We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Metropolis Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Metropolis Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Metropolis Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 84: English reviews
Nice, France
Reviewed 4 July 2015

I had enjoyable 5 nights in this cute hostel.Very friendly staff of the hostel and nice people that ı met in this place turned up my istanbul visit beyond my expectations, Very nice free breakfast served on the roof overlooking boshphorus,Location of the hostel was very central and it was in walking distance to most of the populer places in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lefepre h
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 29 June 2015

I stayed here for 5 nights. This is the awesome place to stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. From the day one, I felt comfortable here. They provided me great amount tips and information on Istanbul. The rooms are neat and clean, and of decent size. The terrace has a great view, and comfy seatings. Every morning breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlienTraveller1978
Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

Nice rooms, small, clean, good shower- all you need for exploring Istanbul. Very close to Hagia Sophia and other attractions. Staff were always helpful and breakfast on the terrace was a great start to the day.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle L
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 27 June 2015

I was traveling with a friend who has a jewish family name and during check-in the staff (or owner??) made some really rude and unwarranted remarks about jewish people, to which my friend just ignored. Then when I asked about what time is breakfast, he laughed and asked "You want rice? chicken feet?" (I'm half-asian). Needless to say we immediately...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nancy D
travelhard72, Manager at Metropolis Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Lovely Guest who actually never steped into the Metropolis Hostel, After reading your review we basicly scaned all the security cams that located at reception ( Guest mentioned that she has arrived in May so we did not get lazy and we did scan whole records of the May ) and we realized that this is a made up...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 25 June 2015

Stayed here while backpacking in Europe. I found the staff extremely helpful and the daily breakfast included was great. The rooftop was totally amazing! The location was great for exploring the city and major sites.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anicka C
Paris
Reviewed 12 June 2015

Great location, very close to the major sites and in a quiet street. Very clean dorm and shared bathroom, breakfast is ok. Food is really expensive though, so I would suggest to go to another area. Staff is not particularly helpfullexcept if you are a woman traveling alone... all things considered, not a bad place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizoo777
Reviewed 11 June 2015

Young couple, We were there for 4 nights all together in a 4 bed dorm. The rooftop is totally amazing I could have sat up there all day !! Super close to all the hustle and bustle of the istanbul city ! The staff were so helpful when we were there and even when I left my jacket behind they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jbark22
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2015

We chose Metropolis Hostel because of it's location, and it certainly doesn't disappoint in that regard with Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, Roman Cisterns, Topkapi Palace, etc., etc., etc. just a few steps away. The hostel itself is simple and clean. The roof terrace has a great view and is a nice place to have breakfast or an afternoon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shelfields
Florianopolis, SC
Reviewed 8 June 2015

I've been there for three nights in a room for 4 people and I recomend. The location is really good, also good turkish breakfast. The balcony, as too much balconies in SultanAhmet give you a really nice view in the morning. Have your breakfast looking the bosforto. Later, just walk for 5 minutes to arrive in the heart of touristic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rodrigostupp
Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in a private room. Staff was very welcoming and answered all of my questions. They provided a suggested itinerary based on the number of days I would be staying. Room and bathrooms are all newly renovated with electronic key cards on the doors. Everything is cleaned daily kept in good condition. The bathrooms do smell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trippinpaul

167 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (107)
Viewed
Dorm Room (28)
Viewed
Double Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ararat Hotel
Ararat Hotel
#305 of 1,108 in Istanbul
26 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#4 of 1,163 in Istanbul
832 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Antique Hostel - Guest House
#24 of 1,163 in Istanbul
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#3 of 1,163 in Istanbul
708 reviews
Sultanahmet
Mytra Hotel
Mytra Hotel
#89 of 1,163 in Istanbul
51 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#15 of 1,163 in Istanbul
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Sultanahmet

Neighbourhood Profile
Sultanahmet
With so many unmissable attractions within a mere stroll of each other – and all set around the site of an ancient Byzantine hippodrome – Sultanahmet is an overwhelmingly popular tourist destination, and a prime location for visitors to be wowed on a truly epic scale. Beyond the wonders of the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, and more, this relatively small area of Istanbul somehow manages to retain an air of peace and calm. It offers visitors a significantly less celebrated but nonetheless pleasant network of quaint lanes and side streets, majestic panoramas of the Bosphorus, and an impressive assortment of accommodation options for all budgets and tastes.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
About Our Hostel,The entire hostel was completely renovated inside and out in November 2013. we put in new bathrooms, new beds (with an individual reading light and electrical outlet), new furniture, new floors and new decorations.We also installed new doors which close without making any noise, with electronic card locks for added securityWe offer high quality service at low prices for budget travellers. 'Run by travellers for travellers'. Metropolis Hostel is located in the historical old city of İstanbul. İt's just a few mins from the Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Topkapı Palace, Underground Cistern and Historical Turkish Baths... just 10 mins to Grand Bazaar and Spice (Eqyptian) Bazaar... just 30 mins to Taksim... and just 20 mins to Asian side by historical boat. Choose your bed from four bed or six bed mixed dorms, 6 bed female dorms, or double rooms with shared bathroom or ensuite. All double rooms have temperature control (air conditioned) and most rooms have stunning views of the Maramara Sea, the Bosphorous, Prince's İslands and the Asian shore. All rooms have comfy mattreses including dorm beds. Our hostel is very secure wıth 24 hour reception and a safe box in which you may store your valuables.Very clean and great showers with 24 hour running hot water. You can meet people from all around the world in our common areas. We have one covered common room as well as a roof top terrace area, both of which have great views of the Marmara sea, Blue Mosque, St. Sophia...you can eat your free breakfast on this great terrace. We also serve lunch, dinner and BBQ. Each week we host a BBQ party on our rooftop terrace, followed by a pub crawl to Taksim (the centre of nightlife and live music in İstanbul). You can try traditional and very tasty Turkish food at our famous associated BABYLONIA RESTAURANT (which is just 20 metres from our hostel and on the very busy and popular backpacker street). We have several computers and free internet for our guests and also wireless internet connection throughout the hostel. So, you can connect to the internet with your own notebook. We have a big screen television to watch cable tv to keep in touch wıth the world, watch movie channels, sports events.. Our travel agency can arrange all your travel needs wıth international-domestic flights, special city tours, dinner cruise by night, ANZAC tours (Troy & Gallipolli), Cappadocia, Ephesus, Pamukkale tours, belly dancing show with dinner (Turkish night) and Turkish bath. Our hostel is located near bus, tram and train transport. Our airport pick up servıce is 25 euros from ATATURK AİRPORT and 45 euros from SABİHA GOKCEN. OUR ENGLİSH, FRENCH AND SPANİSH SPEAKİNG STAFF WİLL TAKE CARE OF YOU TO MAKE YOUR STAY EVEN BETTER. THEY WILL ALSO İNFORM YOU ABOUT İSTANBUL AND TURKEY AND GİVE YOU A FREE MAP WHEN YOU ARRİVE ... more   less 

Additional Information about Metropolis Hostel

Address: Yeni Akbiyik Cad. Terbiyik Sok. No:24 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Price Range: RM80 - RM227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Metropolis Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel Istanbul
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Metropolis Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Metropolis Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“402 was quite and had good views”
 of 5 bubbles reneeej2016, 3 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Top floor rooms are the best - ensuite, great view, nicer beds.”
 of 5 bubbles 78fredericb, 7 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Ask about the shared bathrooms”
 of 5 bubbles frontr, 5 Sep 2015 | Read review
“recommend room 402”
 of 5 bubbles lucycubis, 17 Jul 2015 | Read review
“4 bed dorm is good as we filled 2 beds and its usually a couple or some quiet solo travelers”
 of 5 bubbles Jbark22, 10 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay