We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Capital Hotel Arena

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Capital Hotel Arena
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Capital Hotel Arena
See the most recent reviews
Showing 37: English reviews
Scottsdale AZ
Reviewed 18 December 2015

Room was nicely sized with lots of storage space. Bath was very large with large shower and separate spa tub. Room to move around. Decoration was somewhat dated and dull. Very comfortable bed, decent pillows, with extra in closet. Safe in closet. WiFi easy to connect and strong. Room clean. Front desk staff pleasant and helpful. Breakfast varied, but not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flyawayAZ
benson_wu, 行銷公關 at Capital Hotel Arena, responded to this review

“Dear Valued Guest, Firstly, we would like to express our deep gratitude for your feedback. It was a privilege to have the opportunity to serve you. The facilities will be updated as well as our service quality in order to provide excellence in the near future. Again, we are deeply grateful for the feedback you gave us and motivates us...

Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Pros: - Super near to MRT. - Big room, comfort bed and mattress, clean and nice toilet. - Satisfied WiFi speed. - In room fruits available everyday. - Free Adults movie channel with password protected. Cons: - Limited breakfast selection, limited seat available - Room chair not comfortable for biz man to work in the room with computer. - Limited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wilson C
benson_wu, 行銷公關 at Capital Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Firstly, we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences which might have caused you during your stay at Capital Hotel Arena. Furthermore, thank you so much for your consideration and support. It was a privilege to have the opportunity to serve you. The facilities will be updated as well as our service quality in order to provide excellence in...

edinburgh, scotland
Reviewed 29 January 2015

Wildly dated and bit scruffy, this place is redeemed somewhat by the huge room and bathroom. Quite remarkable but basically tired, not overly spotless and in need of a complete overhaul. Some of the staff were great, some hopeless. Breakfast was solely Chinese-style which wasn't what I wanted - a choice is normal in Taiwan but not here. Location not...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank navraggio
benson_wu, 行銷公關 at Capital Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Firstly, we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences which might have caused you during your stay at Capital Hotel Arena. Furthermore, thank you so much for your consideration and support. It was a privilege to have the opportunity to serve you. The facilities will be updated as well as our service quality in order to provide excellence in...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 23 October 2014

I went to this hotel with my grandparents and Mom. Luckily, I was staying at someone's house. I was here most of the time, and it was like horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It's creepy, smelly, and small. I could't stand it, and my family couldn't either. First of all, there were no windows on 3 sides. Instead they have fake windows and closets....

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank Zoe W
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 16 October 2014

We stayed at this hotel for an event nearby. Our first room was small (size of a 2 person business man room) but clean. We requested for a larger room because it was too small to fit all our equipment. The staff was nice, courteous and managed to find us a much larger room. This room was very large but...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Prickycritic05
San Francisco, CA
Reviewed 7 October 2014

Did an extended stay here while on a long haul business trip. First, there are fewer than ten rooms in this hotel that actually have windows. They have "windows" in all the other rooms. A window frame with a curtain in it. When you open up the curtains, there is a brick wall. Brought to memory some Twilight Zone episodes,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank woozymom
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Not a nice hotel. There are many Capital Hotels in Taipei so make sure you don't stay at this one, which is on a busy street corner in the city. Check in was painful, and the room we got was literally in the middle of the hallway with no windows except out to the hallway. It was like being in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ladodgerone
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We were booked into this hotel by our travel agent because other hotels were fully booked on 31st Dec. I was so disappointing (honestly frustrated) with our stay esp. it's not cheap at all. The worst thing was service: The staff in the front desk were not attending at all - sometimes even unpleasant. And there were a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank germainecsl
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We booked the family room for 5 days and paid about SGD 285 per night for it. For the first night, they gave us the wrong room as the one we booked should have a bathtub. We were unable to change it until the next day which was very troublesome. Apparently, their system isn't very efficient. The receptionists were unpleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Twqemma
itsJC2013, 業者 at Capital Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greeting from Capital Hotel Arena and thank you for your kind patronage. Your comments are vitally important to us. If there is any misunderstanding, we apologize for not being considerate enough while you were staying. Thank you for letting us knew your opinions. We will try to improve on and check the rooms more carefully. Once again,...

Reviewed 31 March 2013

We were a family of 5 (2 adults/3 kids) traveling from the States. The lobby is small and there is no concierge or sitting area and it smelled of incense. The receptionists all spoke good English and were pleasant and competent, but don't expect anyone to bend over backwards to please as they are busy doing both job of receptionist...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank drgymbolee

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Capital Hotel Nanjing
#311 of 546 in Taipei
27 reviews
Songshan District
Delight Hotel
Delight Hotel
#157 of 546 in Taipei
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
HOTEL QUOTE Taipei
#38 of 546 in Taipei
441 reviews
Capital Hotel
#165 of 546 in Taipei
140 reviews
Songshan District
Brother Hotel Taipei
Brother Hotel Taipei
#116 of 546 in Taipei
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Capital Hotel Arena (Former Hondo Hotel), functioning as a hotel, a resort and a business place, is situated within busy Nanjing E Rd. business area. With convenient transportation, Shin-yi area, where big malls, Taipei 101, Taipei World Trade Center, Taipei Arena, night fairs, and other business areas are, are just blocks away.A business or tourist friendly hotel situated in the middle of everything from shopping malls and museums to religious temples. The guest rooms are trendy and equipped with telephones, mini bars, and air-conditioning. Wake up to a complimentary breakfast from the restaurant or just grab fresh pastries and an espresso from the coffee shop. The business center can accommodate corporate gatherings and meetings so conducting business should be no problem. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Capital Hotel Arena

Address: No.55-1 Section 4, Nanking East Road, Songshan District, Taipei 104, Taiwan (Formerly Hondo Hotel)
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Price Range: RM329 - RM885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Hotel Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Capital Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hondo Hotel Taipei
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capital Hotel Arena staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, null, Singapore

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Capital Hotel Arena staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It was a bit weird not having a window but it was a great stay. the staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. the room was well appointed - maybe a bit more drawer space - but sufficient for our needs.”
 of 5 bubbles 95katharinew, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“expencive rooms are too large. cheap room is good enough”
 of 5 bubbles ASADAYA_Ltd, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you book through Ctrip, breakfast included and cheaper than the actual hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Cbono90, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“Choose higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles Seokkeowng, 21 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Avoid breakfast peak hour 8am.”
 of 5 bubbles wilsonc453, 26 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay