We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sarova Panafric

Show Prices
#16 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Sarova Panafric
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

708 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 635: English reviews
hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our safari, the staff are superb, nothing is too much trouble, our room was very nice, and the food is of a very high standard, steaks are fantastic. A really enjoyable stay, thank you.

Helpful?
Thank webothluvthesun
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good hotel, great rooms. Security on every floor .Breakfast was excellent with lots of choices.Dinner was a disaster,slow service.We had dinner twice hoping it would improve.The Indian dinner was so bad that I had to send it back . I was offered an alternative but I was too upset to carry on . The meat was so tough and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was quiet, clean, and easily accessible. The staff were helpful, kind, and very welcoming. The spa and pool were great as well and I enjoyed the breakfast buffet! I recommend staying here - it was a lovely home away from home.

Helpful?
Thank hyperhobbit07
1David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review of our hotel. We appreciate your kind words. It gives us great joy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and this encourages us to even to be better. We would be excited to host you gain in the near future. Yours Sincerely, David Gachuru General Manager More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is old but in quite good shape. The most disappointing thing was the weak wi-fi- unbelievable for a hotel that is supposed to be so exclusive. However the room was comfortable and the balcony was big. The restaurant was good and the breakfast buffet had many options.

Helpful?
Thank Derek K
1David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review

Dear Derek, Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. We highly appreciate your feedback. Sarova Panafric is a Panafrican hotel with over 50 years in existence and we always celebrate our heritage throughout the hotel. We also appreciate your kind words on the comfort of the room and our breakfast spread. Thank you... More 

Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We always enjoy staying at the apartments at the Panafric Hotel and this time was no different. We book the apartment for one month and it is very reasonably priced. The kitchenette is perfect for cooking your own food, which helps with the expense of eating out as well. But the Flame Tree Restaurant at the hotel is a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
1David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review

Dear Nicole, Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review! It gives us great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our serviced apartments are tailored to offer comfort and convenience for our guests at the most competitive rates. Our location is most ideal with ease of access to the Central Business District and major institutions. We... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The hotel was fine, but the real issue was the hotel charged us TWICE for a one night stay, and despite many calls, emails, promises of a refund and a dispute via our credit card, they will not refund our money. After booking the room on GetARoom (through kayak) and paying up front for our one night stay, they charged... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ethan S
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This is a well-priced hotel in a central location of Nairobi; it's nothing special but is a clean and comfortable business hotel with a range of basic amenities. The room was clean, basic, and otherwise comfortable for a short stay (I stayed for 3 nights). The breakfast spread was impressive and the staff pleasant. It is nice that there is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kereuter
1David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review

Dear Kereuter, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience of our hotel. We highly appreciate your analysis of our hotel. We are particularly happy that you liked the hotel upkeep as well as what we offer. We understand the issue of a few limitations such as another restaurant and we assure you that it is part of... More 

Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

I'm realizing that choosing a hotel or more correctly to say the area, is largely influenced by the attractions you are planning to visit. As you know the traffic in Nairobi is getting worse and worse so to avoid it its better to choose a hotel close to where you want to go. I would say Panafric is a midway... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex F
1David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review

Dear Alex, Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. We highly appreciate your feedback. Choosing an ideal hotel in Nairobi for your business / leisure trip can be a daunting task from the very many options available. We are glad that you found Sarova Panafric strategically located within easy reach to all key areas and... More 

Perth
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We only stayed one night but the room was clean with good amenities and a comfortable bed Staff were courteous and the evening meal we had was excellent. The hotel was quiet despite this being a Saturday night We also enjoyed the excellent buffet breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Perthcott
1David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review

Dear Perthcott, Thank you for sharing such a positive feedback! We value your candid feedback. It gives us great joy to learn that your stay with us was memorable and this is an indication that we are not only meeting but exceeding our guest’s expectations. We look forward to hosting you again. Yours Sincerely, David Gachuru General Manager More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016

The Sarova is a basic hotel good for short trips. It is inexpensive and the rooms are clean but basic. The food served at the restaurant is very good (try the steak burger but only if you are really hungry). There is also a fantastic spread for breakfast. What I really enjoyed about this hotel are the staff. They were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeHarris1000
1David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review

Dear George, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We would like to assure you that we value our guest’s feedback. We appreciate your comments and look forward to doing even better in serving our valued customers. Once again thank you and we look forward to hosting you soon. Yours Sincerely, David Gachuru General Manager More 

256 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (224)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.4 km away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
1,015 reviews
1.4 km away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
878 reviews
0.3 km away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
372 reviews
0.5 km away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
820 reviews
2.0 km away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Price Range: RM625 - RM1,067 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Panafric 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sarova Panafric staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Sarova Panafric staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors offer better views”
 of 5 bubbles alexf120, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with swimming pool vieware quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Blanka_Novakova, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose the upgraded rooms, # x22 to x33 on each floor, for an interior, locked hallway”
 of 5 bubbles CoryT412, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room upper floor not far from lift.”
 of 5 bubbles nagibtajdin, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Asked for king or queen size bed.higher floors have nice views”
 of 5 bubbles angelgreene, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay