We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Shanker

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Shanker
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 951: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Shanker
 Click to rate
Perth, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed three days here in April 2017, then left for a few days traveling in the east of Nepal, and were going to stay at a different hotel when we came back to Kathmandu for a final day before our departure. But we enjoyed this hotel so much that we came back here for our final day/night. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 107Tracy
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed in April 2017 and was under the impression that the renovations would be finished but the whole of the front of the hotel was blocked off as they were still working on the front rooms, hence no garden view rooms available, and the one we were in had a terrible view of inside, not sure, as it's all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marie O
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I had made a reservation for November, 2017, and decided to cancel it. I then realized that the reservation was non-refundable. I take responsibility for not noticing that the reservation was non-refundable, but I still had hoped that the Hotel management would refund my reservation payment because the reservation was for November, 2017, over seven months away. I think that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gary P
P S, Owner at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Prospero, We noticed your review in trip advisor regarding your booking for November 20th to November 23rd which was cancelled by Expedia.com yesterday which is 19th April. Since it was booked via Expedia we cannot cancel directly. Expedia collect your credit card details and we get payment through Expedia only on day of your check in. We would...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 1 week ago

the hotel is under construction when I was there, but I really enjoy my stayed. simple room with unique design. The landscape was fabulous, however, the pool is so tiny. I believe the hotel would be great again when the construction done.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DhayanDirgantara
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice hotel with nice staff but it's not four star. We got a great rate and half board and it was good value. But if you are expecting the Savoy or Raffles......its musty, under renovation, and the pool is average. The car they sent to pick us up was late and older than the hotel, and not in a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great relief from the dust and hustle bustle of Kathmandu city. Professional staff but can heighten their display of friendliness. Internet needs to be improved in guest rooms. The best experience had been spending time in the lawn and pool area over coffee. However, the pool cafe should extend its business hours and play some easy listening stuff instead...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed Joy M
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review

Dear Ahmed Joy M, Namaste ! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our food and its standards. We have taken note of your observation and we will definitely improve on those observations. We invite you to join...

Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been here last week. Classical hotel with beautiful garden and swimming pool. Room was ok but bathroom not too good but the guys in restaurant service very poor except that everything good. We feel price too expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank preetiorama
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review Hotel Shanker! I sincerely apologize that we did not provide a memorable stay.I will make sure that necessary actions are taken to ensure a flawless experience for all our guests, through training & learning. I hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to be of service.

Nyon District, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For us, location is always the number one criteria. The Shanker is close to Thamel (10 minutes walk) but not in the middle of it. After a trek in the Valley of Kathmandu and busy days visiting the city, we appreciated to leave the dust and the noisy streets to spend a quiet evening at this hotel. The Shanker is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MiC1260
P S, Executive manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review

Dear Happy Guest, Greetings from Hotel Shanker! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It brings me great satisfaction reading your review knowing my team Hotel Shanker has delivered flawless hospitality. I'm so pleased to hear the encouraging remarks about our associates and that you enjoyed your breakfast. We hope you will plan to stay with us again and...

Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'll start off with a few quick negatives before going over all the positives. Overall, I had expected a really fancy luxury hotel based on the pictures. In retrospect, the pictures were glossed up. However the actual room was smaller than what I had expected and did not have the granite/marble tiles. It did look like the hotel was undergoing...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jieyang H
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your appreciative feedback. We’re so pleased that our service levels have created some special memories of your stay at Hotel Shanker. We firmly believe that great service can make for a great stay! In your next visit kindly email us directly to get your choice of rooms as...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful palace like hotel in a good locality, item on the mani road but there is a drive way to the hotel. The staff at the reception are very helpful and I particularly liked ritu maharjan. The staff are always smiling and greet you with a namaste every time you enter the place. It's got small rooms and the place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank patsy146
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this review

Dear patsy146 Thank you very much for your splendid 5 star review! Great to hear that you enjoyed every minute of your stay with is from the service we provided, and the design of the interiors and our breakfast. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. We are...

581 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (507)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (138)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (192)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.1 km away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#21 of 193 in Kathmandu
342 reviews
3.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,448 reviews
1.1 km away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#15 of 193 in Kathmandu
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#41 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,054 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,154 reviews
2.7 km away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Shanker, Kathmandu is a heritage hotel, housed in a 19th-century palace in the heart of Kathmandu city. It was the royal residence of the rulers of Nepal, from 1894 until 1964, when it was converted into a hotel. The facade and traditions were kept intact but the interiors were redesigned to give travelers the kind of comfort they'd expect of a world class hotel. The hotel is characterized by exquisite and authentic objects d'art. For example, the carved windows displayed in the lobby bar are over 200 years old. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Shanker

Address: | Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: RM225 - RM458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shanker 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shanker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanker Hotel Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Shanker staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Shanker staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if you don't like walking then ask how far the room is from reception”
marieo111, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Cannot comment on this”
patsy146, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe Suite Room #519 was just perfect for our family of 4.”
1Jurr, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms on the ground floor as they might be damp and less lit.”
892debasishg, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for Room 709 or Room 701”
MaxieRichard, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5