotel looks not cosy but especially the breakfast room was substandard. Barely light at the corner were the 'buffet' was presented. The staff took no effort for the presentation of 'the buffet'....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karinevdheuvel
Isaiah K, Director of Sales at Holiday Express Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karine, Thank you for your review. We are saddened as management to learn that you didn't have a pleasant experience during your stay with us. It's even more disappointing that you were asked to pay while the bill was already cleared by your travel agent. Our Front Office Manager has gone through our guest history to establish when you...

New Jersey, USA
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

At almost $100 per night I expect more than a broken AC, a TV that cannot be heard over the noise from the street and on which all humans look like smurfs (bright blue skin). Breakfast is ok though coffee is instant. Neighborhood is crowded and noisy - need earplugs to sleep at night. On the positive side almost all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnmillspa
Isaiah K, Director of Sales at Holiday Express Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Millspaugh, thanks for your review. We apologize for the noise your room may have been exposed to. It's true that room no.425 which you occupied faces the street. However, all our rooms have a reasonable soundproof system through double-glass on the windows. This keeps out at least 60% of the street noise. For this to work effectively though, all...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 10 May 2016

I stayed here a couple of years back and it has taken me some time time to thank the staff. First the place is noisy because of the location but well Kampala is generally noisy, you need to go out of the CBD to get peace. Anyway when i was there for a seminar i left my wallet on top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Princess W
Isaiah K, Director of Sales at Holiday Express Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the positive review. It is our wish always that every guest who stays with us leaves happy with an urge to use our facility when they happen to return to our location. We are also aware that one happy customer is likely to recommend our service to many more and in the long run, the...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 19 January 2016

Holiday Express is an excellent 3 star hotel which means it is very clean, has lots of hot water, serves a good breakfast but has few other amenities. It is in the heart of downtown Kampala around the corner from Nakasero Market, a few blocks away from Owino Market and very near several good restaurants and banks/atms. The staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
Isaiah K, Director of Sales at Holiday Express Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ken, Thanks for your positive review and our apology for not having acknowledged your comments earlier. We seem to have missed reading your post on time. We hope that you will make Holiday Express Hotel your accommodation of choice whenever you are in Kampala. Best regards, Isaiah.

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 9 January 2016

If you are a person who prefers calm, quiet and cool place then holiday express gives you all that you are looking for. When it comes to their meals and service personnel I believe they are the best in the middle of the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ntumbu J
Isaiah K, Director of Sales at Holiday Express Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Mr. Ntumbu for appreciating our services. Perhaps you would be glad to know that we are embarking on yet another accommodation upgrade this year in which we all our soft furnishings are going to be changed. Rooms which had hitherto not been air- conditioned will be fitted with modern A.C systems. We hope to host you again in the...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 December 2015

The Holiday Express is not associated with the Holiday Inn chain you may be used to. The rooms were decent and clean and the showers were hot. The hotel is located in a bustling area of the city and perfect for a little jaunt around town. Just remember and mark on the map where you are or you might not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank T-NutsP-Nuts
Isaiah K, Director of Sales at Holiday Express Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive review. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Reviewed 2 July 2015

I stayed here on recommendation of a taxi driver from the airport. Great hotel. Clean rooms. Enjoyable breakfast with some local dishes too. The staff are very helpful. Will be staying here again 2015. Mr. Dupont. London.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gregory D
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 3 April 2015

I arrived in Kampala rather late in the evening and the taxi recommended the hotel. The staff were very helpful even at that late hour. The only thing I'd request is that they accept Kenyan currency as a mode of payment rather than ask the guest to change to USD or UGX. I discovered a Forex bureau downstairs where I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank makobu
Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 20 November 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for two days to attend a conference in Kampala, the place is at good location however very much affected with traffic around. Prices are fine for this type of hotel, services could be better especially for food and beverage. Good place for a short stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arthur1101
Isaiah K, Director of Sales at Holiday Express Hotel, responded to this review

Our aim is to always create a memorable experience for our customers through provision of superior service. However, whenever we have failed to meet your expectations, we are always ready to listen to your concerns and have them addressed to the best of our ability. If there's any specific area you'd like us to improve, kindly feel free to let...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 4 November 2014

The hotel is located right downtown near the central market. A little bit noisy but very convenient to access the airport or main arteries. Rooms are decent, not new but clean. We appreciate above all the staff very professional and helpful. The restaurant has a good buffet for dinner and breakfast. It is not a 4 star hotel, but a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank b2bwild
Isaiah K, Director of Sales at Holiday Express Hotel, responded to this review

Every time we receive a review(negative or positive), we share it with our committed team of staff because in each review, we know that there's an opportunity to improve or change our services to suit our customer needs. At Holiday Express Hotel, our desire always is to deliver a customer experience which invites our guests to always come back. Thank...

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.2 km away
Biraj International Hotel
Biraj International Hotel
#52 of 93 in Kampala
15 reviews
0.6 km away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#20 of 93 in Kampala
16 reviews
0.7 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Uganda Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Ivys Hotel
Ivys Hotel
#33 of 93 in Kampala
17 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel International 2000 Limited
7.2 km away
Premiere Boutique Hotel
Premiere Boutique Hotel
#24 of 93 in Kampala
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Holiday Express Hotel

Address: Luwum Street, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Price Range: RM302 - RM440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Holiday Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Express Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms away from the street are quieter but rooms overlooking the street have great views of Kampala life.”
 of 5 bubbles KenS562, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
“For accessibility reasons in the city of Kampala,never hesitate to try this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles ntumbuj, 9 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the higher floors, and facing away from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles makobu, 3 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The higher the better because of the noise”
 of 5 bubbles b2bwild, 3 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Rooms on the street are noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles dudi_13, 5 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay