We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Reef Hotel

Jumia TravelUS$63*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$103*
US$63*
Great Deal
US$103*
US$100*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Reef Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

389 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Reef Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 281: English reviews
Nairobi
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Reef hotel is not what I used to know it for. From quality of food, to quality of service. The lawns are poorly kept to staff who were least concerned with my request to change the room. Inshort I just had my lastvisit there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank B7192RKjosephk
tenga, General Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

We are always sad to receive such a complaint. We continue to receive praise for the quality of the food, atmosphere, entertainment and especially the spacious and luxurious gardens where clients can spread out .As concerning the request for a change of rooms, it likely we were full at that time and could not accomodate your request , however much...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 10 December 2016

The hotel has spacious rooms although with TV that doesn't work and bathrooms that flood, guest are mistreated at the "Tanga Bar" by the bar staff they only serve people who buy food first, avoid this bar if you are on all inclusive. They have good breakfast, dinner and entertainment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julieawino
Nairobi
Reviewed 26 November 2016

I booked to sleep here and a confirmation sent. On reaching there at 10.30pm, was told they are fully booked by a very rude and not concerned receptionist. I had sleep there earlier but that was the last time I will ever think of booking into that hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P6756PLgracem
Mauritius
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

The only downside was the rooms are dated and there were ants in the bathroom. The band at the beach bar was excellent and the pole dancers at the buffet were amazingly talented. The pool is huge and there is a lap area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank permanent-wanderlust
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The view was amazing. The food and entertainment were excellent. The staff was very helpful. The service was wonderful. Overall this was a great experience. We would recommend anyone to go here. Be sure to visit the gift shop across the street. It has everything you will need.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank danielsU4957LM
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 16 October 2016

I recently checked into the reef hotel, for the third time, hoping to experience some good service. I have before given this hotel a good review. But not what happened last month. I was booked into a room with non functional air conditioning. When it was finally repaired, the drainage failed leading to flooding at the door. To make it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allantheoutwardbound
joe e, Front Office Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Allan, Thanks for your detailed e-mail received. I must say that we are sorry for what happened when you checked in that night and what followed thereafter. The management would like to apologize for the chain of events that took place on said date. Housekeeping: The room steward who was on duty that day did not take all the...

Trinidad and Tobago
Reviewed 8 October 2016

we had the usual Buffet food - 3* BUT the real winner is Moonshine, ther local discotheque. - 5* Above shore of a super pearly white beach. Very scenic. If you feel like, you can stand with your ankles in the sea while listening to hiphop Pretty nice done.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FOL-1003
Mombasa, Kenya
Reviewed 6 October 2016

The very basic Mombasa Beach Hotel has lately opened a new Bar right at the Beach. MOONSHINEBAR A great place to have a bite early evening and stay until late. The steady Seabreeze keeps the area and the dance floor cool, so you can enjoy the hot Music from the DJ. Fantastic new place to go during the Holiday Season.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BRUNO G
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 28 September 2016

good ambiance,loved the windy trees and ocean breeze at night from my room balcony,it was so relaxing,had great food,very clean rooms ,kind staff,excellent for beach walks,great location near shops, malls and moi international airport.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rosegitongam
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Even if you are not staying at the Reef visiting the Pool Deck and restaurant is a great way to spend a Sunday Afternoon. It costs (in Sept 2016) 800Khs for pool entry and if you want Pool + Set-lunch menu is 1500Khs. The Tanga bar & grill is otherwise worth it if you come before/after lunch time (12:00hrs to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abdul Q

347 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (325)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (39)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (129)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
4.6 km away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 58 in Mombasa
959 reviews
5.1 km away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
525 reviews
2.7 km away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
345 reviews
4.6 km away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
126 reviews
0.9 km away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Reef Hotel Mombasa is a friendly, relaxed Hotel, professionally managed since 40 years by the same family to serve a mix of international and resident guests. The hotel offers a combination of resort facilities for beach holidays, as well as business services including conference rooms and corporate business facilities. The Reef Hotel Mombasa is conveniently situated on the white sandy beaches of Nyali overlooking the beautiful Indian Ocean. We are adjacent to the very best shopping areas, clubs, restaurants and golf courts and only 7 kilometres north of Mombasa city centre. The original Reef Hotel Mombasa was built in 1972. The hotel just had a significant renovation and has re-opened with new designed rooms and public areas. Reef Hotel rooms are air-conditioned, each with its own bathroom, balcony, telephone extension and TV. Buffets are the traditional way we serve meals with a international mix of cuisine. Enjoy our romantic candle-lit dinners on theme nights (African, Chinese, Lebanese, Indian, International, etc) and regular barbeques. A choice of 3 restaurants and 4 bars, and water sports directly on the beach assure you that the Reef Hotel Mombasa is ready for your holiday. With regular entertainment by our resident live band and disco, 3 fantastic swimming pools, Jacuzzi, tennis courts, relaxed sun-bathing and elegant evenings; yours will be a very special holiday in Reef Hotel Mombasa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Reef Hotel

Address: Nyali beach | off Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 82234-8010, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Price Range: RM346 - RM589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reef Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Hotel Mombasa
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Reef Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Reef Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms facing the sea and the pool are the best”
rupin2017, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea facing rooms are not as large as the garden rooms so depends on individual preference”
370bhavnak, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have an amaizing ocean view”
pyramidm2017, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Apartments side are loud and near opposite the main road”
julieawino, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose this hotel the rooms are in need of renovation.”
allantheoutwardbound, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Jumia Travel
US$63* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$103
Hotels.comUS$100
Orbitz.comUS$103
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates