We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sapphire Hotel

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sapphire Hotel
Sapphire Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sapphire Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 175: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 2 February 2017

This hotel is situated very close to commercial area which shopping very easy. Hotel has very friendly staff, good room service, big rooms, clean bed sheets, big beds and small but clean bathrooms. Many channels on their local television network.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kamalaveni5
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your positive comments and it’s a great pleasure to have you as our esteemed guest. We are eagerly waiting to serve you better on your next trip to Sri Lanka. Sincerely yours, Rooms Division Manager

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We stayed here just for few hours before our departure to the airport. The rooms were neat, good sized and decent. We used the outdoor pool and it was ok and well maintained. Good location of the hotel with easy access to beach and local shops and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nidhiya J
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your wonderful review and the honest feeling about the hotel conveyed to all the viewers. Longing to see you once again! Sincerely yours, Rooms Division Manager.

Male
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Its a average hotel . The new rooms are good but you will be very unlucky if u get the old rooms which are not one well. The rooms are large with good bedding and also the toilets are small. U will find a lot of weddings going on at the ballroom of the hotel . Staff are good and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sinanibrahim786
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Many thanks for your comments and looking forward to seeing you once again here. Sincerely yours, Rooms Division Manager

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

The pool was not very well maintained and the breakfast buffet had very limited options. But the hotel staff were friendly and cooperative. The rooms were neat and tidy. It is quite far from the airport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dechamma M
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for the review and the negative areas will be looked into accordingly. But regret to note that the breakfast we serve is for superior to Ok for 3 star hotels and for the benefit of the reviewers we mention below our breakfast menu. o Boiled eggs, o Omelets, Masala Omelets, Cheese Omelets and any kind of...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We stayed in this hotel as soon as we reached Srilanka for a day. It is a very nice hotel with big and spacious rooms. In the heart of the city and yet very peaceful. A family of 4 can easily stay in the rooms. Bathrooms are great as well. Highly recommend this place for a short stay in Colombo...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sowmya s
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Many thanks for your wonderful review and the message conveyed to all the viewers disclosing your honest feelings about the hotel; longing to see you again. Sincerely yours Rooms Division Manager

Markham, Ontario
Reviewed 3 January 2017

I wanted a hotel with good internet and gym, both failed. Internet speed and connection was horrible, unable to complete a task. The gym picture on the website is misleading, only one treadmill, which doesn't work and I was told that the circuit board needs to be replaced. The stationary bicycle needs oiling, the left pedal makes a screeching noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pradeepan A
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Many thanks for your positive comments and the negative comments of the Gym and the WiFi issues will be taken care of the benefit of all other customers. Sincerely yours Rooms Division Manager

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 1 January 2017

I stayed in this hotel for a night. I went with my wife there on a package trip. This place is not so great and not a bad one either. A decent one and a well maintained. Since Colombo is a business center, can't expect great in Mid-range. There is separate restaurant attached to it. For Indians, it is better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SrikanthSrinivas
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your positive comments and we are certainly eagerly waiting to serve you on your next trip to Sri Lanka. Sincerely yours Rooms Division Manager

Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Way too expensive for what you get. Galle Road is horrible for traffic & you hear it throughout the night. In December when the wedding season is on, absolute nightmare thumping music till 3am which even drowns out the traffic!! Staff speak very poor English so getting yourself understood is yet another challenge! Barely slept, never again & would not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anusha V
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your review and unfortunately we cannot attend to some of the gray areas you have mentioned such as traffic and sound pollution which are beyond our control. However, the points you have mentioned about our staff speaking poor English will be attended to immediately. Sincerely yours Rooms Division Manager

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Hotel is situated on the main Colombo road & during the evenings it's a ruckus on the streets. Well if you are a Mumbaikar then ideally you should be used to the same. Overall an ok hotel to live in as all amenities are available if not in the hotel premises then certainly nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vian_44
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Many thanks for your review and we are ever so grateful for disclosing the positive areas of the hotel for the benefit of other travelers. Sincerely yours Rooms Division Manager

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Returned to the Sapphire, having enjoyed four-five day stays at least 3 times in the past four years. Previously had considered it to be a decent hotel- plain and simple but with good service in a fairly central location. This visit unfortunately was cut short. I had planned to stay for 3 nights. The first night I saw a HUGE...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Elle4
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your review and regret to note that you have not enjoyed your holiday at our hotel due to cockroaches. We do accept that there had been a lapse on our part due to the pest control service was in operation on that particular day. It is a fact that soon after the pest control service,...

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (93)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.9 km away
Global Towers Hotel
Global Towers Hotel
#31 of 50 in Colombo
330 reviews
0.4 km away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
0.4 km away
Mirage Hotel Colombo
Mirage Hotel Colombo
#32 of 50 in Colombo
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#26 of 50 in Colombo
253 reviews
0.7 km away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#23 of 50 in Colombo
128 reviews
0.2 km away
Omega Regency
Omega Regency
#39 of 50 in Colombo
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Sapphire Hotel

Address: 371 Galle Road, Colombo 00600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Price Range: RM246 - RM414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sapphire Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sapphire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Colombo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sapphire Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Sapphire Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room you choose will be below standard!”
ThiruJeeva, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Good hotel for a reasonable price.”
mySriLankaVisitF2017, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“As for a quiet room”
snras93, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you have a choice choose a room away from the main street due noise of motor vehicles”
Kamalaveni5, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Standard rooms would be fine.”
nidhiyaj, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5