We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Silver Home

Show Prices
#39 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Silver Home
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

660 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Silver Home
See the most recent reviews
Showing 575: English reviews
Ashland, Oregon
Reviewed 21 January 2015

We stayed here based on the reviews and the prompt email responses answering our questions. After staying here we were bewildered at how this hotel can have this many good reviews. Good features of this hotel -wifi when there is power -clean bedding Bad features of this hotel -disappointing bathroom - the window on our room didn't shut all they...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank caymantiga
Reviewed 19 January 2015

Hotel silver home was always favorite. As i request for the airport pick up service with my name. after my check in they gave me the room with sunshine.in the room there is free wi fi ,hot shower too. i have paid for single deluxe room with nice breakfast in the morning time.the tour desk arrange city sight seen and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amandaz87
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your time to written review of Hotel Silver Home, It was a pleasure to have you in Silver home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will always do our best for our guests; the satisfaction of our guest is our motto. We hope to welcome you...

Reviewed 14 January 2015

Arrived in kathmandu very late from the boarder of india and it was night. It was about 10 at night and we were looking for a place to stay something cheap. We find the dorms of silver home and it was really comfortable. A big room with 10 beds. You can have breakfast in the basement which is good. Good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fanguin
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your time to written review of Hotel Silver Home, It was a pleasure to have you in Silver home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will always do our best for our guests; the satisfaction of our guest is our motto. We hope to welcome you...

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewed 8 January 2015

We booked the place for 7 days and 6 nights. We paid a very reasonable amount in MYR. We organized the airport transfer which is provided for stays above 2 nights. There is no heating nor heater available in these very basic rooms. We brought ample warm clothing items. We survived the cold but my friend did get ill at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Janarthani A
Reviewed 28 December 2014

i stayed in the dorm room and it was a great experience. Easy to meet people, good location to reach everywhere, staff are friendly and gives good advises. definitely recommand the mix dorm it was fun.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Quenyin
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest We are reply honored by your review, and we would like to express our sincere thankfulness for sharing your time to write an honest review. On behalf of our hotel management team, we would like to let you know, that we are extremely gratified by your review. Showers of gratitude for your review ! Regards, Hotel Silver...

Reviewed 28 December 2014

We come to this hotel with someother people who have a booking. That day they wede full so we stayed next door. The way they talk to the guest was really nice and friendly. Another day we move to silver home for couple of nights. Very nice hotel with enough services. Good wifi, hot water, brrakfast and even the power...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xiaoyua
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review

Dear Xiaoyua Thank you for your time to written review of Hotel Silver Home, It was a pleasure to have you in Silver home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will always do our best for our guests; the satisfaction of our guest is our motto. We hope to welcome you in...

Reviewed 28 December 2014

Location is in the busy district of Thamel but can be a bit hard to find. Accomodation was safe and secure and a bit away from the noisy streets (whilst still being centrally located). Wi-fi was decent in the hotel room. Hotel staff were willing to assist in any way. This is a budget accomodation and as long you are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ben J
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 23 December 2014

First time in Nepal and stayed at Hotel Silver Home whilst in Kathmandu before and after trekking. First thing to know is that the people who work there are awesome, Brish, Dependra, Naresh and all the others are awesome and will stay good friends with them. The private rooms are really good and the dorms are quiet and have the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jack L
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review

Dear Jack Thank you so much for your precious time given to write about us and our hotel. We will always try to do our best to provide the best service and make the guest feel warm and safe. This is our moto and when we see the review like yours we feel like we are doing well. Once again...

Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2014

Whilst in Kathmandu I stayed in 3 hotels and whilst the others were luxury this was by far the most enjoyable due to the friendly welcome, helpful service and relaxed atmosphere.I stayed in a deluxe room which was comfortable with everything you require.The breakfast was well cooked and satisfying. Its location in the heart of Thamel was excellent within walking...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank chozin
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest We thank you for sharing about your stay at Hotel Silver Home and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay. We the Silver Home Team are delighted that we have made you feel warm Nepalese hospitality and it has been a pleasure having you as our guest. Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and...

Reviewed 19 December 2014

It was fun staying at hotel silver home. Make many new friends in te dorm. Beds are comfortable and wifi works very good. Hot water works all the time. Friendly and helpful staff and breakfast is also good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank walden71
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review

Dear Suuwu Thank you for your time to written review of Hotel Silver Home, It was a pleasure to have you in Silver home. We are very happy to know that you had nice stay with us. We will always do our best for our guests; the satisfaction of our guest is our motto. We hope to welcome you in...

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 km away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 193 in Kathmandu
562 reviews
0.4 km away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.2 km away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#63 of 193 in Kathmandu
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#20 of 193 in Kathmandu
383 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#56 of 193 in Kathmandu
165 reviews
0.0 km away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#15 of 193 in Kathmandu
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Silver Home is located right in the heart of Thamel district, Kathmandu but in an enviable alleyway location away from the bustling crowds so you can relax after a busy day’s sightseeing.In the hotel surrounds are many restaurants, pubs, shops, and businesses and we are within walking distance to the main sights of Kathmandu such as Durbar Square, Freak Street and a short walk to the Tourist Bus Stop for services to other parts of Nepal. We are only 25 minutes drive from Tribhuvan Kathmandu International airport from where we provide airport pick up and drop off service. We are also 25 minutes drive to surrounding Kathmandu areas such as Bauddha Nath, Pasupati Nath and Patan Durbar Square.From our rooftop terrace you can watch the sunrise and sunset over Kathmandu Valley as well as dine in our restaurant.We cater to travellers and backpackers on budgets and our accommodation is cheap, clean and our service is warm and friendly, 24 hours a day. Our hospitality exemplifies our nation’s philosophy ‘Athiti Devo Bhawa’, ‘Guests are like gods’.Our staff speak fluent English, and some speak Chinese, Japanese, Hindi, and of course, Nepali.Hotel Silver Home offers:• 4 Deluxe Rooms (single/double beds)• 5 Standard Suite Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds) • 6 Normal Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds)• 1 Dormitory with 10 bedsThe hotel’s restaurant serves a variety of continental, Nepali, Indian, Chinese as well as vegetarian dishes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Home

Address: Thamel, Chibahal, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: RM45 - RM58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Silver Home 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Silver Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Silver Home staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Portland, Oregon
over a year ago
1 month ago
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Silver Home staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Deluxe rooms have a nice view.”
 of 5 bubbles fuhrmannlucas, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Garden view rooms less noisy at night (only dog barking then vs. night club)”
 of 5 bubbles allswell20012016, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“Choose a rom above the lobby for best wifi connectivity”
 of 5 bubbles 228mikau, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“Try to book a room on the side facing the street.”
 of 5 bubbles susan11632016, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Take the dorms but for christs sake have them clean it once in a while”
 of 5 bubbles sebastianmagnuss2016, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5