We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hideaway Island Resort

Expedia.comUS$152*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$157*
US$152*
Great Deal
US$157*
US$154*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hideaway Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

611 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hideaway Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 603: English reviews
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Well where to start! We have once again returned to Hideaway and it is like coming home! We cannot thank the management and amazing staff enough for making us so very welcome so thanks to Sam and Paul for the great time and more importantly a huge thank you to our sister Stella, Louisa, Amy, Joe, Vero, Henry and all...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Karen F
vanfresh, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Karen F, for taking the time and for your very generous review of the Resort and all of our wonderful team hear. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Warm regards, Hideaway Island Team

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

went here for my first ever over seas holiday! Good: The food was absolutely beautiful. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful! Not to mention the snorkelling by far the best part about the trip! Bad: It was a shame to see so many people not reading the signs that clearly say " no standing on the reef ". I...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Thomasd2311
vanfresh, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Thomasd2311, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hideaway Island Resort and Marine Sanctuary. We constantly try to educate people of the usage and enjoyment of the marine environment and have signage up on the ferry, in the gift shop and on the beach, but it is an ongoing effort to keep the reef...

Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewed 5 December 2016

It's not five star, but then again you aren't paying five star prices. It's good value, yes it's dated and needs some work in some areas, but it's a nice hotel with friendly staff, good snorkelling and diving facitilies. Great fish straight off the island, plenty to see and keep the kids entertained under water! The little,post office is fun....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goodservicehunter
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello Goodservicehunter, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hideaway Island and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Tropical regards, Hideaway Island Team

Reviewed 25 November 2016

Hideaway is the best place to be while on holiday and school trips, the kids loved it immensely as well as the adults, our 4day stay was awesome and would recommend it to any school for a trip... yes we had a morning where there was no water for a few hours but that was just a minor clich, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teri D
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Teri D, So glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Hideaway Island and happy to report that the water solution is much better now with the recent rains and working with the local community to ensure delivery is better for everyone. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Tropical regards, Hideaway Island Team

Reviewed 24 November 2016

My partner and I spent a week on Hideaway Island as part of our 2 week stay in Vanuatu. We came almost solely to dive, and we weren't disappointed! Everyone at the dive hut was awesome. We were able to complete our Advanced Open Water dive course and were able to do wreck dives, reef dives and night dives! All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diving B
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Hello Diving B, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hideaway Island. We are thrilled to hear that you have some fantastic diving experiences whilst here. Whilst the coral is still fighting back after the last year the marine life is alive and growing. The water situation is much better with the wet season rains...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

What can I say? 5 star meal! We ordered one each and they were superb. The lobster was cooked to perfection, the sides complemented the meal so delicately. The wine just set off this great meal. Most importantly we are here for another week so we can do it again! Woohoo!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RussJenn
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi RussJenn, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience at Hideaway Island and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your lobster dinner whilst here. Only the best local ingredients are used in our kitchen and the lobster and local poulet fish are a must for all that visit Vanuatu. Kind regards, Hideaway Island Team

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Please don't let the above rating put you off from your visit to Vanuatu. It is a truly beautiful country with friendly people who are slowly rebuilding their lives after cyclone Pam. There are still poor sections of road and the odd damaged house, but on the whole, they have done a remarkable job and their smiles can be seen...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kristianjohnson
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Kristianjohnson for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hideaway Island and it is regretful that your expectations were not met during your stay with us. We advised and acknowledged to all guests from the date of your arrival late on Thursday evening until the Friday evening that we had some issues with water supply which...

Reviewed 20 October 2016

We stayed at Hideaway for my birthday this year and it was amazing! From the boat ride over the staff were warm and friendly, I only had to tell the bar staff my name once and they remembered it for the rest of our stay. We stayed in one of the villas and it was worth it! Waking up looking...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lyndsey a
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Thanks Lyndsey A and we enjoyed having you here for your birthday weekend. Hope to see you again soon. Hideaway Island

Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Great trip back to Vanuatu which I like to call my second home. I look forward to my next trip with my whole family☺ the snorkeling and staff are the very best and thank you for a great holiday. I miss my amazing view from my villa with all the comforts you need on a relaxing holiday. A big thank...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lucilulucorbett
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Lucilulucorbett, Thank you for reviewing your stay at Hideaway Island and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Tropical regards, Hideaway Island Team

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The Ritz it isn't, not even the Holiday Inn, but the basic accommodation is clean and comfortable and the staff, mostly locals (no blow-in backpackers, thankfully [my prejudice]), are really helpful and friendly. The little bar and restaurant offer fairly standard options, but possibly because the area doesn't have a notable cuisine, pizza, steak and fish and chips is what...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ec0sse28
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Ec0sse28, And thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hideaway Island. Our staff are the reason it all works so well and being that most of our team are from the local village of Mele they are proud of the island and love working with all our guests. We are in the process of...

654 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (645)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (96)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
View from Room (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (69)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (318)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
9.2 km away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,442 reviews
13.9 km away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
530 reviews
8.2 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
9.5 km away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
9.9 km away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Hideaway Island Resort

Address: | Hideaway Island, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Price Range: RM163 - RM894 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hideaway Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hideaway Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Island Hotel Port Vila
Hideaway Island Port Vila
Hideaway Island Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hideaway Island Resort staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Hideaway Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ALL rooms have an ocean view so don't be conned into paying more to secure an ocean view!”
loretta585, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“You can book Bungalows but again - given the years this Resort has been operating - they need updating & airconditioning”
Karamar, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Dormitory accommodation is least expensive, but could be pretty noisy. The "attached bungalows" are good value and perfectly satisfactory.”
Ec0sse28, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a bungalow, you'll have more room and your own bathroom”
geminikitty66, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Because it is on a small island, every room has an awesome aspect.”
goobaball, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$152* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$157
TripAdvisorUS$154
PricelineUS$154
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates