We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Manhattan Guesthouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Manhattan Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

12 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 12: English reviews
Start your review of Manhattan Guesthouse
 Click to rate
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Owner lives on premises and was obnoxiously loud until late at night. Rooms are not clean. Bed sheets and mosquito nets were torn. Towels provided were old and stained. Very unpleasant stay. Only positive was the friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ahappyfeet
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

I don't want to be negative about this guesthouse as I liked my stay there. It took my taxi drive eight attempts at finding this guesthouse but an hour an half later we found it. It is in the midfle of nowhere but it was a quiet area. Staff are friendly. The only downside was if you wanted an alcoholic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee K
pauline o, Manager at Manhattan Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback, Am so sorry you had to go through that trying to find the place. Normally our guests request to be picked up or the taxi driver from the airport will call us for specific directions. And for the drinks , Our business has been greatly affected by the elections, we normally...

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This place is really terrible. Staff was acting uninterested and strange. The room wasn't clean and very hot. The guesthouse is not situated on the location that's pointed out on the tripadvisor map. It's in the middle of nowhere. We left after 10 minutes and went to another guesthouse.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AvW12345
Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Manhattan guesthouse is a nice little place situated in the rather quiet Namirembe not far from the busy city center. Although my room was a bit run down, it was clean with a fan and hot/cold water in the shower. There is a small restaurant serving not very inspiring food, but the restaurant garden is nice and the staff is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannatherese
pauline o, Manager at Manhattan Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback and Thank you so much for supporting us. We depend on feedback to make the necessary changes. May God bless you.

ibadan
Reviewed 12 February 2014

i spent two night is manthattan guest house ,it is really nice and good and very affordable,very close to the town , a bodaboda will take you and bring you to the town for just like 10 mins , also you can take buses . really everything was perfect according to the price, it was like 72000 shs two night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zaher f
pauline o, Manager at Manhattan Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback and Thank you so much for supporting us. Am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We depend on feedback to make the necessary changes. Please come back and visit us, you will be warmly welcomed. May God bless you.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I've just spent the last two months at the Manhattan Guest House and found it to be an excellent value option in Kampala. I think you have to consider the price when providing feedback on the room quality. They are basic, but they're also clean and comfortable. They can also be a bit noisy, but not overly so for Kampala,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaureenODonnell
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Manhattan guesthouse is a fine, well located place with good and friendly service. The rooms are Ok with working hot showers and the garden is great. It is a 15 minute walk to the exciting ciity center and far away from the noisy citylife. The only problem was the party noise from a place half a block away that kept...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gerritvanderlinden
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed for three nights in Manhattan Guesthouse around New Year's Eve. The room was clean but a little bit shabby. They have a restaurant and a bar. The food they prepared was delicious however, they were always run out of beer or it was warm. The owner and her daughter were every friendly and helpful. So was the rest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank didaka
Aberystwyth
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I spent two months at the Manhattan this summer and it was fantastic. It really felt like a home and the staff were always there helping out and being a friendly face. The rooms were cleaned daily and the bathrooms were fantastic considering where it is located (some rooms do have a hand held shower, but most of them are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ATarling
Bucks
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Our charity teams have been staying at Manhattan for five years. We like the small size, which means personal service. The rooms are basic, but clean, and showers are usually warm. The location is good--up on a hill, the breeze usually blows and the traffic noise is not too bad. If you are looking for something 'western', go to one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jan G

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel Sojovalo
Hotel Sojovalo
#35 of 97 in Kampala
39 reviews
6.0 km away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 97 in Kampala
191 reviews
2.5 km away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
ICU Guesthouse
ICU Guesthouse
#10 of 177 in Kampala
56 reviews
5.1 km away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#8 of 177 in Kampala
36 reviews
3.2 km away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 97 in Kampala
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Manhattan guest house is located on top of one of the seven Kampala hills, Namirembe in Uganda.Our rooms offer a warm and relaxing atmosphere. Room facilities include TVs, and they are all self contained. Rates include Breakfast.Our restaurant serves a wide variety of local and international foods. Our friendly and courteous staff offer personalized service that leaves memorable experiencesWe do have group buffets and meals ranging from 5000 to 10,000 Uganda shillings per plate.We do have room service all day anytime.Please note:Cancellation policy: 72hrs advance notice.Late cancellation or noshow � one night charge.Payment upon arrival by cash only.Check in from 12.00.Check out before 12.00.Breakfast included.Taxes included. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Manhattan Guesthouse

Address: Balintuma Road | Namirembe, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Price Range: RM53 - RM136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Manhattan Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Manhattan Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I like the rooms along the 'back' as it is quieter and the showers are warm more often!”
89JanG, 17 Sep 2012 | Read review
1 of 1