We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

New Garden Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Management photos
New Garden Hostel
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 18: English reviews
Sabah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked under New Garden Hostel but we don't actually stay here due to during the check-in, since they have few other properties under one management, the reception told us that they can't guarantee our room will be in the same floor as we booked 2 rooms ( single & twin bed) and toilet will not be inside the room.... More 

Helpful?
Thank EffyLau
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

its kind of a mixed experience. when we arrived to check in they gave us an explanation how to 'express' check in. so if you add them on wechat and like them on facebook you can check in quicker (dont know why we had to wait anyways) and if you write a positive review on tripadvisor or google (without even... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sinead J
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2015

I booked this because Ctrip had tons of positive reviews. I wish I had also looked at Trip Advisor’s, as here are more accurate reviews. The place is mediocre even for a college student’s standard while traveling in Hong Kong. One of the room’s AC units didn’t work, so they moved us somewhere else. The wifi, which they said would... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mueller85
USA_Jeffery, staff at New Garden Hostel, responded to this review

But also, as you said, as hotels in Hong Kong, if you choose standard rooms are like this, there is no wifi no windows, luggage should be charged, but also very grateful to you this fact, this is mainly because the price determined to be here repeat because these are tips on the Internet, some guests did not see us... More 

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Macau, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2014

The hostel is located within a large building full of other hostels and serviced apartments. The lifts are a complete nightmare and seem to be permanently full - there are a few lifts but each one only serves a few floors so there will be only one you will be able to take. The building is dirty and needs renovating.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Clare W
USA_Jeffery, staff at New Garden Hostel, responded to this review

Begin with an apology, no other to your satisfaction, your suggestion we will humbly accept, will go perfect, but this is a hotel, but at an affordable, courteous service, location and the famously, and we knew he could not luxurious compared hotel, but we can be the same area as the leading hotel and proud, we also believe that if... More 

Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Small Room, attached with bathroom with no locked AC Good Condition, Good Location Near In MRT Station but the room located @ 13th floor. Few Steps away to Avenue of star, Avenue of Comic star and Kowloon Park theres a lot of Malls in the area

Helpful?
Thank JoeArcy
USA_Jeffery, staff at New Garden Hostel, responded to this review

As a hotel, we would appreciate your support, we are located in the Tsim Sha Tsui Mirador Mansion 13th floor C2, a dedicated reception desk, take the elevator to the 13th floor, you can directly in the hotel next to the United States. Our check-in time is after 2 pm, check-out before 11:00, office hours are 9:00 am to 1:00,... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE. We booked through AsiaRooms.com and had no idea what we were getting ourselves into. The hostel is super sketchy - down an alley, up an elevator, around a corner, through a hallway just to try to find the reception. They took forever, then handed us towels, and had us follow a random girl around another corner,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Amalea S
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

The guys who run this place are migrants from Shanghai. Tourist places in China / Hong Kong often attract a quality of people from other places in China which are even by Chinese standards money greedy. Its cleaner tough than the Garden Hostel in the 3rd floor.

Helpful?
4 Thank alexanderkn12
Suffolk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

I can't believe this hostel is still going! Beware which hostel you book into in Hong Kong - many of the hostels in Mirador Mansions are linked, ie. if you book into one, you might get placed in a room that belongs to another one. This one is kith and kin to the 'Kowloon Hostel', I think, but they all... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Englishrose22
bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2010

I book online from hostelworld.com and see review 70% up comment about good location and cheap price i see the picture in the website think it not bad reasonable price. When i go to the hotel i suddenly surprise the size of room it look very small no window and no private bathroom must share with other.i ask for the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank intranee
All over
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2009

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! This place is horrible. The room was seriously tiny. The room stank of mold from the bathroom. The toilet didn't flush (we filled the rubbish bin from the shower and poured that down to flush the toilet) Someone tried our door every night. The door latch only just made it into the frame. Nothing was done... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank shmaun

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Merryland Guest House
Merryland Guest House
#47 of 237 in Hong Kong
54 reviews
Mong Kok
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
#11 of 158 in Hong Kong
368 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Apple Hostel
Apple Hostel
#20 of 158 in Hong Kong
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Ashoka Guest House
Ashoka Guest House
#71 of 237 in Hong Kong
113 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Cosmic Guest House Hong Kong
Cosmic Guest House Hong Kong
#85 of 237 in Hong Kong
182 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
KG Garden Guest House
KG Garden Guest House
#384 of 701 in Hong Kong
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about New Garden Hostel

Address: F1, E1, 13F, C1, D1 Mirador Mansion, 58 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Kowloon Hostel)
Region: China > Hong Kong
Price Range: RM107 - RM551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — New Garden Hostel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your New Garden Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Garden Hotel Hong Kong
New Garden Hostel Hong Kong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from New Garden Hostel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from New Garden Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay