We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,392 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,291: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was supposed to stay in the Mad Monkey hostel for 2 days but decided to stay longer. The dorms are spacious and clean, the service is outstanding and the social activities in the bar, makes it very easy for solo travelers to meet new people! Nonetheless, i would like to say a big thank you to all the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Bif spacious room. High ceiling to make it look more spacious. I stayed in a dorm. ATM facility at reception. Swimming pool filled with bikini cladded girls :) .. like always. Awesome party floor. All in all very nice stay. Food could be cheaper. I found food to be on expensive side.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav G
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

For the cheap price the hostel is good, has a pool and various bars and a restaurant. Little noisy in the room from the bar but luckily kicking out time is midnight was quiet after that. Whilst we stayed here they offered a BBQ which was amazing. Food and drinks are expensive compared to many other places.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bonnie s
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Mad Monkey guys will ensure you a great stay whilst in Cambodia. Rooms are comfortable and the hostel really central! It has a great little chill out pool to enjoy the sum with a beer or 2 then when the sunsets go up to the rooftop bar to carry on the party. Make sure you take advantage of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ty1976
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

We are very appreciative of your kind review! We trust you’ll have an awesome time on the rest of your trip. Thanks again and don’t be a stranger :) Thank you for staying at our socially responsible hostel.

Pangasinan
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hallway of every floor in the building has cool and vibrant mural paintings and graffiti. I stayed in an 8-bed dorm room with en-suite toilet and bath equipped with hot and cold shower. The room has a balcony that is also connected to another room. Lockers are below the lower bunk just bring locks as the staff doesn't provide one....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rjdexplorer
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

It was fantastic to have you here, RK :) You enjoy your next adventure and we shall see you again soon we hope :-) Thank you for staying at our socially responsible hostel.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We arrived at 10pm and at the inconvenient time of a downpour of rain. We were unable to pay on the card we had and we had to go out in the rain to get cash - they had our passport details and we were clearly going to pay. It would of been nice to have had a bit of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gemvms
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in the female dorm above the restaurant and under the bar. The room was clean enough, bed was soft and clean, a towel was not included. I was looking forward to staying here and meeting people but unfortunately I got sick. I had no other choice but to stay in bed for most of the time. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Winnerwithoutther
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Like what I have said to the previous review, we always value all the comments here left by our guests. Yours is one of those. Towel is free but you'll have to give a deposit of a few dollars which will be returned back to you when you check out. We used to just hand it over to guests without...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel dorms were basic, the rooms were clean, the beds comfy enough and high top bunks. The staff were friendly. The bar however had decent prices and nice drinks. However one of the hostel workers, a woman from Mozambique I think. Was rude and aggressive. Constantly interrupted groups having conversations, forcing a divide between males and females on a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thebackpacker77
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Hi thebackpacker77, thank you for sending your review. We value all comments here and we make sure we do proper action about it. I apologize for the not - so - good experience with one of our staff. I have already called the attention of everyone to know who that is and I will make sure this is not going...

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel was my favourite throughout my travels around South East Asia. The facilities here are superb (great bar most importantly), and the staff are very friendly. Being a solo traveller, I was grateful to find a friend in a staff member named Henri. Unlike most other hostel promoters I have ran into during my travels, he took time to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mchapman9043
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

It was an absolute delight having you stay here with our team at The Mad Monkey. We wish you the very best for your onward trip :-) Thank you for staying at our socially responsible hostel.

Brunswick, Ohio
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I didn't enjoy the Phnom Penh hostel as much as the one in Siem Reap, but for a city hostel, it was still nice. The bar on the top floor had a cool vibe and a great lounge room. Our dorm was right next door to it so extremely loud, but the bar closes at midnight. The stairs were really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us, Maria. You will see that we do take care to read and consider every review we get. I have forwarded this to our manager to see where need to fill the gap. You can always ask our staff to help you find you a dorm bed with plug outlets that are working...

296 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (223)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (73)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 km away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 268 in Phnom Penh
995 reviews
1.6 km away
The Billabong Hotel
The Billabong Hotel
#23 of 268 in Phnom Penh
839 reviews
2.9 km away
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
#4 of 193 in Phnom Penh
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#3 of 193 in Phnom Penh
206 reviews
1.1 km away
Aura Thematic Hostel
Aura Thematic Hostel
#9 of 193 in Phnom Penh
169 reviews
4.1 km away
One Up - Banana Hotel
One Up - Banana Hotel
#1 of 326 in Phnom Penh
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mad Monkey Phnom Penh is an awesome Hostel now boasting a brand NEW swimming Pool with a great vibe, good food and an active bar. It is a hotspot for European and US Travelers looking for an awesome place to stay in the Penh!We have friendly staff, a positive attitude and a selection of great bars serving up over 40 cocktails. If you are looking for a hotel experience with all of the mod cons like TV in the room we are probably not for you - but if you are looking to stay in a friendly clean, well run, good fun hostel with the opportunity to meet other travelers at the bar then we could just be your perfect choice. All You Need Is Love! THE MAD MONKEY TEAM ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh

Address: Street 302, Building 26, Phnom Penh BKK1, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Price Range: RM58 - RM67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mad Monkey Hotel Phnom Penh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms/dorms in the reception/pool building are far quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles travish328, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“party hostel, restaurant in the hostel, swimming pool,”
 of 5 bubbles miriams526, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms r good .”
 of 5 bubbles ngataih, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for low floor rooms if you have big bags to carry No complimentary breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles angievic101, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Dont stay on the top floor above the Bar ;)”
 of 5 bubbles Niamhy_dee, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay