We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Santiago Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Santiago Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 123: English reviews
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

+Excellent hostel in Santiago! +Very friendly staff! +Nice and spacious building, relax athmosphere. Lots of charm in this old building. Common areas comfortable. Easy to meet other people. +Big kitchen with everything needed. +Dorms are spacious. +Showers worked very well. Hot water. +Clean toilets and showers. +Wi-Fi very fast. +One of the best breakfasts you will get in any hostel!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sbch1
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Four incredibly disorganised Irish lads showed up after midnight with no booking and nowere else to go. staff managed to organise us all in the same room and were extremely helpful, they couldn{t have done enough. one of the lads was sick and they kept checking in on him. Philipe and Andres were the two staff names i remember, absolute...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynagh14
Reviewed 21 March 2016

charming hostel with chill atmosphere. Vintage house. Bed in room are comfortable and wide. the volunteers are cool and very helpful about everything. No doubt best hostel around to stay in santiago :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel R
Reviewed 18 March 2016

The reception staff was very lovely though some of them didnt speak English very well. Good location and really nice building! There were not enough showers on the first floor, so sometimes we should use showers on the second floor. But it was not a big problem at all because the hostel has real home atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martymcfly12345
Reviewed 18 March 2016

Rooms for this Hostel are very clean because all the staff is very concern about the cleanliness , so it is very satisfying for us customers. Also the toilets are very clean so it is very recommendable to stay. I also like that the Hostel is in a very good location, near many things to do. Keep up the good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mayk D
Quetzaltenango Department, Guatemala
Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

The best of the hostel is location and breakfast full and tasty. Also rooms and toilet are relly clean. Hostel staff concern about cleaningness a lot. I had a great time in Santiago staying at your hostel, congratulations. I can recommend it and definitely will come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian H
Odessa, Ukraine
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

Fun clean and welcoming! Hostel is in really good location where you have many places around - bars, restaurants, supermarket and fish market(!). Also building is amazing. Its old and big and has a lot of common areas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Odessa_citizen
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

I arrived at the hostel to be greeted in an unfriendly manner and I was made to feel I was annoying the guy on reception. The hostel room was also far to hot and when I asked for a key 3 times for the window I was presented with a key at 12 in the evening which didn't work. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melon29
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

Very good location, near to all the services. Breakfast was good and rooms clean. The best part about this was defenitely the ppl. Some were volunteering there, some (travellers) having a longer stay. Everyone was really friendly and you could always find someone to hang with from the common areas. Really loved this place !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saara I
Arifurman, Propietario at Santiago Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Wow, we are so happy to hear you had a great time. Thanks a lot for taking the time to review!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2015

I normally stay in hotels but money was running out so this hostel was perfect. Clean and efficiently run, they also can arrange almost anything for your stay. The staff went out of their way to help including the manager, Ari, who took us to the top of a building nearby to help us orientate to the Santiago geography. He...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive S

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Kombi Hostel
#34 of 453 in Santiago
186 reviews
Santa Lucia
La Casona Hostel
La Casona Hostel
#7 of 453 in Santiago
235 reviews
Happy House Hostel
#5 of 453 in Santiago
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Casa Roja Hostel
#8 of 453 in Santiago
448 reviews
Centro Histórico
Plaza de Armas Hostel
Plaza de Armas Hostel
#78 of 453 in Santiago
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of Santiago's greatest hostel! Perfect location in downtown, 100-year-old restored unit, amazing facilities, extra large beds and more!We offer Furnished apartments, private rooms and cheap dorms to suit every traveler's need. Join our social activities and discover all Santiago has to offer ... more   less 

Additional Information about Santiago Backpackers Hostel

Address: Enrique Mac Iver 661, Santiago, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Price Range: RM63 - RM196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Santiago Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Santiago Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Santiago Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“dont get the one near reception, loud in the mornings!!”
 of 5 bubbles Lynagh14, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Take the dorm of 10, cheap and you get to know new people”
 of 5 bubbles matthF9604JA, 19 Aug 2015 | Read review
“avoid the room above the kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles yumfook, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“I´ve been in two rooms in this hostel: the first one was of 6 people and includes bathroom, and the other one was of 8 people without bathroom. The first was much expensive, because of the bathroom, but it was tiny. I preferred the second, because it had a window and more place. But, the last turned to the street, and there was a little bit cars noise.”
 of 5 bubbles NogaKa, 24 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Bring padlock for lockers in room.”
 of 5 bubbles Fruitbeard115, 22 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay