We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wildebeest Eco Camp

TripAdvisorUS$63*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$63*
US$63*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Wildebeest Eco Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

447 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wildebeest Eco Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 394: English reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2015

The Camp is good. But, if you check in the night and come across Joanne Gakii (has to be sent for training for sure)you are in TROUBLE. The Askari(Watchman) also thinks, he is doing you a favor to let you park. Habanas Ndunda is an amazing person. Very helpful fellow. The first night we had to pick our own luggage(...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atif C
wildinafrica, Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you thought the camp was good quality and value. We are sorry that you feel that the performance of some of our staff was not to a good standard. Of course this is something that we are always striving to improve. In terms of your luggage not being...

Fulton, Maryland
Reviewed 20 March 2015

$2200 in cash was stolen from my locked bag. The tented rooms do not have security. The owners did not contact me with a follow-up, as I was promised. Surveillance cameras do not exist on the main grounds.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Federet
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 19 March 2015

Yes--it's in the middle of nowhere. Do not stay here if you need to be downtown and need to do business. But do stay here if you are beginning a safari trip, exploring Nairobi's parks, or are backpacking. The campsite is almost a little park in itself, with how tents are set up and how the trails are lit up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keithvan
wildinafrica, Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We are so glad to hear that you loved the peaceful ambience of the camp, and recognise that it is a great alternative from a standard city hotel. We hope you were lucky enough to hear the lions and hyenas at night. We are so glad to hear that you felt that we offer...

Nairobi
Reviewed 16 March 2015

We went to this camp for a night out as two Kenyan couples together with our children on the 14-March-2015. Our children are 9yrs, 7yrs and 2yrs. We had stayed there another night earlier that week on Thursday 12-march-2015. So we just returned with our kids for them to experience the place . Both nights we stayed at the deluxe...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank angienai
wildinafrica, Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we are so pleased that you and your family had an enjoyable stay at our camp. We are glad that you felt that the rooms were spacious, clean and good value. We are also pleased to hear that our staff made you feel very welcome at the camp, to the extent that you returned...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 16 March 2015

Stayed one night at this Camp. Positives: A nice quite place right in Nairobi with beautiful tented rooms Negatives: i) The place does not offer bath soap and so you have to bring your own. ii) Food is wanting iii) The claim they have WIFI but it doesn't work iv) They can do better with the breakfast. They only offer...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LocalT2014
wildinafrica, Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write. It seems that you are even more irritated now by my reply to your friend’s review. Just to clarify on the ‘negatives’ that you have claimed: i) The place does not offer bath soap and so you have to bring your own. As an Eco Camp, we take our role within conservation...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 14 March 2015

We stayed one night at the campsite and later two nights in a garden tent (en suite) on our recent trip. The location is at the outskirts of the town (not near airport) but this is also a benefit: The traffic is not as bad as closer to city centre. The camp has a nice garden area, a nice campsite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Taitti H
wildinafrica, Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You are right in commenting on the large variety of rooms that we have that cater for all different budgets. The transfer to the airport can take anywhere from 30 minutes to 1.5 hours depending on the time of day and traffic. We are hoping that in the coming year, the bypass road will...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 10 March 2015

This is one of the best places i've been to recently. I could literally stay here forever. It's very well hidden and gives one the illusion that they're not even in Nairobi. It's quite vast as well, loved the space and what they've done with it. The attention to detail is lovely...from the little coloured wooden bird carvings in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Idah W
wildinafrica, Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review

What a compliment being compared to the Mara! Thank you for your lovely commendations which we truly value, particularly as a well-travelled citizen of Kenya. We are glad to hear that you particularly enjoyed the grounds and the gardens, and glad that you noticed all the little touches. This has been a tireless labour of love, that we are sure...

ireland
Reviewed 21 February 2015

I stayed 2 nights in the Wildebeest Eco Camp. I had originally booked a dorm bed, but after 43 days on the road on an Overland truck, I needed a bit of pampering. So I upgraded to a cottage with an en-suite. Which was quite reasonable by Nairobi standards ($US 55) The room was newly refurbished (still a smell of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aranhelena
wildinafrica, Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We have noted the issues with the water from the showers. Unfortunately you were one of the first to stay, so we were still ironing out some problems. We wanted a ‘walk-in’ shower feel – but with the water pressure being so high, it has caused problems. We have adjusted the water pressure, so...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2015

This camp was amazing, I stayed there for 4 weeks and enjoyed every minute of it. I was in the dormitory for the most part and got to know the staff and resident animals very well. The food was simple and breakfast a plenty. I felt welcomed and safe with the guard on the gate and the attentiveness from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emma B
wildinafrica, Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review

Emma, it was a true pleasure having you stay with us for four weeks. We are glad that you felt right at home and that everyone, including the pets, made you feel like part of the family. We have just completed 3 rooms at the front of the property (deluxe cottage rooms) which have kitchenettes (fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster),...

Diani Beach, Kenya
Reviewed 20 February 2015

My favourite place to stay in Nairobi. It is a kind of best keep secret in Nairobi. Big spacious green garden with exotic plants, clean tents, good location not so far from Giraffe centre, Elephant Orphanage and shopping centre Galleria makes this place one of the best choice in Nairobi. Suit to any kind of travellers - from budget backpckers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elena_vel
wildinafrica, Manager at Wildebeest Eco Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. We are glad to hear that you consider our camp is the best place to stay in Nairobi. We have tried so hard to strike a great balance and provide excellent clean, safe facilities, that are good value, in what can be a very expensive city. Thank you also for mentioning...

304 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (294)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (189)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,249 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
462 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
614 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wildebeest Camp is the perfect place to relax during your African migration! The friendly 'home-like' atmosphere is a great place to meet other travelers, or to just relax and enjoy the amazing gardens. The well-established tropical gardens are home to hundreds of varieties of plants and birds - and we even have a vegetable garden, as well as a variety of fruit trees. There are many accommodation options to suit any budget. We pride ourselves on offering the best value accommodation in Nairobi. All rates include breakfast. We have our own vehicles running airport transfers, day tours and safaris. Accommodation is suitable for singles, couples, families and groups. The large deck overlooking the water feature and camp is a great place to meet other travellers. For those who are watching the pennies, but do not want a rock bottom experience - you will appreciate the attention to detail in the rooms and camp grounds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wildebeest Eco Camp

Address: 151 Mokoyeti Road West | Langata, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: RM82 - RM640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Wildebeest Eco Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildebeest Camp Hotel Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wildebeest Eco Camp staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Chania, Crete
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Wildebeest Eco Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the Delux tents which were very comfortable with a very nice bathroom.”
wil571, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“book a 1/2 day tour of Nairobi. Great fun!”
401pattyp, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Spoil yourself with a Deluxe Safari Tent which over-look the water!”
gracem223, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“en suite tents are excellent.”
chrispY8793AO, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are the same and on level ground.”
dvinemsi, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$63* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$63
Jumia Travel
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates