We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Taru Villas - Lake Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

685 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 554: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is ideally located in Colombo in a secure and safe neighborhood. We had breakfast on two occasions and dinner once, the food was very good and the service excellent. Staff and service are good in this hotel * Poor Customer Service Experience*. Our son sat on top on the toilet lid and it cracked. We brought this to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greenhar
TaruVillas, General Manager at Taru Villas - Lake Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Greenhar, Thank you for taking the time to review Taru Villas – Lake Lodge, and for the positive feedback. We truly value the opinions of all our guests. I would like to start off by thanking you for listing the positive aspects of your stay. Having gone through your review, I do regret the issue that you faced during...

London
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a perfect start to our holiday here. A wonderful big room, comfortable bed and a really nice shower. We had our own cute little courtyard as well. You can walk around easily and the staff are really helpful. Airport pickup was smooth and the ice lollipop on arrival delicious and refreshing! We will be back for our last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NSDLondon
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

* location: Lovely little place in the center of town near gangaramaya temple. About an hour from the airport. Lkr 200-300 to Galle face green area by tuk tuk. * rooms: standard rooms with TV, some mozzies. Overall a very pleasant place and they've tried to accommodate everything we needed as we've traveled with an infant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved this hotel as soon as we saw it. We received a warm welcome and were shown to a lovely room. Staff were friendly and attentive and the Sri Lankan curry was our first. Looking back it was the best one of the holiday! Unfortunately we had to leave very early in the morning so missed out on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tdthomas1
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On a quiet spot by the lake this place offers fine comfortable spacious minimalist rooms with nice bathrooms attached. Friendly cheerful efficiënt service and a curry and breakfast to die for. Just what you need after a long flight, and all this at an unbeatable price. Twice as good and a third of the price of the neighbouring Trump-like venue.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coenwessels
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in Colombo a few times already and only this time i stumbled upon to this great place. It is in the middle of the city near the lake, so everything close by to reach, but is is not on a main road and at night time you don't hear any loud street noises - perfect for some relaxation....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrYa4268
Sydney
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My adult daughter and I stayed at the Lake Lodge for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our stay. Ground floor rooms were reasonably priced, immaculately clean, extremely comfortable and a great design. Chic polished concrete floors, funky well designed bathrooms, fantastic and a terrific built in 'sofa,' along one wall - so practical. Most importantly - comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We couldn't of picked a better place for our first night. Arrived hot and tired off the plane to ice lollies and friendly welcomes. The hotel and service is faultless. Enjoyed a tasty dinner and breakfast on the balcony. You can hear the excitement of the city around you. We thought we would go out and explore the city after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire_Toby
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Lake Lodge in October twice over 10 days. They have beautifully presented rooms in a modernist style we stayed in 3 of their rooms and all were very, very good. Very friendly and professional staff high quality food and service from the restaurant. Thoroughly recommended except that it is not particularly close by foot to restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SP5658
Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay at Lake lodge hotel. It is like a small oasis in the middle of the big city. The service is excellent and food in the restaurant superb! We even stayed several evenings at the hotel for dinner as it was much better than at the big hotels. We have been in Colombo many times before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amariaw

488 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (246)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (69)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (79)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (227)
Viewed
Double Room with Extra Bed (30)
Viewed
First Floor Double Room (37)
Viewed
Garden Suite (51)
Viewed
Ground Floor Double Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.3 km away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 45 in Colombo
1,319 reviews
1.1 km away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.7 km away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
1.9 km away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 45 in Colombo
645 reviews
1.2 km away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 45 in Colombo
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
in March 2009, Nayantara Fonseka, also known as Taru, helms the re-opening of Lake Lodge, a 13-room Bed & Breakfast Budget Hotel that has been owned by her family for over 40 years. Down a quiet residential lane in the heart of commercial Colombo, Lake Lodge was one of the first accredited Tourist accommodations in Sri Lanka, which Taru has refurbished with her usual creative flair & inimitable style. Your ‘home away from home’ while in Sri Lanka, whether for a few days of holiday or a month on business, Lake Lodge will be run in the typically friendly yet professional manner that she successfully spearheaded for several years with her Taru Villas boutique hotels.•12 + 1 stylish ensuite Double Rooms with all modern conveniences (King sized beds, AC, H/C Showers, and Cable TV etc).•FREE – Wi-Fi •Spacious Lounge areas + 2 large terraces with view over park & lake. •Breakfast Bar•As well as providing our guests with a delightful lunch and dinner menu, our Chefs are also available to prepare any meal to your individual requirement•Licensed Bar. •Guest Laundry, Left Luggage, Safety Deposit, Fax, Airport Transfer, Taxi Service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Taru Villas - Lake Lodge

Address: 20 Alvis Terrace, Colombo 03000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Price Range: RM464 - RM585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taru Villas - Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Taru Villas - Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Colombo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Taru Villas - Lake Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bournemouth, England
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Taru Villas - Lake Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our ground floor room was great.”
 of 5 bubbles tdthomas1, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms were very good.”
 of 5 bubbles SP5658, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room number 12 is upstairs. We had number 1 which was small but fine.”
  • Very comfortable
 of 5 bubbles ilTouristico, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I was in a ground floor room, which was cheaper than 1st floor. No idea why because it was quiet and fine.”
 of 5 bubbles mscarollewis, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles barbaramB6150JB, 4 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay