We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 114: English reviews
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Good value for money and very central to old quarter. Clean rooms as well which is always a bonus. Free wifi. I stayed here at the start of my tour with GAdventures and found the staff to be really helpful at the front desk, where they provide maps for us.

Helpful?
Thank AshleighLN
Hongngochotelgroups, Manager at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AshleighLN, Thanks for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review of your stay with us. We are pleased to learn you had a good stay and our staff were very friendly and helpful . I hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Hanoi in the future. Kind regards, Hong Ngoc Hotels Management team More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Only stay one night. Arrive late and left early morning. They opened breakfast early for us. Room was clean and the bed was great. Bathroom was so nice. Wish I stay here longer. Breakfast had lots of chooses.

Helpful?
Thank 7ria
Hongngochotelgroups, Sales & Reservation Department at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your comments We hope to welcome you next time Have a nice day Thanks & Best Regards Ms Dao Thi Thuong More 

Budel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Hong Ngoc is a good hotel close to the center of Hanoi. The rooms are good and quite big, the service is good and the staff is very friendly. Breakfast is ok, but the food choise is minimal. The restaurant is too small for all guests that stay in the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Joost V
Hongngochotelgroups, Sales & Reservation Dept at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your feedback We will try our best to improve our menu for breakfast as well as rearranging of restaurant for how our guests can feel comfortable when they stay here Thanks & Best Regards Ms Dao Thi Thuong More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Staying in this hotel as part of a tour and I can quite honestly stay I have NEVER stayed in a hotel this bad!! Whilst the actual hotel is okay, the lady on reception is awful! She is rude, ignorant and will not help you in the slightest! She doesn't deserve to work there! I have stayed in many different... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rea21100
Hongngochotelgroups, Sales & Reservation Department at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for writing comments On behalf of Hong Ngoc hotel, we would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you met during your stay here After receiving the email related to your feedbacks, We have investigate the incident and checked all with our staffs at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel We are very surprised and sorry... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

We stay here just for one night due to cancellation of our cruise. The location is ok, in the middle of everything. The lady in the reception was not very nice. Our room was in the 3rd floor, very small, horrible window view and really really old. Nevertheless, the room was clean. It seems like a hostel, lots of young... More 

Helpful?
Thank Guada R
Hongngochotelgroups, Sales & Reservation Department at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for writing feedback On behalf of Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, we would like to sincerely apologise for any inconvenience we made for you About the room, in fact that most of hotelsl in the Hanoi Old Quarter serve rooms with slightly small size because of the limit of of the area in this crowded... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The rooms themselves are not very large, however the decor and layout is very tasteful for the style of the room. The beds themselves are exceptionally comfortable. The rooms come equipped with a TV, air conditioning, complementary water and tea making facilities. There is ample space in the wardrobe and plenty of draw... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
Hongngochotelgroups, Sales & Reservation Department at Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for spending time on writing feedback We appriciate your comments about the hotel's room and services We hope to welcome you back another time Have a nice day Ms Dao Thi Thuong More 

Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel has really unfriendly staff. I'm travelling with a groep and they constantly asked me where my friend was when I wanted to get into the room. On top of that they told me several times I could not be in that room. At night they didn't bother to open the front door either, even though they saw me... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchgirl6819472
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

I can't say enough! Perfect location, we walked the entire city in 2 days, in the centre of old town, close to everything you need! Staff was amazing and helpful, even upgraded us to the suite for free! I'm vegetarian and Gluten Intolerant but plenty of options for breakfast. Highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Tegan Phillipa R
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights as a part of a 20 day G Adventure tour. This was the best hotel we stayed at on the entire tour! The rooms were small but quaint, clean, and quiet. They were also nicely decorated! The staff at the front desk have a great sense of humour and are very helpful. They learned which... More 

Helpful?
Thank rfitz537
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

I loved this hotel. It was clean, big enough with great buffet breakfast. Highly recommended in the capital. Very good location in the Old Quarter, everything is in a good walking distance. The staff is nice and helpful. Wi-fi works fine but sometimes looses the connection.

Helpful?
Thank Szabin

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 km away
Hong Ngoc Dynastie Hotel
Hong Ngoc Dynastie Hotel
#133 of 573 in Hanoi
328 reviews
0.1 km away
La Dolce Vita Hotel
La Dolce Vita Hotel
#127 of 573 in Hanoi
302 reviews
0.1 km away
Green Mango Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hanoi Golden Moment Hotel
1.2 km away
Hong Ngoc Cochinchine
Hong Ngoc Cochinchine
#179 of 573 in Hanoi
197 reviews
0.1 km away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
#10 of 573 in Hanoi
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At Hong Ngoc hotel group, we are proud to provide one of the most exclusive hotels in central Hanoi.At Hong Ngoc Tonkin, we will offer you a drive back to the 19th century to explore the hidden charm of the Vietnamese culture. Located overlooking the glittering Hoan Kiem lake and the famous Water Puppet theater, Hong Ngoc Tonkin is an ideal choice for travelers looking to explore a highly exclusive experience in the historical, energetic entertainment and shopping areas. Our 40 guestrooms offer some marvelous view of the city and they all have a high contemporary design blending seamlessly with period architectural features. These elements have made Hong Ngoc Tonkin become a luxury hotel and a beautifully preserved piece of history. In addition, our restaurant has a superb reputation with a wide range of selective Western and Vietnamese cuisine and our Hong Ngoc spa is a serene retreat for effective therapy. We believe our unique and outstanding service will make this luxury hotel a destination in its own right. Welcome back! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel

Address: 14 Luong Van Can St | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hong Ngoc 2 Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Price Range: RM129 - RM290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Ngoc Hanoi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms near the end of the hallways are quieter than in the middle”
 of 5 bubbles Quinntology, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in Room 402 with two twin beds”
 of 5 bubbles 834leahj, 5 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Clean rooms, kind staff, witty manager, interesting location”
 of 5 bubbles yuzurus2015, 23 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Choose a suite at the front. Even though it was a suite the price was very reasonable.”
 of 5 bubbles chewat, 8 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Try to get a room at the very front of the hotel i.e. looking out onto the street, or at the very back, as these rooms are generally bigger.”
 of 5 bubbles Gabs98, 26 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay