We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Overstay

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 120: English reviews
Start your review of The Overstay
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place is a disgusting dirty dump. Dirt everywhere. Garbage everywhere. No toilet paper. No soap. Yes there is a kitchen, but it is so gross I wouldn't cook in there. There aren't any dishes to use, anyways. The beds are horribly uncomfortable. Sheets have huge rips in them. Blankets are never washed (we observed the maid to confirm this)....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erin E
Yuval S, Manager at The Overstay, responded to this review

Hey Erin, first of all we are sorry that you had as it seems such a terrible time with us. But we will take our time to respond to your points and subjects. I wonder really about many points you have, because we had a couple of chats while your time at The Overstay and you or your partner never...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I first got here and was only supposed to stay 3 nights, 3 weeks later i finally left just to return 2 weeks later. With the people who stay here and the guys that run it, it becomes very hard to leave as it becomes your new home. The staff are happy to help you out with what ever it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank camcam666
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely place, really chilled out and great people to talk to. It's not a 5* hotel so don't expect anything luxurious!- however if you want a laugh, a good time and to meet some cool people definitely come to this place!!! Clean, safe and great vibe- will always come back! #keeptheoverstayalive ❤️❤️❤️

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maimai333
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is the third or fourth time I've stayed here, of course I always overstayed the time I've planned to stay here. Flo and yuval are the coolest people ever and always make me feel welcome, and get me very very drunk. If you're looking for 5* luxury this isn't the place for you, this is one of the cheapest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotteeanna
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms are cheap, and the people who run this place are lovely. There is often live music in the main floors bar but if it's too loud but you'd still like to hang out, the rooftop is wonderful and more quiet. A cat lovers delight! Also available laundry is very useful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lindsay A
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hostel, it you're looking for a cheap place to stay for night, this is your choice. A piece of european culture in Thailand, amazing place, lovely people, reasonable prices and bunch of cheap Thai food paces.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moongangbanger
Sami, Greece
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Only stayed one night as we missed our train but so happy we did! The staff were incredibly friendly and looked after us throughout our stay, even when we were leaving they helped us out. The rooms were pretty basic but for £6 a night it had everything we needed. Everywhere you look there is beautiful artwork and the night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank constance_price
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely staff, lovely people, lovely music... maybe not one of the cleanest but definitely one of the best places to stay in Bangkok! Stayed her one week and it was worth it ! If you want to have a good time book it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doogie H
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The overstay is a one of a kind location. It's not only the most affordable hostel in Bangkok, it is a music venue that supports local and international bands and often hosts incredible fundraising events that are always a blast. On top of that the entire space is a gallery with a range of artistic styles. Good vibes and great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The most beautiful collection of art and artists I've ever seen. The second you put your bags down the staff will make you feel like you have a home in bangkok. Most beautiful Russian bartender this side of Moscow.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve B

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Empo Hostel
Empo Hostel
#327 of 1,135 in Bangkok
2 reviews
Sukhumvit
VX The Fifty Hostel
VX The Fifty Hostel
#134 of 1,135 in Bangkok
117 reviews
Hostel 24
#801 of 1,135 in Bangkok
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiny Hostel
#204 of 1,135 in Bangkok
10 reviews
Silom
Mad Cow Hostel Silom
Mad Cow Hostel Silom
#271 of 1,135 in Bangkok
44 reviews
Banglamphu
New Phiman Riverview Guesthouse
New Phiman Riverview Guesthouse
#515 of 1,135 in Bangkok
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come Overstay with us in our six story converted shophouse, former brothel and now Bangkok Guesthouse, Art Space and live music venue located on the corner of Charan Sanit Wong 40 - just a short distance from Bangkok's famous backpacking precinct Khao San Road. Crash at our place either short term or long term with backpackers accommodation ranging from dorm rooms with air conditioning for budget conscious backpackers, guesthouse with private fan and artist rooms. Come jam in our ground floor bar, hosting decades of music spanning across Reggae, Jazz, Funk, Jungle & more. We regularly invite musicians who wish to showcase their talents during our weekly jam sessions. Local and international resident DJs spin at our bi monthly club nights, while Bangkok's best underground and indie bands take centre stage at our monthly live music nights. Hungry? Come hang with our resident cooks in our kitchen and join in while we cook amazing vegetarian feasts from around the world, or relax by the bar with a beer and take out from our local Thai, Indian & Italian restaurants. Our culinary delights have included Brazilian Mucacas, Spanish salsa nights, humming to the taste of Israeli Hummus, slicing and dicing China.... The list goes on... Our walls are covered in street art from Thai and expat or travelling Farang (Thai for Foreigner) artists such as Matt Diamond Expressive, Mista Bows, Do Mung Tam, TMC, Alex Face, Yam, Sweden Kevin, Yu Sing and is constantly evolving making it a beautiful mix of your local pub and the silver factory of Andy Warhol. Its time to Overstay... ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Overstay

Address: Charan Sanit Wong Rd Soi 40 | Pinklao, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Price Range: RM44 - RM44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Overstay 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Overstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Overstay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have beautiful graffiti murals”
 of 5 bubbles camcam666, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Dorm beds have ac, private rooms are fans but come with a large bed.”
 of 5 bubbles Y4297DOmatts, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Only shared dorms have AirCon”
 of 5 bubbles felixr519, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are quieter, choose the dorm or the top floor”
 of 5 bubbles benmV5657IK, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Le dortoir est équipé de la clim!”
 of 5 bubbles lizonj, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5