We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel 81 - Star

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel 81 - Star
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

517 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 297: English reviews
Lahore, Pakistan
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is small, the staff speaks politely but you wont get any amenities like bowls or plates. Room service also does a poor job cleaning up and i didnt really trust leaving out even a hairbrush in the hotel. Avoid this place if your with family because its near brothels and the nearest SMRT station (Aljuneid) is 15 min.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taimoorsalmanzahid
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was staying at this hotel with my friends and we booked two rooms. It was good enough and comfortable as well but the location is at a red light district area and there is no toilet in the lobby while I needed to use it after checking out so I must look for a public toilet at the mrt...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TamaGTY
Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is clean with reasonable price (even at Christmas). Rooms are supplied with steady hot water for shower, which made the trip unforgettable. This is our third trip to Singapore in 2016; and Hotel 81 Star is our choice beyond doubt. This is because of the good service and attitude of the staff team. The services here are consistently...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yauyauyauyau
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Star, responded to this review

Dear Yauyauyauyau, thank you for your kind comments! Hotel Manager Eric and team do certainly work hard to ensure that all our valued guests enjoy a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us at Hotel 81 Star Premier!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel located at red light area, and bathroom is not will all important stuff, like shower is not working, toiled is dirty, no tissue paper, when we ask to hotel management they are very arrogant and not ready to listen, reception stuff is very rude to talk. I booked this hotel and from booking.com and when I spoke to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shanker lal a
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is situated in a red light district,a dodgy area full of brothels.You can find many places where you can eat,but very dirty:rubish everywhere,bad smell,dirty tablrs and chairs.AWFUL.For me was difficult to find a decent place to eat in that area. Hotel is 2 min.away from bus stop and 10 min from MRT.Rooms are very small,smelly,windows could not be open,comfy...

Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 380michael21
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is not very bad for a 2 star.Room was small for a double,a bit smelly with no open window and no wardrobe.Good wifi,clean linen,hard pillows,no face towels.Hotel is two minutes away from bus stop and around 10 min.from MRT.,(a very good public transport) . The major problem of the hotel is the staff:reception and housekeeping.They need to shape their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monapc
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel prices are very high in Singapore so this represented reasonable value. The room was small, but clean and the shower was modern. TV system is very outdated so a DVD player built in or separately available would have been good. I did ask for a glass but was told none were available so I had to make do with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank XYZXYZ123456
NJ
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is my second Hotel 81 experience in my recent trip to Singapore. I booked the room while already in another hotel in Singapore city center by using TripAdvisor app via Agoda. The price was very reasonable. I specifically chose Geylang location for a change of Singapore neighborhood scenery after spending several nights in the city. I was not disappointed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 123kwj
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewed 8 December 2016

This is a Good hotel with a Good efficient reception staff , The hotel is situated in the red light district which is not a problem at all and a very safe place . The Rooms are adequate and clean with a small fridge , coffe and tea facilities , and a safe deposit box . it is about 8...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank marlonvanderwall1956
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Star, responded to this review

Dear marlonvanderwall1956, we are glad our friendly efficient front office staff were able to make your stay a pleasurable one! We do note the issue mentioned amongst all the positive areas highlighted, and be assured that we always price ourselves based on the high quality we work hard to provide. Thank you for your kind comments!

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Situated in vibrant Geylang, Hotel 81 (Premier) Star is a 10-minute walk from Aljunied MRT Station. Only a 20-minute drive from Changi Airport, it offers modern and comfortable accommodation at a convenient location. Free WiFi access is available throughout. Rooms at Hotel 81 (Premier) Star are equipped with satellite TV, a minibar and tea/coffee making facilities. A private bathroom with...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Nirmit S
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Star, responded to this review

Dear Nirmit S, we do appreciate your kind comments. Our team at Hotel 81 Star works hard to ensure our accommodation for our guests are always clean and comfortable! Thank you for your kind feedback!

286 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (142)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (54)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (129)
Viewed
Superior Plus Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
Twin Room (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#110 of 309 in Singapore
754 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 34
Hotel 34
#186 of 309 in Singapore
134 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#139 of 309 in Singapore
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
#129 of 309 in Singapore
909 reviews
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#88 of 309 in Singapore
326 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#125 of 309 in Singapore
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Geylang

Neighbourhood Profile
Geylang
Only a short journey from Singapore’s sparkling and polished city centre, Geylang is a world away. Here in one of the least touristy areas of Singapore, visitors are privy to an unfiltered glimpse of Singapore life. On Sunday afternoons, migrant workers gather in Geylang to let off steam after a tough week. At the eastern end of Geylang Road, families and friends happily enjoy picnics. By contrast, at the western end, a more colourful side of Singapore can be seen, as street workers mingle with Sunday revelers in outdoor coffee shops. Take a friend, grab a beer and a local meal (frog porridge, perhaps?), and settle in to enjoy the show.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Star

Address: 31 Lorong 18 Geylang, Singapore 398828, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Price Range: RM205 - RM281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Star 2*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel 81 - Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Star Singapore
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel 81 - Star staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel 81 - Star staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid as its near the red light district”
 of 5 bubbles taimoorsalmanzahid, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room with the street view”
 of 5 bubbles cucaracha86, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the higher floor are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles HeraHeraC, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“if you are a couple, i suggest you to take a triple room.”
 of 5 bubbles 197pierino, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We faced the main road but no problems at all with noise.”
 of 5 bubbles glenandneil, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay