We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hostal Forestal

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hostal Forestal
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 31: English reviews
Start your review of Hostal Forestal
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was the best hostel during my trip through southamerica! It was clean, staff was very friendly, the rooms were very lovely, location was GREAT and what made it really special was the special phone: You could make phone calls all over the world FOR FREE! This was amazing and very useful ( if you have to call a bus...

Thank 713ameliel
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Forestal, responded to this review

Awesome is to have passengers like you who appreciate our daily work. We couldn't be happier to read these comments, they only give us energy to keep improving. Happy travel and come back whenever you want!

Crabbes Creek, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A sanctuary from which to explore Santiago. Great to arrive here after the 28 hour bus trip from Arica. Lush parks on the doorstep and architecturally interesting part of Santiago. Handy to the markets and Pablo Neruda's house and adjacent park and boho area and the real Santiago. Much on offer from the Hostal with friendly staff and kitchen. Great...

Thank annleahfreo
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Forestal, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, it makes us work better every day.

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 29 December 2016

STAFF: GREAT!!! They are the best!! Helpful and friendly staff LOCATION: PERFECT!! Close to metro!! BREAKFAST: EXCELLENT ROOM: Clean Everything was perfect!! Thank you!! Excellent place for Price = value .. The best recommendation ..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rebeca B
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Forestal, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! Welcome anytime :)

New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 December 2016

I recently stayed here for 3weeks while studying Spanish in Santiago. The staff were fun, helpful and very accommodating. The rooms were clean and it is located within walking distance to many attractions and very close to both bus and metro. Also, the price was relatively inexpensive considering it's location. Overall this is a friendly, clean and affordable place to...

Thank ChrWils
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Forestal, responded to this review

We are proud of our location and our staff, thank you for your evaluation. Come back anytime!

Sandwich, Massachusetts
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

We loved our stay. Celine and Elliot were so welcoming we felt as though we had walked in to our own home. The beds and bathrooms are CLEAN and comfortable. This is the hostel you are looking for. We were so happy to find this spot after our first hostel in Santiago.. The staff goes above and beyond to make...

Thank Ohana2013
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Forestal, responded to this review

"Oasis and outstanding", two words that work perfectly together to make us fell glad about our work. Thanks for staying with us and having a good time.

Reviewed 26 November 2016

This hostel was easy to find, friendly staff when we walked in, clean, comfortable, I could continue, but overall it was a great place to stay. Celine and Elliott were so welcoming and knowledgable. I look forward to staying here again in a few months.

Thank Grace A
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Forestal, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your review, we like when people feel like home. You're welcome to come any time!

Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Hostal Forestal! It was well located, cheap and clean. Staff is great. Breakfast is good. Laundry service is cheap (3000CHP until 10kg). We found one main inconvinience though: the noise. It is an old house and the isolation is poor. The rooms stand right next to the lobby, with no door inbetween and therefore we...

Thank Sandoz R
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Forestal, responded to this review

We apologize for the inconvenience about the noise, we worry about our guests and sometimes things get out of our hands. Thanks for your advice and welcome back any time.

Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

I had a great time in this hostel, I met like minded travellers and enjoyed the perfect location and comfortable design of the hostel. Elliot, the staff member who was on the night shift when I was there, really went out of his way also to ensure a comfortable stay and was a cool guy. I would comfortably recommend this...

Thank Jesus C
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Forestal, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! It was our pleasure :)

Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

We had a private room at Hostal Forestal and were blown away by the design, it's one of the most stylish places I've stayed. Unfortunately we had a room by reception which was noisy, so you couldn't get to sleep before 1:30. The shower was cold too. Another down side was the breakfast, which wasn't good if you didn't like...

Thank Laura N
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Forestal, responded to this review

Thanks for let us know about your experience at the hostel. We have some policies, one of them, is to keep the voice down after midnight, so, most of the time, the hostel is a place to relax. About the breakfast, we offer a continental breakfast, consists of big bowls of fresh fruit, cereal, toast with jam and butter, juice,...

Reviewed 11 August 2016

Every night, except one, we were kept awake but staff, loud music, and no consideration for other guests, controlling guests and sound levels. The place itself is beautifully designed and well located, but the noisiest place in all of S.America we stayed (whcih is saying something). The showers aren't always warm too, which didn't help. I hate to say it...

Thank Mike H
HostalProvidencia, Gerente at Hostal Forestal, responded to this review

Hi Michael: First I want to tell you that I understand your annoyance by noise at night. I can tell you that I have already taken necessary steps to ensure that does not happen again. Next time, please advise the reception to solve the problem at the moment because our idea is to offer a quality service. We do activities...

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (72)
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Family/Play Areas (2)
Bathroom (4)
View from Room (1)
Dining (1)
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (51)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Bathroom (5)
Other (45)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#87 of 197 in Santiago
577 reviews
Hostal Providencia
#5 of 465 in Santiago
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel
Che Lagarto Hostel
#3 of 465 in Santiago
784 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hostal de la Barra
Hostal de la Barra
#55 of 465 in Santiago
187 reviews
Landay Hostel
#61 of 465 in Santiago
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hostal Forestal is currently a classic and with no doubt the best hostel inside the trendiest Lastarria - Parque Forestal - Bellas Artes neighborhood. Its unique location, next to transportation, local attractions, cafes, restaurants, parks, museums, bars and clubs makes a perfect place for your secure stay in Santiago.Created and currently run by its owners, two young Chilean experienced travelers (Benjamin and Rodrigo) which had the idea to create a unique Hostel in the best location of Santiago de Chile. A place which makes you feel at home and an atmosphere to meet other travelers, relax and party up with people just like you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Forestal

Address: Coronel Santiago Bueras 122, Santiago 8320135, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Price Range: RM62 - RM222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Forestal 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hostal Forestal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Forestal Hotel Santiago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostal Forestal staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hostal Forestal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the 2nd floor are a bit quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles ChrWils, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Way too loud”
 of 5 bubbles mikehS5030TK, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“DON'T take the room next to the entrance door!!”
 of 5 bubbles lyra26, 15 Jan 2015 | Read review
“The downstairs rooms can be loud, as well as the rooms near the street on weekends.”
 of 5 bubbles JoelE8, 11 Jan 2015 | Read review
4 of 4