We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Santiago Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 123: English reviews
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in the luxurious appartment, which is two blocks away from the hostel. 23floor, so a beautiful view, but very much noise from the streets. So you need earplugs to get some sleep. Also no cleaning and no new towels for seconden night. Breakfast is at the hostel, pancake was oké, but rest is a bit of a bummer.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Denise J
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I spent two nights here. Everyone was very helpful and the crowd here were great fun. There is lots of information on things to do. Everybody had great English. The BedRoom and bathroom were clean and comfortable. Thanks for the warm welcome and I will be back 😀

Helpful?
Thank sheeclimber
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

This place is ok and reasonably priced, but we have stayed in much better for the same price (and would have in Santiago if not booking so late). The showers are warm and a reasonable pressure. The wifi is not very strong, and drops out in the rooms sometimes. The beds are very narrow, so hope that you don't have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2016

My stay in the Santiago Backpackers Hostel was very nice! The staff is very friendly and open. I stayed here 4 nights and every night i hung out with the staff and other travelers, we had drinks in the huge livingroom and watched the Olympics. Very comfortable hostel and nice people, in the best location in Santiago. And the breakfast....... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten M
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

I had an average experience here which was disappoints since it was my first night in Chile - very poor service when I initially checked in, the guy on reception didn't even look up from his computer & when I tried to approach him after a few minutes to check in he was very rude and made me feel like... More 

Helpful?
Thank be_le_la_26
Arifurman, Propietario at Santiago Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi be_le_la_26, thanks for your review. We take each of them very seriously and I'm really sorry you had a bad experience on arrival, no one should experience that. I checked the roster and there is only one monday in July where a male receptionist worked at that time, so far we had nothing but good comments about him. I... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

the hostel itself is nice enough, with welcoming staff and a spacious kitchen but my friend and I were put in a tiny little cupboard room with just a bunk bed when we booked online for a twin room. it was cut off from the main hostel and out by a very loud courtyard. the room also had a leak... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jude S
Arifurman, Propietario at Santiago Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Jude, thanks for your review and for the nice comments regarding our staff and facilities. I would like to apologize for not reacting properly after the leak was fixed, that's our bad and we only wish you would have reported it to solve it in 5 minutes. Regarding the room itself, we offer a budget option which is clearly... More 

Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

This hostel is pretty much everything a backpacker needs: safe, clean with informed and friendly staff. It is not fancy, but it is a hostel so that is not required. Unlike their website says, they do NOT have a laundry service. They are helpful with booking tours/making recommendations and are wonderfully flexible and easy going with schedule changes/early arrivals etc.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucy A
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

This place is pretty good for basic backpacker needs but I wouldn't be expecting much more than that. We stayed in the twin room which was clean but it was not as good value for money as it could have been. Don't stay in the room facing the road as this is super noisy in the morning with the traffic.

Helpful?
Thank jonathonyfromsyd
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

Santiago backpackers is a great hostel. I initially booked 4 nights but ended up staying for 10 nights. I then went to Easter Island for a week and returned for a further 5 nights. Was able to leave the bulk of my backpack and belongings in the hostel whilst I was on Easter Island. Returned to find them the same... More 

Helpful?
Thank l300dub
Torino, Italia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Booked a private double bedroom for four nights. We were expecting one of those nice and bright rooms you see in the pictures. How wrong we were. We were given room "Chiloè", a 1.5x3m hole with a dusty bunk bed and a microscopic window. No heater. You get in from a courtyard where people gather up at night, so noisy... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank PietroP91
Arifurman, Owner at Santiago Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Pietro, thanks for your comments. We have a new basic private room, labeled as twin and not double, that we opened this year for people who were looking for a budget private option. It is stated in each of our booking sites that this room doesn't have the standard of the other rooms, that it has a bunk bed... More 

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Kombi Hostel
#34 of 453 in Santiago
186 reviews
Happy House Hostel
#6 of 453 in Santiago
578 reviews
Santa Lucia
La Casona Hostel
La Casona Hostel
#7 of 453 in Santiago
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Casa Roja Hostel
#8 of 453 in Santiago
448 reviews
Centro Histórico
Plaza de Armas Hostel
Plaza de Armas Hostel
#77 of 453 in Santiago
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of Santiago's greatest hostel! Perfect location in downtown, 100-year-old restored unit, amazing facilities, extra large beds and more!We offer Furnished apartments, private rooms and cheap dorms to suit every traveler's need. Join our social activities and discover all Santiago has to offer ... more   less 

Additional Information about Santiago Backpackers Hostel

Address: Enrique Mac Iver 661, Santiago, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Price Range: RM62 - RM196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Santiago Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Santiago Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Santiago Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“dont get the one near reception, loud in the mornings!!”
 of 5 bubbles Lynagh14, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Take the dorm of 10, cheap and you get to know new people”
 of 5 bubbles matthF9604JA, 19 Aug 2015 | Read review
“avoid the room above the kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles yumfook, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“I´ve been in two rooms in this hostel: the first one was of 6 people and includes bathroom, and the other one was of 8 people without bathroom. The first was much expensive, because of the bathroom, but it was tiny. I preferred the second, because it had a window and more place. But, the last turned to the street, and there was a little bit cars noise.”
 of 5 bubbles NogaKa, 24 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Bring padlock for lockers in room.”
 of 5 bubbles Fruitbeard115, 22 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay