We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

City Backpackers

Booking.comUS$29*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$52*
US$29*
Great Deal
US$46*
US$35*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
City Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 51: English reviews
Start your review of City Backpackers
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I did not expect the place to be tgat bad. Toilets and Bathrooms are dirty. Wash basin is soooooo dirty. Lights spoilt not repaired. The worst of all..I booked a private room for 6 but the room is with a plastic wall partition. In the middle of the night, our neighbour made so much noise till the wee hours. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
Iloilo City, Philippines
Reviewed 13 April 2017

As you can see all the reviews below are all negative but i was hoping that even the comments are terrible i could sleep in this type of accommodation. I do understand this is a hostel,bunk beds and everything ,but the thing that disappoints me most is the SECURITY & SAFETY .We arrived at the area around 12:00 mn and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ayay182
India
Reviewed 8 April 2017

The location was near to clark quay metro station. The breakfast is same everyday. The old housekeeping lady was unfriendly and used to stare whenever i asked her to clean my room. I was disappointed when they told me to change my room stating one group is arriving and those group needs to accommodate in my room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sohan g
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

I was so impressed with the location and staff, but one of housekeeper she pushed me away when I was standing in front of the mirror for make-up and didn't say sorry or anything. Even they have CCTV but one of my friend was stolen money as well. Although, a lot of thing happened there I still recommend this hotel...

Review collected in partnership with ASUS 6 Stub App Smartphone
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jijiiuus
Kash R, Manager at City Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Jijiuus, thank you for sharing your experience with us. Matters pertaining to staff service standards will be scrutinised and addressed and rest assured rectification to the processes will be implemented. We are implementing tighter security measures to ensure safety & security of guests' belongings. We look forward to welcoming you back to City Backpackers Hostel!

Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Im sorry for saying that. But if u r patient to listen to me, u will know why. I came to Sing from Malaysia in 16th July and i booked 1 room for 1 night in this hotel. When i arrived, they said the ac in the room was not working, we said: ok, fine. We can stay in fan...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Hoa L
Terry G, Manager at City Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Ms. Hoa Le, Thank you for your feedback. We want to sincerely apologize about us not being able to accommodate you due to inevitable circumstances. Your comfort is our number one priority and not having an airconditioning unit is going to be a huge let down and so we have decided to relocate you at a different hostel. As...

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 25 June 2016

The location is great and the staffs were amazing. A little problem with the shower but you have an option to use the other floors shower room. Free breakfast and good wifi reception. Location is near clark quay and the golden shoe complex food centre in market street. About 20 mins walk to Merlion. its simple place with a very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ajula
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

The staff here are so lovely and helpful. The dorms are clean, comfortable and cool. Really good location right by Clarke quay (nightlife/shopping area). Free computers to use in the common area along with free coffee and toast to start off your day! Would definitely recommend to any backpackers heading to Singapore.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hebe A
Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 28 May 2016

Instead of going to Blissful Loft, I went to City Backpackers because I saw a seal of Trip Advisor at their entrance. The stairs were so steep that I have a hard time reaching the reception and even my dorm room. In the dorm, the floor space was not that spacious as compared with other hostel. The amenities were not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohnGex
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

located nearby the center of clarke quay, this hostel is cheap, clean, recommended for staying with a group of friends. like any other hostel, they provide dinner, free wifi, and lockers. too bad they don't have female dorm. and there are not much toilet amd bathroom.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mety r
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 10 November 2015

I and my friend was arrive at hostel on the morning but can't check in yet so they recommended us for shower and go sightseeing...Staff so kind and friendly. In addition clean bed and bathroom.Really great location near to Clark quay just walk only 5 min

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarunyupa

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.1 km away
Jayleen Clarke Quay Hotel
Jayleen Clarke Quay Hotel
#158 of 308 in Singapore
41 reviews
0.0 km away
Fragrance Hotel - Riverside
Fragrance Hotel - Riverside
#141 of 308 in Singapore
800 reviews
0.1 km away
Jayleen 1918 Hotel
Jayleen 1918 Hotel
#174 of 308 in Singapore
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Blissful Loft
Blissful Loft
#178 of 225 in Singapore
51 reviews
0.0 km away
River City Inn
River City Inn
#23 of 225 in Singapore
798 reviews
0.0 km away
Beds and Dreams Inn Clarke Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about City Backpackers

Address: 18 Hongkong Street City Backpackers, Singapore 059661, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Price Range: RM47 - RM309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Backpackers Singapore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from City Backpackers staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Suva, Fiji

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from City Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“dont ever think about staying here”
ayay182, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are same”
sohang787, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Better to check first any hotel or hostel before checking in”
JohnGex, 27 May 2016 | Read review
“A quad room will be perfect for a family w/ 4 members...if privacy matter.”
409muhammad, 19 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Pay a little more for comfort!”
mustang808, 5 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$29* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$46
Agoda.comUS$35
ElvolineUS$52
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates