We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh
See the most recent reviews
Showing 215: English reviews
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2016

One experience with this hotel and the owner is negative. We booked this hotel in May 2015. The rooms rates were quoted to us in US dollars but no requirement to give credit card details. A few days out I emailed for confirmation of rates as on line prices were less than half quoted price. Management did not answer my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Terrace04
Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Great place for relaxing in the city. Really beautiful house and terrace. Nice served breakfast. My reason for not giving 5 stars: Our children didn't like the cold pool, which looked really inviting.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea1234562015
Yin A, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for your review of the place and we hope that you will visit with us again sometime soon- More 

Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
429 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2016

This is an old colonial style building, probably of 50s vintage. Our room (Hemmingway) was nice and I suspect that there were some nicer. Our bathroom sink was a triumph of style over practicality, with no plug, a shallow basin and a high tap that meant that every time you turned it on you could not avoid splashing your stomach!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TauntonBob
Yin A, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for your review of the facility. It's a great way for the hotel to learn about where we can improve in service, selection, and value. We will investigate the details of your evaluation to try and make it better for future travellers. I am sorry that you did not have an exceptional experience and we... More 

South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2016

This hotel was full of character, very friendly helpful staff and a brilliant location in the heart of Phnom Penh. We stayed 2 nights, which was the right amount for us. The hotel is a little tired looking and the bathroom could have done with some attention, but it is an old building. If you want modern, this hotel is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Barry H
Yin A, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for the review of the hotel and its facilities. It provides the hotel with an opportunity to observe areas of improvement. The hotel is happy that your stay was pleasant and that you would stay here again. The hotel will review your evaluation in more detail and work on ways to improve in the areas... More 

Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2016

We didn't get off to a good start when they failed to collect us at the airport despite a confirming email 3 months previously and debiting my credit card with the fee 3 months in advance! Had to be chased by expensive UK mobile to come and get us and then the taxi dropped us off in the road outside... More 

Helpful?
Thank DJ62
Yin A, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your invaluable feedback. Your feedback helps the hotel to better learn in which areas we can improve to provide better service to your guests. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the very near future. More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2016

This house is absolutely gorgeous with a dark wood, interesting art and photography and a beautiful garden. Unfortunately I found it to be very poorly managed. Internet was very poor. Breakfast does not start until 7a.m. When there is a house full of people who have excursions, work, or traveling to do, that is too late. Everyone was down right... More 

Helpful?
Thank shanbkk
Yin A, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for sharing your review of the hotel. Your feedback helps the hotel to learn where we can improve in our service and/or our quality. I am sorry that you had a frustrating breakfast and a mediocre impression of the hotel but, I'm happy that you liked my team. Everyone does not agree with our deluxe... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

The building is amazing and full of character. We had 20 hours in town and the location was perfect being not far from the nightlife but an oasis of calm behind the gates. We arrived late in the evening and asked for a late checkout the next day so we could see the sights and have the room to shower... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff B
Yin A, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, On behalf of the personnel at The Governor's House Boutique Hotel we would like to say thank you for choosing us to stay with while in Phnom Penh and we hope that you will choose us again on future stays. We are relieved to learn that you had both a pleasurable stay and an outstanding experience. More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2016

we decided to go back to the The Governors House. The house / building is still very impressive - lots of wood, colonial style, great furnitures and beautiful decoration. Unfortunately the service was not good anymore. The new management of the hotel (some westerners) runs this place with no passion for the business. The voice is demanding, pushing, complaining or... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank thomas-mueller-zrh
Yin A, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your invaluable feedback. Your feedback helps the hotel to better learn in which areas we can improve to provide better service to your guests. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the very near future. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2015 via mobile

The Governor's House is a stunning boutique hotel about 10 mins from the crazy of central Phnom Penh. It offers a peaceful sanctuary after a day of sightseeing (which is much needed) in stunning surroundings. Our bedroom was beautifully decorated, the pool area was a wonderful surprise and breakfast very tasty. To top it all off the bar serves great... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle F
Yin A, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, Thank you so much for your review of the hotel and we are so thrilled to learn that you had an outstanding stay. We hope that you will visit with us again in the very near future. On behalf of the hotel, thank you for your stay- More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

Not been on trip advisor before but felt pretty strongly about our stay here so had to share it. This hotel is not of 4 star quality. We were put in the attic rooms which were boiling hot. It was 34oC outside and not much cooler in the room. There was a cheap & very small air con unit in... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlbaVJ
Yin A, General Manager at The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Valued Customer, I'm sorry to learn of your stay here at the hotel. This was before my time and the hotel is now working on various ways that we can improve the hotel. Thank you for your feedback and we will give it sincere consideration as we build forward to the future in improving each guests stay experience. More 

150 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
6:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.8 km away
The Villa Paradiso
The Villa Paradiso
#12 of 266 in Phnom Penh
726 reviews
0.6 km away
Anik Boutique Hotel
Anik Boutique Hotel
#68 of 266 in Phnom Penh
90 reviews
0.5 km away
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
#4 of 266 in Phnom Penh
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Palm Boutique Hotel & Residence
3.2 km away
La Maison d'Ambre
La Maison d'Ambre
#31 of 266 in Phnom Penh
265 reviews
0.5 km away
Anik Boutique Hotel and Spa
Anik Boutique Hotel and Spa
#74 of 266 in Phnom Penh
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Governor's House boutique hotel in Phnom Penh - the most luxurious and exclusive place in Phnom Penh.The Governor’s House is an exclusive boutique hotel with 12 rooms in an elegant colonial-style mansion located in the heart of BoeungKeng Kang I (BKK I), an area which is known as the best residential area in downtown Phnom Penh, located just a 10 minute drive from the Riverfront. The hotel is only a short drive to the Independence Monument, the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda and the National Museum.The hotel was once home to a senator of Phnom Penh and is an old style architectural beauty; tastefully furnished with all original colonial antiques. The hotel shows the exquisite taste in the interior design as directed by the owner, an award winning and internationally recognised interior designer. This boutique hotel offers a perfect balance of colonial style elements combined with modern amenities. With three stories in a Victorian style building, the hotel is inspired by the Asian architectural treasures of ‘The Strand Hotel’ of Yangon, ‘The Raffles Grand d’Angkor Cambodia" of Phnom Penh and the ‘Oriental Hotel’ of Bangkok while still maintaining its originality. The owner recognises the needs of the 21st century business traveller and offers free wi-fi, daily newspapers and an excellent 24 hour concierge.The Governor's House offers an outdoor pool, a restaurant offering breakfast (a la carte menu), lunch and dinner with both outdoor and indoor seating, and balcony space to relax and enjoy the views. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh

Address: Villa 3, Mao Tse Tung Blvd | Sangkat Boeung Keng Kong I, Khan Chamkarmorn, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Price Range: RM357 - RM728 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#17 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#24 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Governors House Boutique Hotel Phnom Penh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel doesn't have an elevator, so don't take the top floor rooms if you aren't comfortable with stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 738ekaterinac, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Good base and makes you feel at home”
 of 5 bubbles andrewwK7123ZD, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Staff were friendly and helpful”
 of 5 bubbles Terrace04, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
“room 3: view to the pool”
 of 5 bubbles thomas-mueller-zrh, 2 Jan 2016 | Read review
“really liked The Spa Landmark room. Great bathtub!”
 of 5 bubbles Secret_Paradise_Res, 13 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay