We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
477 Si Ayuthaya Road Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400 Thailand
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$66
View deal
Expedia.com
US$77
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$54
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/02/23
TravelocityUS$77
PricelineUS$78
travelup.comUS$100
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1916)
Room & Suite (471)
Dining (298)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#101 of 1,534 hotels in Bangkok
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Mixing colonial-style architecture, modern amenities and Asian aesthetics, The Sukosol Hotel (formerly Siam City Hotel) is a wonderful place to stay for a truly unique, five-star Thai experience. The 500-room hotel is located beside the Phayathai Skytrain and Airport Rail Link stations. In the middle of Bangkok’s famed royal district, the hotel is within easy reach of the best sightseeing, shopping and dining that the City of Angels has to offer. The hotel boasts award-winning restaurants, rooftop pool, fitness centre, gift shop, jeweler, and more.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Art Deco Style
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Thai

Location

100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
84Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
11Attractionswithin 0.5 km
3265Reviews51Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,971
  • 904
  • 266
  • 77
  • 48
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Bigermomy wrote a review Yesterday
Thailand126 contributions31 helpful votes
Good Location and good Service. This hotel is near BTS and airport link. This is good for Thai people and foreigner. I like Lin-fa restaurant. It is good chinese food. Don't miss breakfast ai patummat restaurant.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tourist31877444917 wrote a review 5 Feb
Hanoi, Vietnam1 contribution
The hotel is near Thaiya BTS, the train should be convenient for moving from the airport to the hotel and from the hotel to other entertainment places, so it can save a lot of travel costs and save time due to traffic jam. One thing that is not satisfied here is that the air conditioner is very cold but the refrigerator does not work even though the staff has changed to a new refrigerator for us. everything else is great.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Angie Thompson wrote a review Jan 2023
12 contributions31 helpful votes
We came here on our last leg of our honeymoon for one night before flying back to England. Upon arrival, hotel was very clean and lovely and was instantly impressed. Check in was smooth and we were allowed to check in early. About the only positives to this hotel. Our room was ok in size but dated (shower in the bath, first time I’ve seen in Thailand across 3 weeks) and bathroom seemed grim and dirty. Bed was hard and we were woken up at 8.30 by someone knocking on our room door. We were trying to get a little bit of a lie in due to us flying home that day so ignored it but he proceeded to knock then whoever it was tried to come in (hatch was on the door) obviously staff as he managed to bypass the card lock. I’ve never been in a hotel where if you don’t reply to the knock they just decide to try and walk in!!! God forbid if the door didn’t have the latch on. I tried to request a later check out so we could have access to the room in the afternoon and not just sitting around all day but they didn’t do a late checkout unless I wanted to pay 100% of the room rate. We were giving an extra 30 minutes. Seen reviews on here of people having the opportunity to check out late so was a bit peeved at this. We spent the day at the MRK centre and left our cases at the hotel, then when we came back we needed to put some stuff in our suitcases, the hotel porter ushered us into a separate part of the hotel away from the main lobby and told us to wait here. There’s no bar, no opportunity to grab some food from the restaurant but left to fester for over 2 hours with nothing but a seat and a toilet. Needless to say I am not impressed by this hotel and I’m only giving it 3 star due to initial first impressions as you walk through the hotel but that’s as far as it goes unfortunately. No one asked us how the stay was when checking out, should they have asked I would have politely voiced my concerns. Bad management.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sukosol Hotels, General Manager at The Sukosol Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Ms Thompson, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. On behalf of the team at The Sukosol, we are very sorry that the service you experienced during your stay did not meet the standards we strive for. I have spoken with our housekeeping team to see how we can improve our service, they usually knock to check if a room can be cleaned around 9am, and we provide do not disturb signs for guests who wish to be left in peace. With regards to late check-out, we absolutely do try to accommodate our guests if they need extra time (as other reviews have mentioned), however when the hotel is busy, it is not always possible and is subject to availability. I have also spoken to our porter who offered you a room with more space away from the lobby to give you some privacy for repacking. He did not mean to imply you could not leave at your leisure. I apologise for the miscommunication. As always, we will work to improve and hope that you may give us a chance to welcome you back again in the future. Sincerely, Siriluk Paisansuthidej Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bobby Ramakant wrote a review Jan 2023
Chiang Mai, Thailand270 contributions142 helpful votes
+1
We have stayed here earlier before the pandemic had hit us! Now we went in December 2022 and were reassured that this continues to be a great place and experience. Location: great. If we get on airport rail link metro train (basement of Suvarnabhumi airport), then last station after 30 min or so of ride is Phaya Thai station which is 300m from the hotel (but word of caution is that walking inside phaya thai station and getting to road is also quite a walk). This is walking distance or you can hop on skytrain (at Phaya thai) to go to MBK, Siam malls, Centara mall etc. 7-11 is right next door from this hotel. Businesses like king tower and other offices are also v close but it depends where one may have work. There are lots of eating places around Phaya Thai and malls. Hotel: great experience. Front desk staff upgraded our stay so that is very very kind of them. Check in was quick. View from high floor room was great of Bangkok skyline and skytrain rail link close by. Room is big and neat and clean and good. Bathroom very good too. Breakfast needs a special mention: very good spread of food varieties and taste wise what we tried very good. Live counter or eggs made to taste is also very good. Special thanks to the chef for making paranthas and indian veg curry fresh for us and hot served - special dhanyawaad and kapkunkrab. Coffee very good. Staff in restaurant area is also very helpful and responsive and attentive. I had forgotten my mobile there while having breakfast but when I realized and went back after an hour they had it safe and secureZ thanks. Best of wishes to the team Sukosol, it is the team of people that makes sukosol what sukosol is!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Direct airport rail link from Suvarnabhumi airport to Phaya thai station where this hotel is 300m...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sukosol Hotels, General Manager at The Sukosol Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Bobby Ramakant, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your detailed review. I will share this with the team who will be happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, our service and especially our breakfast! We look forward to welcoming you back more often now that we are through the pandemic! Sincerely, Siriluk Paisansuthidej Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hewonhailey wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
1. Luggage After check in, the reception told us that they would bring the luggages to our room. We waited about an hour and still didnt receieve them. So i called and asked. They said they would bring it to us. But still nobody came. We went down and got the luggage ourselves and nobody noticed we were taking them. And after we took them nobody had any interest with it. 2. No notice of closed lounge We booked family suite room to use the lounge even though it costs more than the normal family room. However, lounge was not operating, and the sofa bed was terrible. The sofa bed was so thin and looked like it is going to break soon.. 3. No restaurant available for dinner. We were expecting a dimsum restaurant at the hotel and was closed all along during my stay. 4. Noisy room The room we stayed in had connecting doors to the next room and since the door had space, we were able to hear what the next door guests was talking about. The worst part is they woke up at 6:00 and turned on the tv and talked. I had to wake up due to the noise and was stressed about it. I will never stay here and would never recommend this to others. Seems like there’s a reason why this hotel is not popular.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sukosol Hotels, General Manager at The Sukosol Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Hewonhailey, We are so very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us or experience the level of service that we strive for. I have spoken with our bell boys to work out how we can ensure luggage is delivered in a more timely manner for every guest, even when we are busy. I will also speak with our engineering team to see how we can improve the soundproofing on our connecting doors. With regards to our Lounge, please note that we inform guests on our website to explain it is currently closed (re-opening mid-February), and our restaurant opening hours are also listed online. I will ask the team to make sure it is listed as clearly as possible. Sincerely, Siriluk Paisansuthidej Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anita Rosaleh wrote a review Jan 2023
Taipei, Taiwan60 contributions31 helpful votes
+1
Hotel is conveniently located just 350m away from ARL Phayathai, about 5 minutes walk. 15 minutes walk to Platinum fashion mall / centrawOrld / Superrich head quarter (money changer that always offer the best rate in Bangkok - bear in mind, different branch money changer have different rate, headquarters always have the best rate). So location is beautiful. Small hiccups: Slow check in counter staffs at the day we check in, we had to wait even though there was 1 counter that was open. Until I approach him and he help us with the check in. Rooms are separated between two buldings by a courtyard. We choose deluxe room in Ayuthaya wing because this room’s bathroom has separate shower and toilet and bath up. If you stay in premier room (Siam building-the main building) they don’t have separate shower room, you need to take shower in the bath up, but they have bigger room. Hotel room is in a good size. Love that they use refillable good size shampo/bath gel and body lotion. It’s much better for the environment! The entrance corridor has a mirror that runs the full length down to the bedroom. Carpet is a bit sticky near the couch and there’s mark on the carpet. There’s plenty power plugs with USB port at both bedside and desk. Water pressure is good too. Breakfast is buffet style with plenty of variety, they have good coffee too Overall it’s a nice hotel in a beautiful location and we’ll gladly go back next time we’re in town!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sukosol Hotels, General Manager at The Sukosol Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear anita-rosaleh, Many thanks for your detailed feedback, with very useful information for our other guests about the differences in room types at The Sukosol! We apologize for the longer check-in, at this time of year, it is a little busier than usual. Thank you too for noticing our green initiatives and highlighting our breakfast. On behalf of the team, we look forward to your next visit to Bangkok! Sincerely, Siriluk Paisansuthidej Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rattanawadee K wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
Good service and very nice staff and warm welcome :) Catering Sales and Conference Services (All staff)🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼 .Beautiful meeting room and very nice food (Break,Lunch) and soft drink. Very very very Good Good Good Like Love Love Love
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sukosol Hotels, General Manager at The Sukosol Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear K Rattanawadee, Thank you very much for your cute feedback, which I know the team will love to hear. We are very happy that you enjoyed your event room, coffee break and lunch and hope that we can help you with more successful and memorable events in the future. Sincerely, Siriluk Paisansuthidej Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dr Adam H wrote a review Jan 2023
We visited Bangkok twice during December 2022 and experienced first class service at the The Sukosol Hotel. From the moment we arrived at this beautiful Hotel we were greeted by the doorman, who took care of our luggage and very politely directed us to Front Desk. The Front Desk staff checked us in very professionally giving us a briefing of amenities and outline of the food and beverage service in the Hotel as well. Indeed, dealing with staff when we booked rooms was also so easy. Thank you Alex G for facilitating everything by email! We were a party of five, three adults and two toddlers, and had asked for connecting rooms. Our rooms were spacious, well decorated and furnished. It is very clear that a great deal of thought has gone into the design at the Sukosol. We appreciated the additional features in the bathroom where there were towels and other accessories for young children. Our children loved these special touches! We enjoyed the wide selection and the high quality of food in the Sapphire Bar, so much so that we returned every evening. We were impressed by the Sapphire Bar staff who always greeted us to kindly, particularly Kanika, who also helped us choose foods for our daughter who is allergic to egg. We felt as though we were at home at the Sukosol because of Kannika. A very special thank you to Kannika! The breakfast menu consisted of a wide selection of foods so we had no problem finding something safe for our daughter. It was a real pleasure for us to receive such high quality service at this beautiful Hotel on both visits. We highly recommend the Sukosol Hotel! We will definitely be returning next year. Thank you Sukosol for making our stay so very special!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sukosol Hotels, General Manager at The Sukosol Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear dradamh2023, Thank you for your wonderful review, it was our pleasure to have you and your family stay with us, and on behalf of the team at The Sukosol, we are so happy you all enjoyed the service, rooms, and food during your stay with us. It is also great to hear you plan to return, and we look forward to making your next stay as memorable. Sincerely, Siriluk Paisansuthidej Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
araya2023 wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
great visit, during short stay in Bangkok, This hotel is one of the best choice in reasonable prices according to location and facilities. Very good hospitality and services, Not far from Phayathai Airport rail link very easy to connect to other destination in Bangkok or Thailand.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sukosol Hotels, General Manager at The Sukosol Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear araya2023, Thank you very much for your kind feedback which I will share with our team. They will be pleased to hear you enjoyed our location, facilities and service overall. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, for hopefully a longer stay! Sincerely, Siriluk Paisansuthidej Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louise wrote a review Jan 2023
Bexley, United Kingdom492 contributions168 helpful votes
We arrived at the same time as an airline crew & we were left for quite a while as they were attended to (only one person on the desk) - they took priority. We were given no information regarding breakfast times or even where the restaurant & pool were located. The rooms were ok, comfortable, but there was a lot of road noise in my room (604, I think). The service was very impersonal. Breakfast was very good, but the staff positively miserable. Disappointing for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sukosol Hotels, General Manager at The Sukosol Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Louiseoxf, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm happy you enjoyed our breakfast, and apologize for the delay at check-in, we typically try to ensure there are more staff at the desk at those times we have an airline crew checking in, so that we can still offer enough time to our other guests to inform them of our facilities. I will work with the team to ensure this. I hope that we have the chance to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, Siriluk Paisansuthidej Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$66 - US$101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
siam city bangkok, bangkok siam city hotel, siam city hotel bangkok
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Siam City Hotel
LOCATION
ThailandBangkokRatchathewi / Pratunam (Watergate) / Thanon Phaya Thai
NUMBER OF ROOMS
500
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SUKOSOL HOTEL (R̶M̶ ̶4̶0̶0̶) RM 226: UPDATED 2023 Reviews, Price Comparison and 2,492 Photos (Bangkok, Thailand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Sukosol Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Sukosol Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Suan Pakkad Palace Museum (0.1 km), Sapphire Bar (0.3 km), and Century The Movie Plaza (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Sukosol Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Sukosol Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Sukosol Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Sukosol Hotel?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Sukosol Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lin-Fa Chinese Restaurant, Patummat Restaurant - - The Sukosol Hotel, and Eat Am Are Rangnam.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Sukosol Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Sukosol Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Sukosol Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Sukosol Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Sukosol Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.