We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Ruch

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hotel Ruch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ruch
See the most recent reviews
Showing 47: English reviews
Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I was living in that Hotel for nearly two months during my stay in Kampala. After a while I got very familiar with everything. The staff is very nice and helpful. If you have any questions or concern, they solve it and help you. Also if I asked for special things for breakfast I got it. Sometimes there were "loud"...

1Thank Marlene H
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Ruch is a fairly priced hotel for a quick stopover in Kampala. The rooms are comfortable however the bathrooms are not clean. All tiles need thorough scrubbing, including the toilet. This may also mean some disinfection is needed as well. Wifi was available but really poor connectivity. Breakfast is very basic but suffices. The garden is beautiful with many fruit...

Thank Hjkenya
HotelsinKampala, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the feedback. We have passed on this to the Housekeeping Department who have taken the appropriate steps to remedy this. The Wi-Fi was a supplier issue which we have no control over, however this is up and running 100% now. The Breakfast we offer is varied, 4 fruits, 2 juices, sausages, omelettes, tomatoes, 3 cereals,...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband and I booked a room here after a disappointing trip to Fort Portal and the chimpanzee trek (see my reviews of "Great Lakes Safaris," "Primate Lodge Kibale" and "Lake Nkuruba Nature Reserve" for more details.) We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The location is very central. We walked to the Shanghai Restaurant for dinner, which was delicious....

3Thank Lauren R
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed at Hotel Ruch for three nights, while waiting to get a permanent accomodation in Kampala. The few advantages of this hotel are its position (very central) and the relatively new and comfy blankets. Other than that is an extremely depressing and crumbling hotel, with ultra basic rooms, no restaurant (arrived at 9 pm, found out I could not eat...

1Thank Scodazz
HotelRuch, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Please allow us to address your concerns. The area in which we are located is surrounded by 4 and 5* Hotels that charge in excess of $200 per night which many clients cannot afford. Our rates and rooms are designed to keep this in mind and we do clearly advertise our rooms as 'No frills'...

Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stayed here on business in February having stayed in some very disappointing hotels in Kampala for the 50 USD per night bracket. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a good wifi connection. Ensuite bathroom. The hotel is also conveniently located for other major hotels. It's next door to the Sheraton and the Serena which are both good options for...

Thank RM1979
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We had a two day stay at the Ruch, deciding to stay there after reading such positive reviews. I am afraid we cannot gush much however. Yes, it is clean and the staff is pleasant, but the overall feel of the place is a bit depressing. They knew they were checking in a couple, but there was only 1 towel...

Thank Meg P
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I've stayed at Hotel Ruch off and on for the past three years. The staff are extremely friendly, make you feel at home, and the rooms are clean and quiet. The garden (currently undergoing renovations) in the back offers a quiet respite in the heart of Kampala. Location is great. The hotel used to have an Indian restaurant within the...

2Thank Jenny S
Nyeri, Kenya
Reviewed 30 June 2012

My collegue & I were here in early June after seeing the facility on the internet and I must say the first impression one gets immediately you drive through is that of a derelict facility. some basic weeding of the pavement edges will do much. Things however lighten up at the reception where the staff is really nice and interesting....

1Thank wamae
Management response:

Thanks for the review, wamae. Good news, the weeds on the edges have in fact been worked upon. They were actually removed on the day of your departure. In fact, renovation has already been extended to the hotel main building albeit, only to the third floor. However, I believe you were not allocated these rooms as the renovated rooms were...

Reviewed 16 June 2012

I stayed at Hotel Ruch for a week at the start of June 2012. The third floor had just been renovated. The room was mid-sized-small but spotlessly clean, with brand new bedding and with a nice view of the garden. At the time of my stay this was being landscaped and it should be a lovely, peaceful spot to hang...

3Thank Caroline F
Klagenfurt, Austria
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Having found this hotel located in Nakasero through the internet and it was pretty clear to me, using Hotel Ruch as a base for my adventures in Kampala. It is a good choice in many ways. I stayed twice this year with them and was very pleased about the friendly and helpful personnel incl. Nandish (Mngr). I really like this...

2Thank Hans W

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (8)
Room/Suite (3)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
View from Room (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (19)
Room/Suite (9)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.1 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Uganda Ltd.
0.7 km away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#20 of 93 in Kampala
16 reviews
0.2 km away
Mosa Court Suites
Mosa Court Suites
#59 of 93 in Kampala
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Marie's Royale Hotel
Marie's Royale Hotel
#27 of 93 in Kampala
1 reviews
6.2 km away
Macsedo Resort Hotel
Macsedo Resort Hotel
#67 of 93 in Kampala
3 reviews
1.6 km away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#36 of 93 in Kampala
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Ruch is a hotel in central Kampala where a warm welcome and a quiet night's sleep is guaranteed. Being a no-frills Hotel, we pride ourselves on providing hotel accommodation in central Kampala, Uganda at competitive rates starting from only $70 per night. We are only 5 minutes walking distance from the centre of Kampala with easy access to public transport. Hotel Ruch is in between two 5* Hotels in Kampala, the Sheraton & Serena Hotels ; The city centre, super-markets and shopping centres are less than a 5 min's drive away. Unwind and relax in serene wild-life themed Uzuri Gardens. An experience unmatched by any hotel in central Kampala ; no noise, no distractions, Just you, your thoughts and nature. Excite your taste buds with delicious curries & naans baked in a clay Tandoor, YUM! With a 6-page menu & quality beyond any of the hotels in Kampala, you will be spoilt for choice! We are located in a safe, secure & central area of the Kampala CBD and has ample secure parking for over 30 cars. Relax, have a coffee or read a book all under a traditional hand-thatched roof. We are one of the few Hotels in Kampala giving back to the community by employing local crafts-men. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Ruch

Address: Plot 3 Kintu Road, Kampala 6219, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Price Range: RM200 - RM444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Ruch Hotel Kampala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Ruch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't stay here, all rooms terrible”
 of 5 bubbles Vanessa_Pearce, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose rooms near the réception for fast wifi”
 of 5 bubbles mangalataty, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I liked the North Wing”
 of 5 bubbles chrisodhiambo18, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“221 was clean”
 of 5 bubbles PerthJill, 16 Jul 2015 | Read review
“If you are not a fan of Indian Cuisine, take a stroll down to Sheraton or Fang Fang located about 300 metres.”
 of 5 bubbles PeterL693, 4 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5