We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Silka Seaview Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

861 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Silka Seaview Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 541: English reviews
Ipoh, Malaysia
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The location is good. Near to the Yaomatei MTR station. It is only 4 stations away to Centra Hong Kong. There are a lot of restaurent around range from street side stall to higj class eatery. Transport to airport is also much comfortable and cheeper by taking bus A21 at the bus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alfanso1959
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alfanso 1959 Thank you for staying with us recently and we are happy to learn that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. Regards Richard Kwong General Manager

Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This hotel room is small that i unexpected, but the bed, table, cabinet arrangement and the room interior design is nice & clean. The location of this hotel is a bit far from train station. Staff is quite nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kent79
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kent79 It's good to hear from you of your recent stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience. Regards Richard Kwong General Manager

Quezon City
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My husband, and I stayed here just last week for our second honeymoon. We stayed at the hotel for 3 days, and 2 nights. This was our first time at Silka. We stayed at BP during our visit to HKG 2 years ago. Anyway, although the room was quite small compared with the room of our hotel before, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erika21
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Erika21 First of all, please accept our heartiest congratulations and best wishes on the occasion of our 2nd second honeymoon; and we are indeed honoured that you have chosen our hotel to celebrate such an important event in your life. It is always a great moral booster for our team members when we receive commendations for our hotel; both...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I booked this hotel for a 3day stop over in December. The room was very small which I would expect. The issue is that the air conditioning could not be switched off. It was on permanently 24 hours a day and sounded like a motor boat engine. I called reception and was told it was automatic and there was nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ronan S
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ronan Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Your comments about the room air cond have been channelled to the relevant department to trouble shoot and in regards to the behaviour of our team member, please allow me to investigate further. Rest assured, the associate concerned shall be reprimanded accordingly and service enhancement procedures shall be...

devon
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This hotel, while centrally situated, consists of regular rooms which are tiny and claustrophobic. There was barely room for a 4' 6" bed pushed against the wall, a small bedside table and one stool. The bathroom was tiny also. The decor was dowdy and old fashioned and the bed was not new either. The net curtains looked as though they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lillibetdevon
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa B Thank you for your feedback and we will certainly look into the areas as mentioned for improvement possibilities. In regards to the size of the rooms however, we do have different room categories in our hotel to suit the varying needs of our guests. Nevertheless, please do accept my sincere apologies for not being able to make...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Rooms are extremely small. Having stayed numerous hotels in HK, this is by far the smallest. I was allocated a smoking room though I did indicate that I want a non smoking one. And they ran out of it. Lift was really slow small. I won't say that the room is clean but it is not dirty. Location is okay....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michellejanelle
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MichelleJanelle Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us and we do apologise that we were not able to meet up to your expectations. Whilst we will look into the areas of concern whereby we can further improve on our delivery of service, we are however unable to change the size of our rooms which is beyond...

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Rooms are very small, I can barely walk around. This hotel is located few blocks from Yau Ma Tei MTR station which makes it easy for us to go to one place to another. We were provided 2 single beds instead of 1 queen sized so make sure to request for your preference on your booking. Breakfast is ok. Considering...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roadlesstravelled1
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear roadlesstravelled1 Thank you for your support and constructive feedback. I do agree with you, that the luxury of space is definitely not our plus point but where we lack; we definitely try to make up such as providing our guests with a sumptuous buffet (instead of providing MacDonald vouchers); complimentary scheduled shuttle service to designated locations, the convenient location...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Location is great as it is 5 mins walk to Exit C of Yaumatei station. We took the airport bus and it took us only 45mins to reach the hotel. The bus stops along Nathan Road and from there, it is only about 5mins walk to the hotel. We took the bus to airport and it took about the same...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Exceeding_Joy
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Exceeding_Joy Thank you for the comments of your recent stay with us. We do realise our shortfall would be the size of our rooms but where we lack in the luxury of space, we try to make this up with our plus factors such as the location of the hotel, full service even though we are positioned as a...

Makati, Philippines
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Everything in this hotel is reduced to Alice In Wonderland smallness. The lobby is small considering the influx of people milling in and out, the corridors were claustrophibically tight, andthe bed and bathroom were I think were built for petite people. I won't consider staying there again. :( Staff were helpful though, especially when they were assisting us with our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gen E
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gen_Gerodias Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip. We are happy that you have found our team members helpful throughout your stay with us. Unfortunately, there's nothing much we can do in terms of the structure of the building nor the luxury of space for our hotel. So, where we lack, we try to...

Davao City, Philippines
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The location of the hotel is ok . Its very near the night market and the mtr. However, the room is very small approximately 15 sq meters. I wont advice caucasians to stay here, the bathroom ceiling i very low and the area is very small. Relatively clean but hotel staff are the worst !

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aldavao
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka Seaview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aldavao Thank you for your feedback pertaining to your recent stay at the hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies on the non-delivery of service by my team members. Rest assured, I will address all aspect of services provided by our associates with my senior team members and ensure that proper procedures are put in place to uplift the level...

674 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (478)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (56)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
0:42
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (226)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (168)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin Room (30)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin Room with City View (25)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Suite (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
#185 of 712 in Hong Kong
421 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
#194 of 712 in Hong Kong
782 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Silka Far East Hotel
Silka Far East Hotel
#197 of 712 in Hong Kong
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
M1 Hotel
M1 Hotel
#279 of 712 in Hong Kong
156 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 712 in Hong Kong
3,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Jordan / Yau Ma Tei

Neighbourhood Profile
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Jordan and Yau Ma Tei neighbourhood is where you will find some of the more authentic areas of Hong Kong. Not as glamourous or busy as its neighbours Mong Kok to the north or Tsim Sha Tsui to the south, Yau Ma Tei is often mistakenly overlooked by visitors on their trips to Hong Kong. Exploring parts of this area makes you feel like you’ve been transported back in time. A large part of the neighbourhood draws from the rich history of Temple Street, stretching from Jordan to Yau Ma Tei, where a mix of dai pai dongs (outdoor restaurants), market stalls, fortune tellers and old karaoke bars bring out the history and culture of the area. The neighbourhood is a showcase of diversity – different ethnicities, cultures, and a mix of old and new.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Breakfast Available
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Silka Seaview, Hong Kong is situated in Yau Ma Tei, one of the most vibrant districts of Hong Kong. The hotel has 268 well-designed guest rooms to provide all the comforts of home. Just a footstep away from Yau Ma Tei MTR Station and right next to the Temple Street Market and Jade Market, the hotel's prime location provides unrivaled access to the busy commercial and entertainment life of the city. Complimentary in-town shuttle bus service is available, and the hotel offers the best value for money and a perfect accommodation for travellers on a budget. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Silka Seaview Hotel

Address: No.268 Shanghai Street, Yaumatei, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Price Range: RM244 - RM713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka Seaview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Silka Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Seaview Hong Kong
Hotel Dorsett Seaview
Silka Seaview Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Silka Seaview Hotel staff and other travellers.
34 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (34)

Questions? Get answers from Silka Seaview Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to ask for a room on a non-smoking floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Dadzee_A, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the higher floors as the view is lovely and no noise.”
 of 5 bubbles TheresaBurger, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you don't smoke make sure your room is on a non smoking floor.”
 of 5 bubbles kathyj1949, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose at least the delux room for a little more space”
 of 5 bubbles poonie17, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“there are only three (I think) non-smoking room, ask for it”
 of 5 bubbles DWeekendExplorer, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5