We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Overstay

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Overstay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Overstay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 121: English reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

The most beautiful collection of art and artists I've ever seen. The second you put your bags down the staff will make you feel like you have a home in bangkok. Most beautiful Russian bartender this side of Moscow.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
Reviewed 26 February 2017

The overstay is a unique place in Bangkok, one of the few of its kind in Thailand or anywhere else in the world. Nowhere else can you find the combination of local underground bands, international art, and the cheapest beds in the city. Don't expect a 5 star place, come with an open mind, and embrace this getaway just outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

The overstay hostel is one of the best ones i've stayed in! Cool vibes & cool peeps all around! I ordered a private room for only 7 USD, you can't beat that! The hostel is near the center and is close to everything

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Newton S
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

It feels like an abandoned house altogether. Poor infrastructure. Uncomfortable common areas. Dirty. Some of the graffiti art on walls is cool and the live music was nice, but wouldn't come back here.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ChittaLuv
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Pretty filthy and smells like cats! Has been some law-trouble with passed owners which is concerning but great people! Friendly vibe! Good for the money! The best seedy, dirty hostel you'll ever stay at for sure!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mattie V
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

A place full of beautiful people, amazing staff and a great atmosphere! The price is unbeatable, the facility's are more then needed! A kitchen, drum kits, guitars, art utensils, a pool table and so much more! Worth every cent you pay for the experience of great people and a great place. Not to be missed, in comparison to Khao San...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Harolds G
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

This place is terrible. The beds are horrible, the bathrooms are horrible, it smells like stray cat and garbage. I actually felt cleaner outside in the streets of Bangkok then laying in my bed. There is one fan in the middle of the big dorm that doesn't work properly, one plug in the dorm so you have to take turns...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jordan R
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Can't believe the bad reviews I've read.. I've stayed a month in Bangkok and did lots of research (and stayed and visited other hostels) before choosing this place. Facilities are way beyond the price. Of course you are not getting hot water, for this price how can u even ask for it??? I didn't have hot water in most places...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gabi C
Stony Plain, Canada
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Now I didn't go into this thinking I was staying at some 5 star hotel with room service or even going to have my own bathroom, when we first arrive it was dark as the power was out so I gave it a chance thought oh it'll probably seem better in the light but boy was I wrong! The place...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Hannaah21
Yuval S, Owner at The Overstay, responded to this review

Hi Hannah, we are deeply sorry if you felt unsafe i guess you could have asked us for another room if you didnt like the one we offered you : we upgrade people on regular basis as we actually do care for our people. I would like to take the time to answer point by point and maybe our readers...

Shah Alam, Malaysia
Reviewed 25 September 2016

The cheapest hostel with great environment in BKK. Super friendly staffs. Dormitory room is spacious. Bathrooms are clean (I personally like the one on 3rd? floor with tub). They always have some sorts of activities going on there. They have musical instruments, books, place to hang out, a vegetarian kitchen, gym equipment, second hand shirts, free Wifi, air-cond, and cats!!!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Muthannah88

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Empo Hostel
Empo Hostel
#417 of 1,155 in Bangkok
6 reviews
VX The Fifty Hostel
#133 of 1,155 in Bangkok
118 reviews
Silom
Mad Cow Hostel Silom
Mad Cow Hostel Silom
#267 of 1,155 in Bangkok
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiny Hostel
#215 of 1,155 in Bangkok
10 reviews
Hostel 24
#856 of 1,155 in Bangkok
4 reviews
Sukhumvit
Fun Wan Hostel Bangkok
Fun Wan Hostel Bangkok
#274 of 1,155 in Bangkok
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come Overstay with us in our six story converted shophouse, former brothel and now Bangkok Guesthouse, Art Space and live music venue located on the corner of Charan Sanit Wong 40 - just a short distance from Bangkok's famous backpacking precinct Khao San Road. Crash at our place either short term or long term with backpackers accommodation ranging from dorm rooms with air conditioning for budget conscious backpackers, guesthouse with private fan and artist rooms. Come jam in our ground floor bar, hosting decades of music spanning across Reggae, Jazz, Funk, Jungle & more. We regularly invite musicians who wish to showcase their talents during our weekly jam sessions. Local and international resident DJs spin at our bi monthly club nights, while Bangkok's best underground and indie bands take centre stage at our monthly live music nights. Hungry? Come hang with our resident cooks in our kitchen and join in while we cook amazing vegetarian feasts from around the world, or relax by the bar with a beer and take out from our local Thai, Indian & Italian restaurants. Our culinary delights have included Brazilian Mucacas, Spanish salsa nights, humming to the taste of Israeli Hummus, slicing and dicing China.... The list goes on... Our walls are covered in street art from Thai and expat or travelling Farang (Thai for Foreigner) artists such as Matt Diamond Expressive, Mista Bows, Do Mung Tam, TMC, Alex Face, Yam, Sweden Kevin, Yu Sing and is constantly evolving making it a beautiful mix of your local pub and the silver factory of Andy Warhol. Its time to Overstay... ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Overstay

Address: Charan Sanit Wong Rd Soi 40 | Pinklao, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Price Range: RM44 - RM6,327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Overstay 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your The Overstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Overstay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have beautiful graffiti murals”
camcam666, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Dorm beds have ac, private rooms are fans but come with a large bed.”
Y4297DOmatts, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Only shared dorms have AirCon”
felixr519, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are quieter, choose the dorm or the top floor”
benmV5657IK, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Le dortoir est équipé de la clim!”
lizonj, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5