We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Golf Course Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Golf Course Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Golf Course Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 166: English reviews
Nairobi
Reviewed 25 October 2016

good points Good location Good view from room Service is good (minus) Internet is poor. WIFI keeps disconnecting so one has to reconnect with user name and password. This needs to be improve lighting system in room is not good. its a bit dark

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amin M
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel has everything you need, the room was ok, i was on the street side so if you can take one on the golf court side, so the view is better, anyway the rooms are quiet. The Breakfast is ok with different choices off egg's, pancake and so on. The french toasts, the garlic bread are perfect. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Massemen
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Good hotel in Kampala. Business trip. Wifi was good. Lovely pool area. Selection of restaurants available at hotel including a revolving rooftop restaurant with good views of the city. Good gym. Adjacent to shopping mall. Spacious bedroom and overall good quality at reasonable prices.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joseph o
GCHManager, General Manager at Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joseph O, Thank you for taking the time to review The Golf Course Hotel and thank you for complimenting us on the Wifi, lovely pool area and great selection of restaurants at the hotel. We are all glad you enjoyed your recent stay and we hope to see you in the future when you visit Kampala again. Best Regards,...

Reviewed 16 September 2016

For the last 5 years I have visited Uganda twice each year. in 2013 I was fortunate enough to sleep at Golf Course hotel. Ever since, my family and I have fallen in love with their services and most importantly the care by their staff is irresistible. They understand the needs of the family and are always at hand to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bwali B
GCHManager, Manager at Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bwali B, Thank you for taking the time to review the Golf Course Hotel and I am extremely happy to hear that you and your family greatly enjoyed the location, amenities and service at the hotel. We hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely, GCH Manager

Reviewed 15 September 2016

The hotel is located in a busy part of Kampala, so noise might be an issue. Its right next to the Oasis mall, which makes shopping and dinner outings easy. Lots of security around, so safety isn't too much of a concern. The breakfasts are really good. Lots of selection with a decent fresh fruit option. The rooms are big,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgie G
GCHManager, General Manager at Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Georgie G, Thank you for taking the time to review the Golf Course Hotel on your recent visit. I am extremely happy to hear that you really enjoyed the location of the hotel, the big rooms, great breakfast and nice swimming pool. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed the safety of the hotel with the adequate...

Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

The Golf course hotel is well situated in a nice setting. The restaurants are fairly ok and the Spur does some great food. The rooms are spacious but slightly dated. The pool area is great. It is a very comfortable hotel and I would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
GCHManager, General Manager at Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael M, Thank you for taking the time to review the Golf Course Hotel. I am extremely pleased to see that the hotel met your expectations and that you particularly enjoyed the food at Spurs, spacious rooms and great pool area. We are all hoping to see you again when you return to Kampala. Sincerely, GCH Manager

Pretoria
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

The staff was friendly but did not seem to be able or willing to resolve any problems reported. If this Place is maintained and looked after it could me a gem. I did not feel safe around this place and I experienced one person being robbed day light. I would not recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jjaymoh
GCHManager, General Manager at Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jjaymoh, Thank you for taking the time to review the Golf Course Hotel. We pride ourselves in providing the best experience for all guests that stay at the GCH and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your recent trip. This establishment is also fully committed in ensuring the security and safety of all its guests....

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 25 August 2016

I booked this place as it had a 4 star standard and looked great on the pictures. However it did not really match up to that. When we arrived no one was picking up ur bags to carry them to the room. I don´t think it was because they don´t do it, the people working down in the lobby area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sajjan
GCHManager, General Manager at Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sajjan, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Golf Course Hotel. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed the clean and quite rooms with really good AC. I am however disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Many of the situations mentioned are certainly not to our standards and...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

I have been staying at this hotel on my visits to Kampala for several years. Whilst it isn't in the class of Serena it has spacious rooms. However with the elapse of time the hotel is not quite inhabitable. I have been moved to 2 rooms and I'm about to be moved again and the Airconditioners don't work. I probably...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank myZohan
GCHManager, General Manager at Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review

Dear myZohan, Thank you for your comments and I am very disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your last stay. I am however glad to hear that you enjoyed our large spacious rooms. I am sorry to hear that the air conditioner was not working in the room you were staying in and we do...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Very spacious rooms and nicely done , big bathroom with bath tub etc . 2 very good restaurants are in house and serve great food , has gymnasium ( nothing impressive but functional) , very modern ambience . Location is very good as its in central Kampala , a large mall is 5 minutes walk away and so is Java...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
1.0 km away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 97 in Kampala
315 reviews
0.4 km away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 97 in Kampala
622 reviews
0.9 km away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#12 of 97 in Kampala
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#13 of 97 in Kampala
241 reviews
3.4 km away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 97 in Kampala
191 reviews
1.6 km away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
7 Hills Revolving Restaurant
7 Hills Revolving Restaurant
Cuisines: International, European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Golf Course Hotel is a World class luxurious Hotel offering you a true definition of comfort, hospitality and serving you right from our hearts.With our location in the most serene environment; adjacent to the Uganda Golf Club, you are assured of an ever green environment and freshness and ambience. Golf course Hotel is designed to offer you the best of comfort with our spacious rooms, making Golf Course Hotel an ideal destination for discerning travellers from all over the world. Our professional and skilled staff ensures that every person is a highly treasured guestThe Hotel is conveniently located within a 45 minutes’ drive from Entebbe International Airport and only 5 minutes from the Kampala city center.Our location is perfect and convenient for honeymooners, business travelers, tourists, and those who wish to have a memorable visit to the ‘Pearl of Africa’, Uganda. We have Eight (8) Categories of Rooms for you to choose from: Deluxe, Executive, Family Suite, Business Suite, Honeymoon Suite, 6 Holiday Apartments and 3 Executive Villas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golf Course Hotel

Address: Plot 64-86, Yusuf Lule Road | P.O.Box 22774, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Price Range: RM766 - RM1,009 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf Course Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golf Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Golf Course Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Cape Town Central, South Africa

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Golf Course Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Anything on the golf course side. Nice view, and free entertainment watching people hit balls.”
Ben_E_Phillips, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for view over Golf Course because it is a lot quieter.”
MalcolmH571, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors over a great view over the golf course if on the golf course side.”
marime2017, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a Golf Course view room. Road side rooms can be noisy”
Cypruseagle, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The restaurants in hotel are very good.”
RodrigoRu, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5