We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,541 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,057: English reviews
Camrose, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room stunk horribly of mildew. Got up in the middle of night to go to washroom to find water dripping from the ceiling. Very outdated. When we complained at the desk in the morning we were dismissed and told that the air conditioning was leaking. Not the least bit interested in discussing the issue.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Connie B
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Connie Thank you for your stay with us and your post on Trip Advisor. We do apologize for the inconvenience of the leaking from the bathroom ceiling. Such incidents can occur with the changing temperature. However, our owners have decided to renovate the hotel in the near future and we are convinced that such shortcomings will be addressed too....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location of this hotel is great but the rooms are very old and stink of mildew. The service is terrible as a Thai princess is staying in the hotel on the top floor which means that one elevator bank is openly reserved for her on the ground floor and another on the top floor meaning that you will be...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Doctorbailey
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Doctorbailey Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor and your stay with us. It is with much regret that we have read your defaming comments and would have expected that people have more respect when a hotel accommodates members of the Royal family. It is a gross exaggeration to say, that only one elevator was available. Yes,...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A bit dated, worn carpets some worn tiles. Elevator takes forever so we usually just took the stairs especially during peak check in times. Breakfast is awesome and staff helpful and friendly. Pool is very nice although disappointing it is not open longer hours.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank R841RNjohnb
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor and your stay with us. Our hotel does not advertise nor features itself as “a five star”. Unfortunately too many of our dear guests are impatient and many times push the up and down buttons of the lifts. This means, that they have to stop on many floors unnecessary –...

Selangor, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel located near night market. Sunday night market is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Big car park for hotel guests. Hotel staff friendly. Rooms are clean and spacious. There are many shops & restaurants nearby. You get massages just across the hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex5590
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alex Thank you for your stay here with us and your post on Trip Advisor. We were pleased to read your comments and that you have enjoyed your stay. Our location is certainly a big drawing point. Our associates are here to serve and give their best to all our guests and visitors. It would be nice to welcoming...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the location was great, breakfast delicious. My only things are that the hotel is pretty old and the pool closes at 6pm which is very early, and our bed was very hard. With so many option in the same location I would probably stay somewhere else next time.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DorotaaS
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dorotaa Thank you for your stay with us and your post on Trip Advisor. It was good to read that you liked our hotel for the location and breakfast. Our good news for you is, our owning company has decided to undertake a major renovation in the very near future. It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is located in the old town, 5 min' from the night market. Close to everything. The royal family still visit this hotel when in the area (we missed the prince by two days) and We could tell it was a very fancy hotel 20 years ago. These days it's old fashioned but the service is amazing, the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keren B
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Keren Than you for your stay here with us and your post on Trip Advisor. Our hotel is actually located near the old city, approximately 10 minutes walk, near the night bazaar and many other interesting sightseeing spots. Our hotel has certainly some history and all of us here are proud that some members of the Royal family do...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel. Big, nice pool, lots of groups and activity in the lobby and restaurants. Food was good, lots of choices in food, rooms were clean, service was good. The decor is nice, good value for the money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kuchanga
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kuchanga Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor and your stay here with us. We were pleased to learn of your experience in our place. Our location and value for money is certainly a strong selling point and we do look forward to welcoming you back to our place in the near future. In the meantime we remain...

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

I can say nothing negative about this hotel. My friend and I stayed here in November 2016 while travelling around Thailand. The staff were fantastic, the decor and quality of the hotel is amazing and the breakfasts... Just about every type of breakfast you can imagine from pancakes to curry to fresh pastries and full English. my highest recommendation!! 😁

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jkd06
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JKD Thank you for your visit last November and your post on Trip Advisor. Your comments have been shared among our team and very much appreciated. Nice to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and it would be our pleasure to welcoming you back to our place in the near future, if your travels bring you...

Reviewed 14 February 2017

I was tossing up as to whether this was average or very good. It is very close to the markets and other attactions. Secure. Rooms were comfortable. Breakfast had plenty of variety. The hotel did the job.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amanda Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor and your recent stay here with us. We are very pleased to know that you have experienced a good say and that our services matched with your expectations. It would definitely be our pleasure to welcoming you back on another occasion and remain in the meantime with. Kind regards from...

Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a meeting in December. Liked the hotel for its green garden and nice range of food. Much nicer than the Duangtawan hotel next door where I had stayed in August. My room was decent sized with large windows. Very close to the night bazaar. Pretty reasonably priced. The night bazaar is just 5 minutes walk and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank India_Trippers
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Indian Trippers Thank you for your stay last December and your post on Trip Advisor. We were pleased to read your comments and happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back on another occasion and please let us know when this happens. In the meantime we remain...

1,156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (796)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (138)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
4:29
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (421)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (349)
Viewed
Amenities (59)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (46)
Viewed
Ground Floor Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (92)
Viewed
Royal Suite (49)
Viewed
Second Floor Pool (8)
Viewed
Superior Room (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 km away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#44 of 373 in Chiang Mai
1,176 reviews
0.2 km away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#53 of 373 in Chiang Mai
1,246 reviews
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#51 of 373 in Chiang Mai
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#109 of 373 in Chiang Mai
1,829 reviews
0.4 km away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 373 in Chiang Mai
1,756 reviews
0.5 km away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#48 of 373 in Chiang Mai
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Price Range: RM181 - RM462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question
KL
over a year ago

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a lower floor. The elevators are slow.”
 of 5 bubbles watfordSouthlake_Tx, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Look at other hotels in the area!”
 of 5 bubbles danddragon, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lower floors if you are in a rush .. Get bedrooms away from the lifts to stay away from noise coming from guests using the lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles wkng188, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get rooms away from the lifts if you are sensitive to noise as the soundproofing of the room door is poor.”
 of 5 bubbles kahsoonc2017, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Facing the Gardens it has quite a nice view”
 of 5 bubbles izzywatt204, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5