We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Santiago Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Santiago Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 130: English reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2016

The reception staff was very lovely though some of them didnt speak English very well. Good location and really nice building! There were not enough showers on the first floor, so sometimes we should use showers on the second floor. But it was not a big problem at all because the hostel has real home atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martymcfly12345
Reviewed 18 March 2016

Rooms for this Hostel are very clean because all the staff is very concern about the cleanliness , so it is very satisfying for us customers. Also the toilets are very clean so it is very recommendable to stay. I also like that the Hostel is in a very good location, near many things to do. Keep up the good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mayk D
Quetzaltenango Department, Guatemala
Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

The best of the hostel is location and breakfast full and tasty. Also rooms and toilet are relly clean. Hostel staff concern about cleaningness a lot. I had a great time in Santiago staying at your hostel, congratulations. I can recommend it and definitely will come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian H
Odessa, Ukraine
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

Fun clean and welcoming! Hostel is in really good location where you have many places around - bars, restaurants, supermarket and fish market(!). Also building is amazing. Its old and big and has a lot of common areas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Odessa_citizen
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

I arrived at the hostel to be greeted in an unfriendly manner and I was made to feel I was annoying the guy on reception. The hostel room was also far to hot and when I asked for a key 3 times for the window I was presented with a key at 12 in the evening which didn't work. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melon29
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

Very good location, near to all the services. Breakfast was good and rooms clean. The best part about this was defenitely the ppl. Some were volunteering there, some (travellers) having a longer stay. Everyone was really friendly and you could always find someone to hang with from the common areas. Really loved this place !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saara I
Arifurman, Propietario at Santiago Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Wow, we are so happy to hear you had a great time. Thanks a lot for taking the time to review!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2015

I normally stay in hotels but money was running out so this hostel was perfect. Clean and efficiently run, they also can arrange almost anything for your stay. The staff went out of their way to help including the manager, Ari, who took us to the top of a building nearby to help us orientate to the Santiago geography. He...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive S
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

Hello my name is william. I was in this hostel for a week and this is my opinion: Good price! Good energy! And very good place. There are tv room. A full kitchen to cook. Two very clean bathrooms. The breakfast has different options wich is very good. This was the first hostel that gave me a key for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank william arduin wecki
Leipzig, Germany
Reviewed 2 October 2015

I stayed in the hostel for the second time, because when I was first there in 2013, it was totally clear I would come back here if I ever visited Santiago again. It's not just perfectly located in the centre of Santiago, the house is really beautiful too. What else can I say? It's clean, it's cheap, the breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sophia M
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 September 2015

Firstly all the hostels are pricey in Santiago, but I got a good deal online. But when we added an extra night to our stay we had to pay the normal rate, which I think was bit overpriced. But anyway, we stayed in a 6 bed door with a bathroom. The beds were comfy, the lockers were large enough to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lj785

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
La Casa Roja Hostel
#10 of 464 in Santiago
484 reviews
Santa Lucia
La Casona Hostel
La Casona Hostel
#6 of 464 in Santiago
248 reviews
Kombi Hostel
#41 of 464 in Santiago
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Chimba Hostel
#15 of 464 in Santiago
394 reviews
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 464 in Santiago
764 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel
Che Lagarto Hostel
#3 of 464 in Santiago
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of Santiago's greatest hostel! Perfect location in downtown, 100-year-old restored unit, amazing facilities, extra large beds and more!We offer Furnished apartments, private rooms and cheap dorms to suit every traveler's need. Join our social activities and discover all Santiago has to offer ... more   less 

Additional Information about Santiago Backpackers Hostel

Address: Enrique Mac Iver 661, Santiago, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Price Range: RM58 - RM218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Santiago Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Santiago Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Santiago Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick a bed away from window since street light and noise comes through at night”
 of 5 bubbles Kevintrotter123, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room facing road can be loud since busses pass by frequently, BYOB is welcomed”
 of 5 bubbles COGMarcus, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“dont get the one near reception, loud in the mornings!!”
 of 5 bubbles Lynagh14, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Take the dorm of 10, cheap and you get to know new people”
 of 5 bubbles matthF9604JA, 19 Aug 2015 | Read review
“avoid the room above the kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles yumfook, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5