We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao
See the most recent reviews
Showing 304: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Travelling all around Vietnam and love this peaceful country but when I arrived to Ho Chi Minh city, many things happened. First, I just came to wrong hostel and really stayed there, I dont know why but when I read my name and the staff there tell that I had a reservation ?! Luckily I just found out it soon... More 

Helpful?
Thank DominicGrant
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us your wonderful feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed the experience at Saigonbackpackers Hostel We are so pleased that you have a great time with us and used the most of all our facilities We are sorry that you have problem while you were looking for our hostel. It is... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2015

We traveled as a couple and booked a private room. I was pleasantly surprised. Big room, huge bed (it fits like, 5 people). Great value for what we payed! Free breakfast was pretty good as well. Would come back

Helpful?
1 Thank Bellepham
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice review! we are very happy to hear that you enjoy our big room, huge bed...at Saigon Backpackers hostel. We hope you have a great travels and look forward to welcoming you back to our hostel Best Regards More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2015

I stayed in this hostel back in 2013 and forgot to ever review it. Since then I have recommended it to many other friends who have travelled asia recently and have all loved it as a cosy little stop before they move on up to northern asia. Its friendly laid back any very clean. And I have extremely fond memorys... More 

Helpful?
Thank jamie B
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao, responded to this review

What a pleasure to receive your very favorable review of Saigon Backpackers Hostel. Thank you so much for your recommendation for us as the top choice of accommodation and particularly highlighting our warm welcome and lovely cosy rooms and relaxed atmosphere....we really appreciated that you recommended us to other travellers and so happy that you have a good memory about... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2015

When we arrived at this hostel, they were painting the lobby and that basically captures the place in a nutshell. There is no common space whatsoever, except a gross little kitchen and a very beaten-up pool table that was being used by the painters to hold their stuff. The dorms are dark, dank and unappealing and there is no backpack... More 

Helpful?
Thank Psd1234
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry you had problems during your stay at Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We normally don't have problems . However it took us some day to renovate the hostel. We hope you had a great time in the rest travel Sincerely More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed it , the beds were clean, the staff friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was delicious and cooked right in front of you. The common area is small but had a pool table and a huge selections of movies. The beds are a bit noisy but not to bad. There is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha N
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao, responded to this review

What a pleasure to receive your very favorable review of Saigon Backpackers Hostel. Thank you so much for your recommendation for us as the top choice of accommodation and particularly highlighting our clean bed and bathroom , helpful and friendly staff, delicious breakfast...I am sorry about little noisy you have when staying in our hostel. I sincerely hope to see... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

Rooms were very clean and lockers are very spacious with enough room to fit my rucksack and more. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The only downside was the was no real central communal area to meet other backpackers

Helpful?
Thank rachelglutenfree
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao, responded to this review

Dear rachelglutenfree Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback! Thank you so much for your recommend us as a top choice of accomodation and particularly highlighting our clean room, spacious lockers and friendly staff. They are very happy to hear your kindly words. We wish you have a great time during of the rest travel and look forward to... More 

Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

Very nice hostel, clean, spent 3nights in the 4bed dorm, it was exactly what we expected from a backpacker's hostel. The staff was very helpful. If you want to book tours, then go to Venus Hostel, Romeo will get you all the best deals (cu chi tunnels, Mekong delta,...)

Helpful?
Thank Felie1612
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao, responded to this review

Dear Felie Thank you very much for your nice review! we are very happy to hear that you enjoy our helpful staff at Saigon Backpackers hostel. If you want to have any information, you can ask our receptionists to have more information. We are always ready to help you. We hope you have a great time in Ho Chi Minh... More 

Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

Not a pretty hostel, but you get what you pay for. Which is almost nothing. There was never toilet paper in the bathrooms, and the common area was to small tables by the reception. Even though it wasn't a pretty sight for the eyes, we stayed there for two nights and it was ok.

Helpful?
Thank Katriiine
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao, responded to this review

Dear Katriiine Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We're sorry you had problems during your stay at Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We normally don't have problems because we check the rooms every day. If you have any problem you can come to ask the receptionists.... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. No toilet paper, soap or towels for our stay here. Simple, but friendly place to stay. Not much space to hang our. But it was really cheap, so you cant expect too much. Our AC did not work at first, but they fixed it..

Helpful?
Thank Ingrid N
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao, responded to this review

Dear Ingrid N Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We are please that you found out friendly place. We're sorry you had problems during your stay at Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We normally don't have problems because we deliver toilet paper to all rooms every... More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2015

I was there for 3 nights and I liked it very well. While it was difficult to get there first, since it is in a small side street, but it is also quiet. The staff is very helpful and courteous. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. Highlight are the beds which are very wide, which is unusual in hostels. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Octavia C
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao, responded to this review

Dear Octavia C Thank you very much for your nice feedback! We are so pleased that you have a great time with us and used the most of all our facilities. We are very happy that you found out our helpful and courteous staffs, wide beds... Thank you for your endorsement of our best location and excellent service. We hope... More 

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (19)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (66)
Viewed
Dormitory Room (11)
Viewed
Private Double Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
48.3 km away
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
#2 of 431 in Ho Chi Minh City
396 reviews
0.4 km away
Saigon Youth Hostel
Saigon Youth Hostel
#25 of 431 in Ho Chi Minh City
210 reviews
0.0 km away
Long Hostel
Long Hostel
#1 of 431 in Ho Chi Minh City
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
New Saigon Hostel
New Saigon Hostel
#3 of 431 in Ho Chi Minh City
254 reviews
0.0 km away
Saigon Backpackers Hostel - Cong Quynh
Saigon Backpackers Hostel - Cong...
#12 of 431 in Ho Chi Minh City
192 reviews
0.3 km away
VietNam Inn Saigon
VietNam Inn Saigon
#30 of 431 in Ho Chi Minh City
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Saigon Backpackers Hostel Chain has been the first hostels in Ho Chi Minh City since 2009. Inspired by the energetic spirit of our guests, Saigon Backpackers Hostels is our latest and nicest hostel addition to Saigon's active backpackers' scene. Our hostels are located at the fringe of the city. To several budget travelers who just cannot get enough of Saigon, it's no secret that Saigon Youth hostel has the best location that you may ask for. The city center is just 5 minutes on foot. And just stone throw away is the Bui Vien street, another great area to explore. You will be stimulated by choices of Saigonese cuisine in the vicinity. It is undeniable that wonderful selections of food that can be nice alfresco roadside dinning and variety of restaurants, cafes and bars. At Saigon Backpackers hostel, we trust the environment will be the perfect place for you, foreign travelers, to meet friends from all over the world. We are obsessed in ensuring that our guests get more than just a bed with us with cozy atmosphere with color themed room design of Saigon culture. Saigon Youth hostel is a good place to feel home away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao

Address: 373/20 Pham Ngu Lao | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: RM54 - RM94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles tieu112, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“It is easy to get from the airport if you. An find the alley it's hidden. ”
 of 5 bubbles danieleaA9374UC, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“they have pool table”
 of 5 bubbles levy101009, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Dont book on the 5th floor, wi fi doesnt work”
 of 5 bubbles LymEumir, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the second floor are cozy and cool”
 of 5 bubbles jedsadaboudin, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay