We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tanoa International Dateline Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 38: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the resort for two days. Rooms were clean and very comfortable...added bonus was the aircon. Pool was very warm...so couldnt get much relief there from the exteme tropical heat. Restaurant area near the pool was constantly dirty with chips and food on the ground. Tiles were either slippery or sticky. I nearly fell over in the pool area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonga1o60
Management response:

Malo Tonga Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us but thank you for your feedback all the same. With your reference to no coke being available in the hotel I can determine you must of stayed with us a month ago as this was when, due to bad weather, ships to Tonga were delayed and there was...

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you enjoy a destination where the hotel staff are genuine, friendly and eager to help you have a fantastic holiday then you have got to go to Tonga and stay at Tanoa Dateline. I have travelled throughout the Pacific and Tonga is a gem that few people know about.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rod577
Management response:

Malo Rod Your heading says it all. Once the word gets out about Tonga we look forward to sharing our unique brand of hospitality with the world. Regards Jason and the Dateline team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Extremely impressed with the new Tanoa hotel and staff. The service was fantastic the rooms were immaculate the facilities perfect and to top it of, the Manager Jason is the upmost professional who makes sure everything is 109% and more. I'll be back very soon! Max AFEPORT

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Max I
Management response:

Malo Max It was a pleasure meeting you as a first time visitor to the Kingdom. I obviously must have bought you a beer for you to wave my flag like this. It really is a team effort here at the Dateline and we look forward to improving on our early accomplishments. See you next trip Jason and the Dateline...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When you walk through the glass doors of the hotel, you can’t help but be impressed at the bright spacious and glamorous foyer, reception, bar and lounge area with friendly staff who are eager to help. The renovated the hotel has kept and maintained the old map of Tonga beautifully etched on the ground of the foyer. I had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Soana K
Management response:

Malo Soana I think we should make you our marketing manager! Your review captures the essence of the hotel and what we are trying to achieve. We now just have to continue to train and develop the team and maintain our vision to make Tonga the destination of choice in the Pacific. Regards Jason and the Dateline team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Professionally run Hotel , long overdue for Tonga, well done, great staff and food superb. Pool area a great seclusion from the hustle of the township. Rooms very clean modern and tidy. I used the gym which whilst basic was clean and had everything I wanted.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R2373QJmichaels
Management response:

Malo Michael There are obviously areas where we can improve so we look forward to welcoming you back and striving for that extra star review. Regards Jason and the Dateline team

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently spent 3 nights at the Tanoa Dateline, which has just emerged from a significant renovation (completed late last year). It now sets the benchmark for places to stay in the Kingdom of Tonga & is very definitely of an international standard. The rooms - which are modern, well appointed & clean - are complemented by the friendly, helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Champak M
Management response:

Malo Champak The Tanoa Hotel group looks forward to bringing its brand of hospitality to Tonga and increasing the profile of the destination. All the ingredients are here. Regards Jason and the Dateline team

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently stayed in this newly renovated Hotel. Firstly congratulations to the owners who have established this fine Hotel. Im sure it will contribute positively to Tonga. The Hotel itself was simply perfect, well priced , clean tidy and well appointed rooms . The food was very good with several bar areas to choose from ,a relaxing holiday awaits you....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stp2012
Management response:

Malo stp Finally we are officially open! We are glad that we were able to tick all the boxes during your recent stay. We look forward to you visiting again. Regards Jason and the Dateline team

Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were a walk-in booking of 3 rooms, after being booked at the hotel next door whilst travelling for business. Excellent front office staff - Teini, Bettylee and Saane, who made checking-in, seeing the accommodation options, viewing what the hotel had to offer and checking out, a great experience. Malo e leilei ladies for looking after us so very well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WanderingTraveller79
Management response:

Malo Wanderingtraveller The Tanoa Dateline certainly offers a different level of comfort but above all it seems our staff made the difference. Without them we are just concrete and steel. I will be sure to pass on your praises. Regards Jason and the Dateline team

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

We were here the first night the Tanoa open after renovation. The new look is fresh and a mixed of classic and modern. The renovated rooms are of good size, with comfortable beds, well appointed bathroom, and flat screen tv and air conditioning. The shower, however, is not well designed and the water flows into the whole bathroom. Restaurant was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MesaPuyo
Management response:

Malo Mesa Thank you for your feedback. We will check our system so we may identify the room you are referring to so we may address the problem you have brought to our attention. Otherwise we are glad you enjoyed our hotel and service. Regards Jason and the Dateline team

Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Every thing regarding our stay at Tanoa was nice and relaxed we were very impressed with the refurbishment of the hotel as long time users of the hotel this is by far the best it has ever been the pool area and gardens are lovely and peaceful and the overall standard of the rooms and entertaining areas are very acceptable.Jason...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David N
Management response:

Malo David We are glad you enjoyed the facilities and the professionalism of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you again and squeezing a five star review out of you. Regards Jason and the Dateline team

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuku'alofa
1.8 km away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
231 reviews
1.2 km away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
165 reviews
1.1 km away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
163 reviews
0.8 km away
Loumaile Lodge
Loumaile Lodge
#8 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
91 reviews
0.0 km away
White Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel offers a selection of superior accommodation located in the capital Nuku'alofa, with sensational facilities for leisure, conference, corporate and wedding guests. Located on the waterfront, with 124 rooms in total, Tanoa International Dateline Hotel can be used as your hub to get around Tonga. With extensive conference facilities, a range of dining options, and high-speed internet in every room, this is the place to be. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tanoa International Dateline Hotel

Address: Vuna Rd, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island, Tonga (Formerly International Dateline Hotel)
Region: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Price Range: RM505 - RM900 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanoa International Dateline Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Tanoa International Dateline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Dateline Nuku Alofa
Hotel International Dateline
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel Tonga/Tongatapu Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tanoa International Dateline Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the north or east wing. The west wing has a view of the neighbours messy backyard”
 of 5 bubbles CarolNewZealand, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for rooms facing the sea.”
 of 5 bubbles 591DavidR591, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for 2 keycards and keep one in the cardholder to keep the AC on. Great during summer when you need to retreat from the heat.”
 of 5 bubbles sionet2017, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view looking out to the ocean”
 of 5 bubbles nataliedavey33, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms in the front have sea views”
 of 5 bubbles Peterm2014123, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5