We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

May De Ville Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

475 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 406: English reviews
Mae Rim, Thailand
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The rooms are good, with good showers and lucky not a bathtub. Location is perfect and the buffet breakfast is also very good. The staff excellent, friendly and very helpful. Hanoi is a friendly town, with a lot of things to do. Especially the weekends are great by the Hoàn Kiêm lake, it is closed for traffic. Children can play...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charly L
Sarah N, General Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Charly, We are truly grateful for your feedback and thank you very much for sharing your experience at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel on Tripadvisor.com Please do let us know when your plans bring you and your friends back to Hanoi. I would be delighted to assist with the details of your stay to ensure another exceptional experience in...

Reviewed 12 January 2017

I stayed in this hostel 4 times during my visit in Vietnam and each time was excellent. The rooms are a great value, delicious breakfast, great rooftop terrace and the staff were very nice, professional and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aglagla3
Sarah N, General Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Aglagla, We are truly grateful for your feedback and thank you very much for sharing your experience at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel on Tripadvisor.com Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Hanoi. I would be delighted to assist with the details of your stay to ensure another exceptional experience in Hanoi We are...

Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewed 11 January 2017

By far one of the good hostels I've ever stayed in. Clean facilities, room, public areas and they give CLEAN BEDSHEETS, PILLOW, DUVET!!! Staff were very helpful too. The hostel is about 5-10 Hoan Kiem Lake which most of the top tourist attractions are in zone.There is bus stop walk 5 minute outside the hostel which also takes you everywhere...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jhonytomas
Sarah N, General Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Soliman, We are truly grateful for your feedback and thank you very much for sharing your experience at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel on Tripadvisor.com Hopefully May De Ville Backpackers Hostel could be your " Home away from home " and we are able to welcome you " the happinest " everyday Enjoy your time in Hanoi and in...

Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Overall this was a nice hostel and great value for money. The dorm rooms are clean although a bit cramped. Lockers in the room. Great free breakfast but lacking a common area therefore quite hard to socialise. Great location in old quarter.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank morganr968
Sarah N, General Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Morgan, We are truly grateful for your feedback and thank you very much for sharing your experience at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel on Tripadvisor.com, also thank you for your constructive feedback which will be investigated and corrective action taken as appropriate. Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Hanoi. I would be delighted...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Hotel was clean, had a safe in the room. We stayed here twice as it was a good hostel, staff were helpful although didn't seem overly happy when we didn't book a tour with them (they double as a travel agent) . Shower in one of the rooms was poor. Breakfast was decent and they gave us free wine on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hev89
Sarah N, General Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Hev89, Thank you for choosing May De Ville Backpackers Hostel to stay in while visiting Hanoi. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, we are regret that we didn't have chance to provide you more tour information, because we are offer budget tour, superior tour, deluxe and luxury tour also, so if we had chance...

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

I was nothing short of impressed at the quality of service and friendliness of the staff. The breakfast on the top floor was very good, and the staff was very responsive to the needs of my family. That being said, I think the bathrooms in the rooms need some work done to better ensure that a) water isn't seeping out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James B
Sarah N, General Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear James, We are truly grateful for your feedback and thank you very much for sharing your experience at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel on Tripadvisor.com, also thank you for your constructive feedback which will be investigated and corrective action taken as appropriate. Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Hanoi. I would be delighted...

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel is in an excellent location right in the center of the backpackers district. The place is clean and the mattresses are comfortable. One of the best services is being able to leave your bags in a locked room while you travel around. The breakfast is decent as well, although there is not much variety. We stayed a night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erin S
Sarah N, General Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Erin, Thank you for choosing May De Ville Backpackers Hostel to stay in while visiting Hanoi. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and whole of service here. Especially, you found us as the "great place”. Yes, with the great passion, our young team always strive to deliver excellent service to our valued guests like you. We...

Reviewed 4 January 2017

My trip in Hanoi for 2 days on November and this place made me so sastify. Nice and clean room, the restaurant where they serve breakfast got a nice view of old town plus delicious foods. Location is fantastic for those who enjoy nightlife activities but so some one just need relax it might be annoyed. But anw, i was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan n
Sarah N, General Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Susan, We are truly grateful for your feedback and thank you very much for sharing your experience at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel on Tripadvisor.com Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Hanoi. I would be delighted to assist with the details of your stay to ensure another exceptional experience in Hanoi We are...

Dirmstein, Germany
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We arrived here pretty late in the night from the airport but with their 24hr desk service this was no problem. The staff is very nice and helpful in booking bus tickets or helping you find your way around the city. We stayed in one of the dorms which although a bit tight (can't really expect anything else in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chiaragloria
Sarah N, General Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Chiaragloria, Thank you for choosing May De Ville Backpackers Hostel to stay in while visiting Hanoi. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and whole of service here. Especially, you found us as the "great place”. Yes, with the great passion, our young team always strive to deliver excellent service to our valued guests like you. We...

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed here in Dec 2016. Staff are friendly and helpful. Facilities are quite good, but the bathroom needs a little upgrade. The family room I stayed has a tiny bathroom. And its shower is a little old and too powerful for me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trang D
Sarah N, General Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Trang, Thank you for taking the time to review May De Ville Backpackers Hostel on TripAdvisor. It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and I am delighted that everything was to your comfort and enjoyment. Indeed I very much hope to have the opportunity and pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes...

228 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (106)
Viewed
Dorm Six Beds Mix (8)
Viewed
Dorm Ten Beds Mix (12)
Viewed
Double Room (18)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)
Viewed
Triple Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 km away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
#59 of 578 in Hanoi
996 reviews
0.2 km away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#172 of 578 in Hanoi
186 reviews
0.6 km away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#54 of 578 in Hanoi
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.8 km away
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
#11 of 334 in Hanoi
457 reviews
0.5 km away
Little Hanoi Hostel
Little Hanoi Hostel
#10 of 334 in Hanoi
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to May De Ville Backpackers, a hostel with all the furnishings of a five star hotel. Built in 2011, right in the heart of the old quarter of Hanoi, it makes it makes a clean and convenient base from which to explore this exciting city. Spacious six bed dorms with air conditioning and en suite bathrooms as standard. Private double, twin or family rooms, which are all attractively furnished and come with added touches of luxury including big and comfortable beds, LCD televisions and a personal laptop. Free WiFi on every floor and a bank of computers in the lobby keep you connected with friends and family. Complimentary buffet breakfast which includes a wide selection of pastries, fruit, cold and hot meats and eggs cooked to your liking. American pool table, darts' board and cinema room with access to hundreds of great movies. 24 hour security guard to keep you safe, as well as security cameras and electronic key access to all the rooms. For your valuables there’s a safe in each room, while the dorms have secure lockers. In every sense you’ll sleep soundly at May De Ville Backpackers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about May De Ville Backpackers Hostel

Address: 1 Hai Tuong Lane, 24 Ta Hien Str | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Price Range: RM49 - RM527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — May De Ville Backpackers Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your May De Ville Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from May De Ville Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from May De Ville Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you book a room, get one up to the 8th floor as the 9th floor (where my room was) had no elevator so I had to use the stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles Jonah_002, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles t_erwan, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles jhonytomas, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Up seven floor have nice view”
 of 5 bubbles Daisy200789, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had the second floor and it was fine, however the higher the floor the less noise and better view”
 of 5 bubbles jona49, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5