We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
259 Outram Road Coller Boutique Hostel, Singapore 169056 Singapore
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$174
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$87
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/22
Trip.com
US$126
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (150)
Dining (38)
Room & Suite (31)

About

#36 of 372 Specialty lodging in Singapore
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located along Outram Road, Coller Boutique Hostel is within a 5-minute walk to the heritage neighborhood of Tiong Bahru. This modern hostel is fully air-conditioned and guests can relax on the open terrace or have a drink at the in-house bistro bar. Free WiFi is available throughout the property. Coller Boutique Hostel is 1.1 km from Tiong Bahru MRT Station and a 5-minute bus ride to Outram MRT Station. Chinatown is 1.8 km away while the shopping district of Orchard Road is a 10-minute drive from the hostel. All the dormitory rooms come with towels, linen and free toiletries. A personal locker is offered. Guests have the option of en suite or non-en suite rooms, with access to a shared bathroom and toilet. The property offers a security access system and is equipped with CCTVs. Guests enjoy scheduled pick-up from Tiong Bahru MRT. Tiong Bahru is a great choice for travellers interested in food, tourist attractions and culturally diverse food.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Game room
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Microwave
Refrigerator
Bidet
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Malay
131Reviews22Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 90
  • 32
  • 5
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Era wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
There are the 2 female Malay receptionists cannot listen and cannot smile.. Hotel rule is to open the door and switch the aircon 11AM until 2 PM.. And they didn’t come back at all.I slept without aircon. Next day they turned it on until i had cough. And they never informed guests have to exchange the towel at the lobby. Everyone who stayed a night they left the towel. After they left nobody collect it. ability is so poor.. Never do sth you pleased. If you need anything they’ll not help and give their stupid fu..ed up face all the time..
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Brian S wrote a review Oct 2019
Melbourne, Australia81 contributions22 helpful votes
I stayed here twice during my trip through Singapore and Malaysia and enjoyed myself very much. The staff were really good to me and the hostel conditions were very good, including the free breakfast - several food options are nearby including some awesome baos. Outram Road Station is a bit of a walk but I didn't find anything wrong with this place.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Adam_Howeee wrote a review Sep 2019
Exeter, United Kingdom59 contributions3 helpful votes
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this accommodation! 6 mixed dorm, very quiet and relaxing. Friendly staff. Clean common areas Large electronic lockers within bed area Easy 10 minute walk the closest station Would stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
lleong05 wrote a review Sep 2019
Milpitas, California3 contributions3 helpful votes
I stayed in a co-ed 8 people room with no ensuite bathroom. I loved Thads for various reasons. There is room for improvement, however. Location. The location is central and the bus is just across the street. There are various options for food-- Tiong Bahru market has great eats. Under Thad's hostel is a cool bar and it does get loud on the weekends. It wasn't a problem for me. The area is in an older part of Singapore, but I felt safe. Hostel amenities. All basic necessities are there, but you get a new towel only every other day. I love the in-bunk storage. I'd just unpack and put everything in there and that made life very convenient. Their water refilling station is awesome. There is basic breakfast every morning, but there is so much food in the neighborhood (talking about $2-3 per plate and $1 fresh sugar cane juice), I'd rather eat at the hawkers nearby. There are 2 bathrooms with a rainfall shower and 2 sinks. Washer and dryer available for $4 each use. Most people used the washer and dried their clothes on a small dry rack across the lounge area. Comfort. The sheets and bedding were hotel quality and I was really comfortable. The bed is on the harder side, but I prefer a harder bed in general. The AC was super strong and it feels amazing during the hot day, but I'd wake up with sniffles in the morning. My 2 biggest complaint: TOWELS AND VENTILATION. The towel rack/luggage rack in the room reeked because of the poor ventilation. The towels never dried while in the rooms. My bed was right next to the towel rack and the mildew smell permeated in my space. I brought it to front desk's attention and asked for another bed. I was told they would open the doors to the rooms and let the rooms air out between 11-3. I was thinking it meant towels would air out for 4 hours. That wasn't the case-- housekeeping opens the room only while cleaning and then it gets closed when they are done. By the next day, it still stank. On the 2nd night I used perfume in my bunk to mask the smell. 8 mildew/wet towels in a small space, just imagine. It also didn't help when one of the girls there onky did her laundry once during her 5 week stay in Singapore. So her stuff smelled bad. I was 1 foot from all the smelliness. Finally, the problem was resolved when a bunch of people checked out on the 3rd day of my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
KevinHomberg wrote a review Aug 2019
5 contributions
I have stayed for almost 2 weeks in this hostel with one weekend in between. For me, being almost 2 meters tall the beds were a bit short but I cannot complain about that as for a regular person the beds should be big enough. The matras was comfortable and the sheet were clean. Every morning a basic breakfast is served consisting of bread/toast en cereals with milk,juice, coffee and tea. If you want to relax you can either go out to the patio's or get a drink at the bar attached to the hostel. The second week I spent at the hostel I was in an other room directly located next to the bathrooms. I could hear the water running pretty well when someone was taking a shower or flushing the toilet which is one of negatives. Furthermore the matras was less comfy as it was less thick and could feel some spings inside. But I still had some good sleeps. In conclusion, I enjoyed staying at the hostel and the personal was really friendly to help whenever was needed!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Akram S wrote a review Aug 2019
Dubai, United Arab Emirates253 contributions200 helpful votes
The main problem with this hostel is that it’s trying to be something it isn’t! It tries to be a cool modern place but it lacks so many things that other hostels around the world is having! First of all, it has no vibe! It’s also very depressing, gives you a feeling that the country is going through a war or something despite that every local that I’ve met elsewhere was exceptionally friendly and happy. Some of the staff never smiled even once and weren’t very welcoming. The common area was boring and you can tell it wasn’t looked after. I’m not going to comment on the breakfast because it was seriously the worst that I’ve had in my life. I almost skipped every day and had it somewhere else. Rooms were clean though!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Boabin wrote a review Aug 2019
Seoul, South Korea74 contributions49 helpful votes
Currently staying at the premises for the rest this week. After returning to the dorm after 9pm, I noticed that the room was quite warm. However, I saw that the air conditioner was switched off and 2 fans were on instead, so I thought that there must have been a restriction on the air con use (I had arrived after 10pm the previous nights). When 10:30pm hit and the room hadn't cooled, I figured something was up so I headed to reception. I asked if there was a problem with unit in the female ensuite dorm. Receptionist confirmed that. I asked why there wasn't a notice placed in the room to inform guests, to which he said there was and then believed that I was telling him the truth. His solution was that the earliest someone could come was the Monday, I'd have no air con for 2 nights. This was not good. Once I returned to the dorm, I was met by 4 other guests. One informed me that it hadn't been working since 11:30am (I had left at 7am for work), it was now after 11pm at night. She had also gone in the morning to discuss it with reception. The hostel had 12 hours by this point to have done something. So, with that we all proceeded back to reception. Reception did their best to try and get someone. He couldn't get a hold of their serviceman nor his own boss. Eventua!ly he got through. The boss suggested we all split into mixed dorms as it was IMPOSSIBLE to get a 24/7 repairman (not true). This was not what we had paid for. Luckily, they managed to get a worker to come by 1:11am. The serviceman managed to get some cool air by 3:30am. This was not the end though. When I awoke at 6am to head to work, the air conditioner broke down, again. Who knows if it will be fu!ly operational later. There are also issues with the flush on the toilet and the wristband access key. Locked out so many times. Back in 2016 this place was really nice. Sad to see it deteriorate.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ThadsBH, Front Office Manager at Coller Boutique Hostel
Responded 5 Aug 2019
Dearest Boabin, Thank you for taking time to write us a review. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused as we tried to get the aircon fixed over the day. However it was a Sunday and some of the shops which we had needed the parts were closed. Also being Sunday, our usual repair contractor is not available and we had spent nearly the entire day looking for an available one. We hope that you understand that it is not that we did not do anything but ta lot of effort was put in throughout the process. For example, our staff had worked from 7am to almost 4am trying to resolve this issue. Hence with this understanding, we had offered affected guests either a room change or a refund of the affected nights. However we are not able to accede to your request of a FULL refund as you have already stayed with us for quite many days before this incident happen. We hope you can be fair to us and not take advantage of the situation. The wristband was also working fine too as we had demonstrated to you each time you approached us saying it is not working.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sau Yi wrote a review Jul 2019
Hong Kong, China117 contributions16 helpful votes
This is my 3rd time staying in this place. Definitely more crowded and popular, especially among backpackers. The room is fantastic, functional and reasonably clean but the biggest disappointment is the bathroom. It is visually apparent that the general maintenance and cleaning are not up to pace with the growth of tenants in the hostel (surely, the behavior of the visitors matter too). There was flash when the hair dryer was turned on (according to a roommate of mine, this was flagged to the staff but it was not being taken care of after a week, probably still not by the time this review was written). Some parts of the bathroom are a bit rusty and a lot of cleaning utensil and stuff are just exposed (for no reasons) which does not look very comfortable. The air refresher was inserted with some tissue paper (not sure why; see picture) and thus is not very functional. The bathroom area is quite hot as well as the ventilation was not working very well (not sure if it is properly turned on). This hostel is a great place to its value; but if you cannot survive without a clean toilet, this may not be the place. ps. the hostel has been re-branded in early July. hopefully they will do some renovation and increase maintenance.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ThadsBH, Front Office Manager at Coller Boutique Hostel
Responded 17 Jul 2019
Dear Shau Yi, We have noted on your feedback and are working towards resolving all these issues. You may be happy to hear that we have installed fans in our bathrooms and put up signs to encourage guests to be considerate while using public areas. Thank you for staying with us and we sincerely hope to welcome you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sal1012018 wrote a review May 2019
Toronto, Canada25 contributions22 helpful votes
The hostel is modern and in a good location, but it lacks a social atmosphere. All the guests seemed to keep to them selves and there were no events happening at the hostel. The bar in the lounge was closed during my stay and the place felt empty. The design of the hostel is nice, but it was very dark, no windows in the dorms. The hot water in the showers got cold after 5 mins. The location is in a quiet neighbourhood, about 10-15 min walk to the metro and 30 mins walk to Chinatown/ downtown. There's a great hawker center down the street and a 7/11 as well.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ThadsBH, Front Office Manager at Coller Boutique Hostel
Responded 17 Jul 2019
Dear Sali, We have noted on your feedback and are working towards resolving all these issues. You may be happy to hear that we have revamped our social areas to encourage interactions amongst guests and also started to introduce events such as walking tours and games sessions. Thank you for staying with us and we sincerely hope to welcome you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sabia H wrote a review Apr 2019
Gili Trawangan, Indonesia14 contributions3 helpful votes
Had a good two night stay here. Clean and friendly staff. Definitely recommend these guys. Good location too and breakfast included! The rooms en beds are big enough! Thumbs up for you! See you next time!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ThadsBH, Front Office Manager at Coller Boutique Hostel
Responded 17 Jul 2019
Dear Sir/Mdm Thank you for staying with us and we sincerely hope to welcome you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$84 - US$183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Thad's Boutique Hostel
LOCATION
SingaporeSingaporeTiong Bahru / Bukit Merah
NUMBER OF ROOMS
68
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COLLER BOUTIQUE HOSTEL (R̶M̶ ̶6̶9̶9̶) RM 399: See 102 Reviews, Price Comparison and 171 Photos (Singapore)

Frequently Asked Questions about Coller Boutique Hostel
Which popular attractions are close to Coller Boutique Hostel?
Nearby attractions include The Past Perfect Collection (0.3 km), Degiosart (0.2 km), and Silken Treasure (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Coller Boutique Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Coller Boutique Hostel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a bidet.
What food & drink options are available at Coller Boutique Hostel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Coller Boutique Hostel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Coller Boutique Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Merci Marcel Tiong Bahru, BAKALAKI Greek Taverna, and Tiong Bahru Food Centre.
Are any cleaning services offered at Coller Boutique Hostel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Coller Boutique Hostel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Malay.
Are there any historical sites close to Coller Boutique Hostel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Battlebox (1.8 km), Fort Siloso (4.1 km), and Emerald Hill (2.3 km).