We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Giraffe Manor

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Giraffe Manor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

662 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Giraffe Manor
See the most recent reviews
Showing 622: English reviews
London
Reviewed 12 April 2016

This place is amazingly run. Nik was a real gent and all the staff were knowledgeable and aware of our every need. We went for afternoon high tea but next time I will most definitely staying the night. Non-touristy feeling, up close and personal with the animals, in a beautiful serene setting. An oasis in Nairobi! Highly recommend. Mel

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MPW26
Nicholas M, General Manager at Giraffe Manor, responded to this review

Dear Jess, thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you with us and hope that it will not be a once-in-a-lifetime!!!

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

We have just had three amazing nights at GM, staying in the "Betty" room, where the giraffes come to the window and the balcony for an early morning greeting. The staff are sensational, the food is as good as you'll find in any restaurant anywhere in the world, and the experience is simply fabulous. We also took a half-day safari...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christo1953
Nicholas M, General Manager at Giraffe Manor, responded to this review

It was wonderful to have you with us too! Thank you for your kind words for our food and staff. It is true that Sheldricks and NNP are superb and should be on your list when you come to Nairobi too, so glad that you got to experience them.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 31 March 2016

An experience guaranteed to never be forgotten. Feeding and getting kissed by giraffes. A real up close, personal experience. Good value for money. Great for all ages. Highly recommend doing if you have a few hours free in Nairobi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellingDowells
Nicholas M, General Manager at Giraffe Manor, responded to this review

Thank you. One of the best ways to get up and personal with Animals and also learn of the plight that brings us to this stage of having to look after them. Hopefully next time you can stay with us overnight.

Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016

This is the most unique hotel that we have visited. We had read the reviews but never imagined that we would have so much personal contact with those lovely giraffes. We fed them at tea time, again after supper, and then in the morning from daybreak to after breakfast. Nothing had prepared us for such a wonderful experience. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank plantsman_10
Nicholas M, General Manager at Giraffe Manor, responded to this review

The reviews, we find, can never prepare you for the experience, that is so true. You do have to be there to experience what it is like to be so close to one of these magnificent creatures. We are so glad that you had a great one and yes, they are always hungry!

Florida
Reviewed 30 March 2016

You know we all read lots of reviews of Hotels and attractions and are often pleased with what we actually find or sometimes mildly disappointed. WELL my wife and I have NEVER been to anyplace that we went to with high expectations that not only met them but exceeded in every way. Everything you have ever read or seen about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank panamaline
Nicholas M, General Manager at Giraffe Manor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this review, no words could justify your kindness. All that we can say is hope you come back soon!!

Reviewed 29 March 2016

We visited the Giraffe Manor after visiting the David Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage. We had a great time! You are able to feed the giraffes, pet them, and even be kissed by them if you want (by putting a food pellet in between your lips). The staff there were helpful and informative. Nice restaurant and gift shop as well to admire...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chelsea S
Nicholas M, General Manager at Giraffe Manor, responded to this review

The Giraffe loved to be kissed, always a great way to spend a couple of hours in the afternoon. Hope you can stay overnight with us and experience having breakfast with them.

Accra, Ghana
Reviewed 29 March 2016

From the time you first enter the gates at Giraffe Manor you will be overwhelmed. Giraffes are wandering freely, the staff is warm and helpful, everyone seems completely at ease in feeding the giraffes. It's hard to forget getting woken up by a giraffe sticking her head through your window looking for some of the early morning pellets. Yes, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
Nicholas M, General Manager at Giraffe Manor, responded to this review

Dear Dan, It is truly an amazing thing to be woken up by giraffe. Thank you so much for being part of it and spending the time to write about it. Hope to see you again.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Luxurious, colonial and an absolute oasis. Great staff, lovely fellow guests with whom we enjoyed canapés and dinner. As for the giraffe oh how amazing, it so lived up to the YouTube clips, the recommendations and made all the more fun seeing kids faces and experiences. The team are excellent. Stop reading and go! Excellent wifi. Bring your camera and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LJBSyd
Nicholas M, General Manager at Giraffe Manor, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words, yes LOTS of memory cards are required. Hope that you uploaded your own versions of your experience! Especially of the kids’ faces, always fun to see that!

Idaho
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Six of us had just come in from a 10 day safari. We were dirty, hot and tired. After tent camps and game drives with dust and little warm water the sight of the red brick Manor covered in green ivy and surrounded by vast lawns was more than welcome. After showers we met for cocktails on the front lawn...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank svsue
Nicholas M, General Manager at Giraffe Manor, responded to this review

It was wonderful to have to here at the end of what sounded like an absolutely amazing trip! We have had another baby since you were here who has just found out how to run – too funny!! Thank you for the recommendation and hope to see you all back here!

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2016

We visited here immediately following a trip to the David Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage. They are nearby and Giraffe Manor is worth going to after the elephant orphanage. I'm saying this because there is a set time of 11am to visit the young elephants but there seems to be an unrestricted time to visit Giraffe Manor. Our hotel was central in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marionhas4
Nicholas M, General Manager at Giraffe Manor, responded to this review

DSWT is a great stop and topped off by a kiss from a Giraffe is perfect. Thank you for your kind review filled with great tips.

999 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (969)
Viewed
Dining (128)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (267)
Viewed
Room/Suite (112)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (389)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
924 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
448 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ole Sereni
#14 of 164 in Nairobi
1,207 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
House of Waine
#18 of 164 in Nairobi
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Giraffe Manor

Address: Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi 00503, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: RM2,148 - RM3,034 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Giraffe Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Giraffe Manor Hotel Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Giraffe Manor staff and other travellers.
62 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (62)

Questions? Get answers from Giraffe Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles 374brendac, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“single banglow”
 of 5 bubbles agremahesho, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Betty's Room has a private balcony where you can feed the giraffes early in the morning.”
  • Feeding the giraffes from our private balcony
 of 5 bubbles jackiek929, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Doesn't matter, just get here!”
 of 5 bubbles JillianSydney, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for a room in the main building of the Manor”
 of 5 bubbles tonycR3215HM, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5