We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Finnegans Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Finnegans Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

389 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 310: English reviews
County Kerry, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The couple that own the hotel treated us absolutely brilliant, we took the option of them organising a taxi from the airport for us and they met us off the taxi, brought our bags to the room for us and went away over and beyond their duties for us. They showed us where to go around Hanoi for shopping, eating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank florirish
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here at the start of our trip through South East Asia. The staff were fantastic, the rooms were very comfortable, everything you would hope would work (air-con, wifi, etc) worked flawlessly. The breakfast was delicious (i had the chicken noodle soup each day - and it was the best i had anywhere on the trip). Basically when i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stoufferthedog
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great time at Finnegans Hotel. The room was clean, the breakfast was selfmade with lots of love and the owner and staff were so friendly. We booked a 2 days tour to Halong Bay and this was also very good organized. We highly recommend this hotel. Thanks a lot for the great time. Anja & Kia

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anja P
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 2 nights prior to our tour. Very welcoming, clean, comfortable, great breakfast, we had a little balcony overlooking the hustle and bustle outside. Very central location for the old quarter for markets and restaurants, just walk out the door and there it is. Just be wary of the airport taxis that give you a story that there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We had very good time in Hanoi. It started in Finnegans Hotel where we were welcomed by Hanh. She is very friendly and made us feel like at home, she gave us very useful tips regarding places to see or to eat as we only had one day in Hanoi. Then we went for one day trip to Halong Bay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AgnieszkaAgni
Puchong, Malaysia
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We arrived in the morning, and paid for a ride at a booth in the airport to the hotel, on hindsight, it was expensive and would been cheaper if we just got a taxi outside the airport. Things got a lot better when we arrived at the hotel. Hahn was at the reception to greet us and we got lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry P
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Overall our stay at Finnegans was OK, although I think the rating of this Hotel is much higher than I would excpect it to be. Pros: - Great location, in the center of everything. - They have nice staff, that would help you in any case you will request. - Rooms are in a good condition (the style is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amiramch
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Place is centralised to tourist attraction area, staffs are friendly and helpful. But, room was not suitable for our liking. The decoration with Vietnam war wallpaper was interesting, but we felt like it made us feel uncomforable. Bathroom was ok, good water, good AC. The mattress was terrible, felt like sleeping on the floor. Breakfast was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
FINNEGANSHN, Director of Sales at Finnegans Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr/Ms Yvonne, There are many room types with different decorations and we have posted our photos very clearly for each room type as we know people have different styles. It was pity that you did not book our nice Honeymoon room for your Honeymoon trip. You should have double check before you booked to avoid problem like this for...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

We arrived in the evening and got a pickup from the airport to the hotel. Lovely service from the start. We had a quick check in and then were told all the best places to eat in the Old Quarter - every recommendation we went to was fantastic! Breakfast each morning was also amazing. We were fed a 3 course...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LordPirateRabbit
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 nights and loved it! Clean, very nice and helpful staff and good breakfast + coffee. Good wifi (!) and location. Worth the price (cause this is rather expensive compared to other stays in hanoi). Would recommend a stay to everyone i know!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank babycaycay

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 km away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.1 km away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.3 km away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hanoi Guest House
Hanoi Guest House
#3 of 542 in Hanoi
1,583 reviews
0.2 km away
Hanoi Guest House Royal
0.2 km away
Hanoi 3B Hotel
Hanoi 3B Hotel
#5 of 542 in Hanoi
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Have you ever imagined that you can still stay at your lovely home even in your journey to the strange land? Now let Hanoi Finnegans hotel becomes that wonderful home.Lying in the nice little lane of charming Hanoi Old Quarter, our Finnegans Hotel is a peacefully nestling house –like seeking for a tranquil moment in crowded Hanoi streets. Even more, you will fall in love with our Hanoi’s charming, which is full of color and characteristics in every nook and crannies. It also satisfies your curiosity by just few minute walking to discover famed tourist attractions, such as Hoan Kiem Lake (Lake of Sword Restored), Water Puppet Theatre, Night Market, Opera House, History Museum, One Pillar Pagoda, Temple Of Literature, Art Museum, etc.With the greatest love of ancient Hanoi and passion about hospitability field, I started to open the family hotel in an effort to pursuit my dream. Coming to my hotel, you will be pleased with the cozy and friendly atmosphere created through “like-brother-and-sister” staff; however, professional serving style is definitely maintained. It is proved through ten-year experience in hotel service. Despite lacking of five-star facilities, I always remind myself of putting my heart, soul and great effort to give the most memorable experience for you, even more than five- star service. Being one of my friends, you will be warmly welcomed through my hospitability, trustworthy and caring with all my heart.If Hanoi is your most preferable choice for your trip, Finnegans hotel is your perfect and unforgettable destination for relaxing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Finnegans Hotel

Address: No. 7 Dong Thai street, Hang Buom Ward, Hoan Kiem Lake, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Price Range: RM120 - RM173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Finnegans Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travelocity so you can book your Finnegans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Finnegans Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Balcony rooms are great - and not too noisy at night, despite the proximity to the "party zone" of old Hanoi”
 of 5 bubbles stoufferthedog, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“for quieter rooms, choose rooms facing back, if you won't mind not having any views.”
 of 5 bubbles 675HarryP, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Unless if you like hipster Vietnamese wallpaper look for another room”
 of 5 bubbles yvonnesX3843SN, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Due to Vietnam's weird planning laws, the windows on the lower floors look straight out onto the wall of the adjacent building.”
 of 5 bubbles georgec01, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Balcony rooms at the front are lovely but you can hear some street noise. Lower back rooms very quiet but not all have real windows.”
 of 5 bubbles Maddiesmum01, 27 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay