We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Two MacDonnell Road

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Two MacDonnell Road
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Two MacDonnell Road
See the most recent reviews
Showing 95: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is on mid-levels, which means that it is quiet, with beautiful views and mid to high end restaurants. Right next to hk botanical and zoological park, a high end supermarket, and a very good vegan restaurant (good for me, since im a veggie). There are free shuttles that can bring to down, but bus 12a works too. Very spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie W
Arden K, Guest Services Manager at Two MacDonnell Road, responded to this review

Dear Annie W, Thank you for taking the time to share you review on Tripadvisor community. We are thrilled to know that you enjoy your stay with us and love the beautiful scenery from Two MacDonnell Road. Your kind words give us enormous encouragement and strive to improve better. Please do not hesitate to let us know if we could...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at Two MacDonnell Road several times on my business trips to HK. I tend to eat in Central around business meetings so value 2MDR for its comfortable rooms, quiet and location just by the Botanical Gardens. It is an easy 20 minute walk down to IFC & Exchange Square in the morning through the gardens and then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevenrU7697HW
Michael K, Manager at Two MacDonnell Road, responded to this review

Dear stevenrU7697HW, Greetings from Two MacDonnell Road. Thank you for your recent stay with us and your valuable comment on Tripadvisor. Please feel free to contact us again if any assistance and we are looking forward to warmly welcome you back in the near future. Yours sincerely, Michael Kong Executive Assistant Manager

Old Westbury, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent overall. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Room is good size , clean with kitchen and microwave and refrigerator. Nice large flat TV. Centrally located and convenient. Nice view from our 20th floor rooom

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alfonso C
Michael K, Manager at Two MacDonnell Road, responded to this review

Dear Alfonso C, Greetings from Two MacDonnell Road. Thank you for your recent stay with us and your valuable comment on Tripadvisor. We are more than happy to hear that you enjoyed to stay with us and the services from our colleagues. Please feel free to contact us again if any assistance and we are looking forward to warmly welcome...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room clean tidy nice view of botanic gardens room did not come with tea coffee milk upon arrival we are a couple in our 50s every thing else was fine hotels cafe did not appeal to us close to a supermarket and restaurant great for public transport

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
Arden K, Guest Services Manager at Two MacDonnell Road, responded to this review

Dear Richard C, Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor community. We are happy to hear that your current stay with us was comfortable and enjoyable. Please do not hesitate to contact me anytime if I can assist you on any future stay with Two MacDonnell Road. We look forward to welcome you back in...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is actually a residence with hotel rooms in it. It is on MacDonell Road near the top of the Mid Levels on the Hong Kong side. It is quiet due to the residential nature of the building. I used to book a junior suite which had 2 rooms and a small kitchen. I slept in one room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shumanfoo
Michael K, Manager at Two MacDonnell Road, responded to this review

Dear Shumanfoo, Greetings from Two MacDonnell Road. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed to stay with us and thank you for your valuable comment which encouraging our further. Please feel free to contact me if any further assistance and looking forward to see you again at Two MacDonnell Road as home away from home. Thank you very...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel because my partner used to hang out in this neighbourhood many years ago, and also because two of our friends live down the street. The hotel is quiet, doesn't seem overly busy. The hotel room was fairly large (for Hong Kong). We had a suite, although we didn't use the cooking facilities. There was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlmostCuban
Michael K, Manager at Two MacDonnell Road, responded to this review

Dear AlmostCuban, Greetings from Two MacDonnell Road. Thank you for your recent stay with us that you have enjoyed and glad to hear your positive comment on Tripadvisor. Please feel free to contact us if any further assistance and looking forward to warmly welcome you back in the near future. Yours sincerely, Michael Kong Executive Assistant Manager

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

First of all, there is a dirty glass with a spoon in it at the sink when i first walk in to our room. I was questioning is there anyone already live in this room?? Other than that, everything looks good and neats. It is closed to the heart of Hong Kong Island, but don't try to get a taxi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yitaky
Michael K, Manager at Two MacDonnell Road, responded to this review

Dear yitaky, Greetings from Two MacDonnell Road. First of all, thank you for your recent stay with us. I'm regret to hear that you have encountered unpleasant experience and we couldn't recover. Please accept my sincere apologies regarding our failed to deliver what should provided your pleasant accommodation as our service standard of Two MacDonnell Road. I have emphasized to...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Good - good room size for Hong Kong - free shuttle at peak rush hour - more than expected space for our bags. Friendly staff. Not affecting us - no breakfast in the cafe, not located in Central but in Mid-Levels, not full hotel services but only serviced apartments. Very satisfied; definitely high on our list for when we next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey H
Michael K, Manager at Two MacDonnell Road, responded to this review

Dear Geoffrey H, Greetings from Two MacDonnell Road. Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are more than happy to hear that you have enjoyed to stay with us. Please feel free to contact us directly for your next visit to Hong Kong. Thank you very much and looking forward to serve you again in the near future....

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 31 October 2016

After arrival I was happy to enjoy fast internet and a friendly services. But there are several shortcomings. 1.) You get only 2 waterbottles on your arrival. Afterwards you have to manage yourself your watersupply during your stay 2.) Waterpressure in the room is ridiculous. I enjoy a strong shower in the morning theis place is more offering dropping of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelguros
Michael K, Manager at Two MacDonnell Road, responded to this review

Dear travelguros, Greetings from Two MacDonnell Road. Thank you for your recent stay with us. I'm regret to hear that your unpleasant experience encountered during your stay. We would look into the matter according to your valuable comment in regard the water pressure issue and the arrangement of bottle water replenishment. Once again, thank you for your positive comment. This...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Very large rooms and friendly staff. I would like to thank Ricky who was very helpful on recommending places to visit and places to eat. The shuttle only runs on rush hours morning and afternoon; other than those times, you can take a bus across the street to take you to the nearest MTR or take the taxi. Also there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 324Traveler
Michael K, Manager at Two MacDonnell Road, responded to this review

Dear 324Traveler, Greetings from Two MacDonnell Road. First of all, thank you for your recent stay with us and on behalf of our team and Ricky to appreciate your positive comment. This is a great encouragement for our further development and upkeep our services. Please feel free to contact us if any further assistance and hope to meet you again...

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Garden View Hong Kong
#135 of 702 in Hong Kong
641 reviews
Bishop Lei International House
#138 of 702 in Hong Kong
914 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#42 of 702 in Hong Kong
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#18 of 702 in Hong Kong
724 reviews
Central
Hotel LKF By Rhombus
Hotel LKF By Rhombus
#165 of 702 in Hong Kong
612 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kapok apartment
Kapok apartment
#185 of 702 in Hong Kong
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central

Neighbourhood Profile
Central
When people think of Hong Kong, most imagine movies with famous skyscrapers dominating the skyline. The area widely known as Central is the major financial hub and entertainment district, which truly lives up to the saying, “work hard, play hard.” Bars stay open late into the night and there just happens to be a street party every weekend. Although everything seems to be operating at lightning speed, Central is full of quiet, hidden gems. Nestled between office towers are wet markets and some of the city’s oldest restaurants dating back to the 1960s. Feeling a bit overwhelmed? Retreat from the crowds by exploring beautifully restored historical buildings and even a green oasis of botanical gardens.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Hong Kong Island, Two MacDonnell Road enjoys a commanding position in the sightseeing, restaurants, shopping hub of Hong Kong. Situated only 1.2 Km from the city center, guests are well located to enjoy the town's attractions and activities. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. The facilities and services provided by Two MacDonnell Road ensure a pleasant stay for guests. Guests of the hotel can enjoy on-site features like disabled facilities, airport transfer, car park, business center, coffee shop. The hotel features 213 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each including television, microwave, television LCD/plasma screen, internet access - wireless, satellite/cable TV. The hotel offers fantastic facilities, including fitness center, to help you unwind after an action-packed day in the city. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Hong Kong, make Two MacDonnell Road your home away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Two MacDonnell Road

Address: 2 Macdonnell Road | Mid-Levels, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Price Range: RM560 - RM1,609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Two MacDonnell Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Two MacDonnell Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Macdonnell Road
Two Macdonnell Road Hotel Hong Kong
Two Macdonnell Road Hong Kong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Two MacDonnell Road staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Two MacDonnell Road staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The high floors have excellent views and the lifts are fast enough that it won't matter.”
 of 5 bubbles TarunP69, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Corner deluxe with view over central is best but even junior with inland view is OK but most of the scene is of the adjacent high rise on Magazine Gap Rd. Don't do any deep fat frying on the hob!!”
 of 5 bubbles 577JohnD577, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not king size bed.”
 of 5 bubbles Casper2005, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Opt for high floors for the views. ”
 of 5 bubbles AYChan, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I always used a junior suite.”
 of 5 bubbles Shumanfoo, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay