We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bamburi Beach Hotel

Malindi Road, Mombasa 80100 Kenya
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1104)
Pool & Beach (229)
Room & Suite (112)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.


#14 of 101 hotels in Mombasa
Travellers' Choice
This warm and friendly hotel welcomes guests with a distinctly African vibe and a fantastic view of the Indian Ocean! The spacious and comfortable vibrant deluxe rooms have a TV, Coffee and Tea making facilities, safe (chargeable) and mini fridge to ensure you can relax and enjoy, in air conditioned comfort with quiet, split unit air conditioners or on the terrace with a spectacular view and a cool Indian Ocean breeze. The ocean deck edges onto the ocean and offers a relaxing atmosphere during the day enjoying a sunbath with a terrific view of the ocean! Whether you come to the Bamburi Beach Hotel to relax or to use it as a starting point for your game drives, we do everything we can to ensure your comfort.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids club
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Kids pool
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Great View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
1185Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 439
  • 404
  • 200
  • 82
  • 60
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
julius m wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
Hi my name is Julius mwatha, the stay in bamburi beach was fantastic.the reception was excellent and the service attendants was fine. I can recommend other people to have a visit. I and my family we really enjoyed the stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Catherine Mwangi, Marketing at Bamburi Beach Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Julius, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Bamburi Beach Hotel as your preferred hotel during your recent stay in Mombasa and having spared time to share your experience in this forum. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel. Best regards, Catherine
Read more
Alina C wrote a review Jul 2021
Bucharest, Romania3 contributions2 helpful votes
Great place, nice, clean and big room with amazing ocean view and big terace. Great food. Prompt and nice people trying to offer the best services while the times are very challanging for tourism due to travel restrictions. A very pleasant experience for us coming all the way from Europe.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ignore the sellers on the public beach and they will stop nagging on you shortly
See more room tips
Response from Catherine Mwangi, Marketing at Bamburi Beach Hotel
Responded 15 Aug 2021
Dear Alina, Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review of Bamburi Beach Hotel. We are happy to hear that you loved the hotel, the clean and big room with amazing view and our great food. Most importantly is the appreciation of our staff. They are an asset to us, they put alot of effort to ensure all guests are happy and enjoy their holiday. We are so proud of them. We are hoping to welcome you again for another exciting holiday. Once again thank you for choosing to stay at Bamburi Beach Hotel for your vacation in Mombasa. Best regards, Catherine Yield Manager
Read more
TheTallGuy1001 wrote a review May 2021
Hayling Island, United Kingdom86 contributions10 helpful votes
Weekend relaxing get away gone wrong. On arrival well greeted and escorted to the bedroom. How others rate the place highly no idea….. I asked about Mosquito net as non visible, they explained how the hotel sprays the room. Second night after being eaten by Mosquitos begged for net finally arrived. Door locked didn’t work, had to be fixed twice before fully operational. Had to leave room unlocked on two occasions as phone did not work and was unable to be fixed so called the hotel on mobile costing us money. In room safe no instructions and unable with a degree to work its use so gave up who knows what year it’s from. After a day relaxing in the sun thought of chilling in front of TV only 3 working channels Citizen, KTN and KBC. WiFi never worked and by this time gave up completely and just used own data bundles. Pool getting a bed topper from the team where are the team, had to get ourselves. Food and drink the only positive. If the hotel was to modernise would be back for the food as is the saviour of the weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Response from Catherine Mwangi, Marketing at Bamburi Beach Hotel
Responded 15 Aug 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us. We're so pleased to know that you enjoyed our food and drinks. The Food & Beverage team were happy you liked the food. We never cease to enjoy comments about our great food! I'm sorry that you also encountered some problems with the room. Please note we provide mosquito nets on request, on arrival, a guest can request for the mosquito net in the room. We do spray all our rooms to rid off mosquitoes. However I am sorry to hear that your request for a mosquito net did not get to the reception on duty immediately. The door locking issue in particular shouldn't have needed two repairs during your stay. We regularly check on the guest rooms facilities to ensure all are working, Happy to know it was repaired . Unfortunately we do not provide safe instructions in the room since they are provided at the front desk on request and the safe is given a very minimal fee. I'm also sorry that you didn't enjoy the WiFi in the hotel. I would like to assure you that we have strong WiFi throughout the hotel, I could only guess your gadget needed to be loaded the wifi with assistance from our team. This is something we witness alot, and it only takes a change of settings on your phone, if this was brought to our attention, it would have been fixed immediately. Regarding the absence of the pool attendant on sight, we have addressed this laxity and will not happen to anyone else or in future. On the Tv channels, we are sorry you couldn't get all the channels. We are slowly facing out the old Tvs replacing them with the latest models. I'm only sorry it wasn't done prior to your stay. Thank you once again for choosing Bamburi Beach Hotel for your vacation in Mombasa. Should you be traveling to Mombasa again, please feel most welcome to stay with us. We would like to have another opportunity to offer you the experience you should have had the first time. Kind regards, Catherine Yield Manager
Read more
katherine_isabel94 wrote a review Apr 2021
Heidelberg, Germany39 contributions9 helpful votes
I visited a couple of years ago. The hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly. A good little shop sits on the ground floor. the food is varied and very tasty. The pools are clean and great to relax around after a long day. Alot of hawkers walk along the beach trying to get you to buy their things, but if you can haggle they're a good chance to get some nice souveneers.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Response from Catherine Mwangi, Marketing at Bamburi Beach Hotel
Responded 14 Apr 2021
Dear Katherine, Thank you for posting your review. We are so delighted to hear from you after a long time. This is a sign you are already planning to visit us again. We cant wait to welcome you back! We are happy to know you loved the cleanliness of our hotel and our friendly staff. Thank you once again. Best regards, Catherine Yield Manager
Read more
Charles wrote a review Dec 2020
New Delhi, India2 contributions1 helpful vote
am in lo e with the place cool..very nice rooms frieldy..won't forget to mention our guide who was very hamble guy..tye few days we manadeged to be their we made alot of friends and manay we did a lot of fun,the food was wow. Our friend Nyukuri he showed us so many things, even we managed to travel to Naivasha for other tourist site , we visted many places he ensure our safetyis fine..you can try him..whattsapp him +254723882148 I will also not forget Kenya is wonderful, praying so much I come back again
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Response from Catherine Mwangi, Marketing at Bamburi Beach Hotel
Responded 23 Dec 2020
Jambo Sitatii. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and for choosing Bamburi Beach Hotel for your vacation in Mombasa. We are pleased to know you loved our hotel, our nice rooms and the delicious food. I am sure you are already planning for another vacation with us. We cant wait to welcome you back! We wish you a Merry Christmas and a Prosperous New Year. Kind regards, Catherine Catherine Mwangi Yield Manager
Read more
US$106 - US$210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
bamburi beach hotel kenya, bamburi beach hotel mombasa
KenyaCoast ProvinceMombasa
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bamburi Beach Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Bamburi Beach Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Nakumatt Nyali (0.09 km), Mombasa Go-Kart (0.9 km), and Vicktina tours & safaris (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bamburi Beach Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Bamburi Beach Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a desk, and a pool view.
What food & drink options are available at Bamburi Beach Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Bamburi Beach Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bamburi Beach Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pavilions Restaurant, Yul's Restaurant, and Il Covo Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bamburi Beach Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bamburi Beach Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bamburi Beach Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bamburi Beach Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Bamburi Beach Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Jumba la Mtwana (6.5 km).