We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Melanesian Port Vila

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Melanesian Port Vila
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Melanesian Port Vila
See the most recent reviews
Showing 241: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Great food at the Melanisian feast, meats, vegetables & salad all you can eat, little expensive but then Vanuatu is not a cheap place to visit. entertained by local musicians, traditional dancing and kava tasting, friendly staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
Hiroshark, General Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Helen G, Thank you for your wonderful comments well received. We trust that you did enjoyed your stay with us at the Melanesian Hotel. With your experience from the Melanesian feast, especially the taste of local Vanuatu drink (Kava), traditional dancing, local musicians and our friendly staff. We hope that you will return to the Melanesian Hotel on your...

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2016

This is an old hotel and probably needs to be updated, the staff are very good, very helpful and cheerful. The food at breakfast was ok, it is in a great location if you need to finish off a few things before leaving

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cortanawilson
Hiroshark, General Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear cortanawilson, Thank you for your stay with The Melanesian Port Vila. We acknowledge your comments and we a very much grateful that the staffs made your stay a successful one. Location is convenient close to down and super markets especially the Local fresh food market and the Local Mama's art & crafts market. We hope to see you again...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 September 2016

great hotel, close to town. Staff are really helpful and very very friendly. the Cultural night is great and the BBQ was amazing. although the hotel looks quite old, the rooms are very nice and clean and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P9445BOsueg
Hiroshark, General Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear P9445BOsueg, we are very much grateful for your choice in staying with the Melanesian Hotel. Thank you for your positive comments. We look forward to your return visit to Port Vila, Vanuatu.

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Considering the price we paid we were very impressed with everything! The rooms were a decent size with a tv, fridge, safe deposit box, phone. Cleaned to an excellent standard as requested. Breakfast was great. We weren't expecting much but there was pancakes, toast, muffins, pastries, crossaints (which were so good!) cereal, fruit, yoghurt, juice, tea and coffee. We certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelAnnaW
Hiroshark, General Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear TravelAnnaW, Thank you for staying with The Melanesian hotel. We value your fantastic feedback. Hope to see you on your return trip back to Vanuatu.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Not much to look at from the outside, the Melanesian opens nicely into a lovely pool-centered courtyard overlooked by most of the rooms. The staff is friendlyThe rooms are quite lovely, with sculpted towels and flowers greeting the weary traveller. I had a comfortable bed, on the firm side, and a nice terrace overlooking the pool. The included breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kilrwat
Hiroshark, General Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear kilrwat, Thank you for staying at the Melanesian hotel. Your comments are much welcomed. We acknowledge the need to provide more variety within our breakfast buffet choices and the need also to provide wireless service within our rooms. We look forward to your company with us in future.

Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

The Sunday night cultural show & buffet is well worth the visit. The cultural show is informative, engaging and interactive. The buffet dinner has a good selection of salads, meats and vegetables which are replaced often. There was a small range of deserts but limited numbers - I missed out so can't really review them. This was a great night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pippiwillow
Hiroshark, General Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Pippiwillow, We are very grateful to you for choosing to stay with us at the Melanesian. Your comments are indeed appreciated. We will indeed look to expanding our choice of desserts to better cater for our customer culinary needs. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Port Vila, Vanuatu.

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Stayed here for almost a week and enjoyed each day. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. it was interesting to learn how hotels operate in the pacific as it was my first trip there. There is a basic breakfast (which the hotel really needs to add variety or change it around) and if you want to order other items,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin F
Hiroshark, General Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear kolyn_666, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Melanesian hotel. We very much appreciate the great feedback. We take particular note of the improvements suggested with regards to breakfast varieties and related charging arrangements. We look forward to seeing you the next time you return to Port Vila.

Adelaide
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

A lovely hotel with very friendly staff. Staff are multi lingual, and nothing is too much trouble for them. Rooms are clean and in the Hybiscus rooms there are cooking utensils , a microwave and a two burner cook top. The Orchid room is the next room up, and is spacious and very light and has a balcony to enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 595prudencep
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear 595prodencep, Thank you for staying at the Melanesian hotel. Your comments and feedback is well received and will be forwarded to department concern for staff appraisals in ensuring the comfort of our guests. The four room types that we have can assist guest in making booking preference. From self-contained units to a 2-bedroom apartment. We are sure to see...

Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Went with my mum. Loved the place and the staff. Only issue was we paid on credit card on checkout. Few days later I was charged an amount of about $300 extra. I contacted the hotel. It took weeks an some stuffing around to get it refunded. Still no explanation as to why I was charged. The Westpac bank there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Awesometripmaster
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Awesometripmaster, Thank you for your stay at the Melanesian Hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely apologies for the prolong process in refunding you due to overcharge on credit card. The error at hand was inserting the incorrect amount, however during the process of check out, neither noticed the error of...

South Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Business trip and stayed in an Orchid room on the top floor. Overall, service is friendly, but hit and miss. Location is convenient to town with a supermarket nearby. The room itself was pleasantly decorated with cane furniture and a mosquito net (for the look more than use, I think) and small balcony with a view over the pool. Bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flight99
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Flight99, Thank you for staying at the Melanesian Hotel during your business trip. Your comments and feedback is well received. We do apologies for the noise created downstairs at the bar, however our department concern is now notified of this and to ensure staff minimize the noise. Now that Vanuatu is experience earthquakes some of the times, we take...

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.7 km away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#28 of 48 in Port Vila
178 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#21 of 48 in Port Vila
502 reviews
0.8 km away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#24 of 48 in Port Vila
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 48 in Port Vila
381 reviews
2.7 km away
Vila Chaumieres
Vila Chaumieres
#29 of 48 in Port Vila
172 reviews
0.1 km away
Coral Motel & Apartments
Coral Motel & Apartments
#33 of 48 in Port Vila
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Only 10min walk from the heart of Port Vila town. Reasonable rates with quiet and comfortable atmosphere. A welcoming smile, friendly hospitality and good service are part of the culture at The Melanesian. Offering a number of guest room styles which satisfies everyone's needs. Our culture entertainment night with "All You Can Eat BBQ" at our Oasis Pool side is must see! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Melanesian Port Vila

Address: P.O. Box 810, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Price Range: RM369 - RM823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Melanesian Port Vila 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Melanesian Port Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melanesian Port Vila Hotel Port Vila
Melanesian Port Vila
Melanesian Hotel Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila Vanuatu
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Melanesian Port Vila staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take the third floor on the North side...no elevator”
 of 5 bubbles bobsV3081QW, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“1st or Second floors are best”
 of 5 bubbles kevinmG7062EP, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“One and two bedroom apartments are located at the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles melk1975, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are quieter, but pricier.”
 of 5 bubbles kilrwat, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“taking a room on the 2nd and 3rd levels are great. all rooms face the pool”
 of 5 bubbles 753colinf, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5