We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Casa Margouya

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Casa Margouya
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Casa Margouya
See the most recent reviews
Showing 32: English reviews
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 6 January 2015

We made an inquiry 2 days before we went to Puerto Varas. They replied and informed us the double was 24.000 pesos per night. I confirmed the same day but they replied that the room had been taken by someone else. They could, however, offer 2 dorm beds or a double in a different hostel. We went for the double,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
Nico R, Gerente at Casa Margouya, responded to this review

Wow wow ¡ Easy ¡ If we said to you in an email, the room was already book when you confirm , it s because it s booked. We book the room for th efirts person who confirm. After that Emilie tried to help, and if she said she called for , it s because she done it , we...

Ourense, Spain
Reviewed 22 December 2014 via mobile

Generally, I book hostels to...sleep. It's a pity that the guys running the hostel don't share my point of view. All the rooms face the common area and the walls are paper thin. So it was very difficult for me to sleep when people where talking loud till 1 or 2 in the morning. 2 times, out of 3 nights,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jotabe80
Nico R, Owner at Casa Margouya, responded to this review

Just few things : it s an hostal, in an old house , and people try to share and have a good time. The owner wasn t there...it s me and I wasn t in the city. I don t say it s the idea to have party everynights...but it s good to meet people when you are travelling. And...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 20 October 2014

The breakfast is not included but they offer a 50% voucher to a restaurant just around the corner. We didn't use it since we were cooking the whole time we were there. The kitchen is very well-equipped. The staff members are helpful and speak basic English. They seem to finish their shift around 11pm so there is no one to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 80SONYA80
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of days and really enjoyed it. Nico, the owner, is really helpful and full of knowledge on the surrounding area. No free breakfast but he'll give you a voucher for breakfast at barista, just round the corner. The breakfast there was good and coffee excellent. There is a free computer to use in hostel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shantijoy
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We initially tried getting a room at Hostel Margouya 2 (with no prior reservation), but they were full. The owner booked us a private room at Casa Margouya, which we highly appreciated since we had almost run out of options. Casa Margouya is a small hostel located in the center of Puerto Varas. The rooms and the premises are clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
Quito, Ecuador
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Casa Margouya is tiny! There are only two bathrooms, which is an issue in the morning when everyone is taking a shower. I stayed in a top bunk and could not sit up on my bed (and I am not that tall). Staff weren't that friendly either. On the plus side the location is good, and they can book all...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lisa_Kant
Bocas del toro
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We called Casa Margouya in the morning to make a reservation for the same day. They said they had availability and confirmed the reservation. When we arrived, they said there was no reservation for our name. We waited for some time until the receptionist came back. He explained that he had made the reservation for us but then two people...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 391Maria
Pascal76100
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Just stayed only one night at Casa Margouya this week and I can only recommend this hostel. The owner, Nicolas (Frenchman) is a top class bloke. He will be more than happy to give you advice and to make your stay enjoyable. He has been living in chile for 14 years so he knows what he s talking about. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pascal76100
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I stayed here for a few nights during a solo backpacking trip through southern Chile. I found both the staff and the guests to be very friendly and easy going. It's a pretty small hostel with one common area in the middle. Most people congregated in the common area instead of hiding in their rooms, so it made it easy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jno28
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Only a few meters away from the lakeside, Casa Margouya is a small and cozy hostal. We felt very comfortable in the dorm, loved to spend time with other guests and friends in the public area and cooked dinner in the tiny, cute kitchen. A nice place we'd choose again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuMaKumi

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.5 km away
Compass del Sur
Compass del Sur
#16 of 28 in Puerto Varas
150 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
#7 of 28 in Puerto Varas
730 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
#1 of 28 in Puerto Varas
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Patagonico
Hotel Patagonico
#5 of 28 in Puerto Varas
672 reviews
0.3 km away
Solace Hotel
Solace Hotel
#4 of 28 in Puerto Varas
526 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel El Greco
Hotel El Greco
#18 of 28 in Puerto Varas
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our backpackers is downtown location , one block from the lake and main square.Second floor in a wooden house , style "spanish auberge", room around the commun room with share bathroom and a full equiped kitchen. We have a very good turism informations and sale outdoor activities.Wi-fi, books exchange,music, books, table games. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa Margouya

Address: Calle Santa Rosa 318, Puerto Varas, Chile
Region: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Price Range: RM62 - RM192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Casa Margouya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa Margouya staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Casa Margouya staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the room behind the reception desk - it has a huge window with a lake view!”
 of 5 bubbles jno28, 7 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Don't take the right bed in the 6-bed dorm on the right side...or ask if they have cleaned it...or use your sleeping bag (which is helpful in many locations in Chile...)”
 of 5 bubbles DanielB726, 16 Mar 2012 | Read review
2 of 2