We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Valpackers Hostel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Valpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Valpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 17: English reviews
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Walking distance from the bus station and everything you need. Great kitchen with everything to prepare a good meal, clean bathroom and hot water in the shower, small dorm (just 6 beds) and nice commun area to eat, listening tv or use the computer. Special thanks to the owner who have been reeeally nice with me after my camera get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bianca G
Abu Dhabi
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This hostel is walking distance from the bus station, which is a plus, and transportation around Valparaiso was pretty cheap using shared taxis. The hostel was friendly with a big shared tv and a nice kitchen. However it was the typical hostel, with just an okay bathroom (if you go for a shared bathroom you need to use the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paige H
Sucre, Bolivia
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Staying 4 nights in Valparaiso I found the Valpackers in the Avenida Francia to be a great base for discovering one of the most interesting cities in South America. While located a bit away, but in walking distance of touristical spots (10 minutes to the centro), it is very close to lively main streets as Pedro Montt & Av Brasil,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cymande
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Just spent 3 nights and it ranks as one of our worst hostel stays: 1. Left waiting for 30 mins outside for the person to answer the door when we arrived after a long bus journey and heavy bags. No apology. Really strange exchange left us asking if they even worked there which after a while they confirmed and led...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdeEccles
Kumana, Propietario at Valpackers Hostel, responded to this review

I feel really sorry, you felt your staying was so terrible to warning another people you stay with us. when you say I give you the wrong key I really apologize because I said to you I have to go out. because I was moving out to that house, so I think I was distracted and tired, really sorry for...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights. We booked a standard double but got a basic double although it didn't really matter. The location was pretty good, we just caught the metro (really close and cheap) into the main part of Valpo and it was quiet at night. The owners are friendly and give great tips, despite sounding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nell188
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This was my first hostel stay in Valpo. Location is pretty ideal if you're a runner - just take Avd. Francia towards the water and there's a path along the coast. It's also crazy close to the bus terminal and central market. A short walk away from the plaza and Concepcion. The owner is incredibly helpful (the most detailed suggestions...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jacklyn_giron
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Casabella is an awesome Bed & Breakfast in Valparaiso, with comfortable beds and a very generous breakfast. A great place to get a good night`s sleep, so for those who are looking for a party hostel, it might not be the best choice. I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and the owners were really nice.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rich m

31 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 km away
Hostal Calamar Azul
Hostal Calamar Azul
#52 of 164 in Valparaiso
1 reviews
0.7 km away
Latinoamericanohostal
Latinoamericanohostal
#88 of 164 in Valparaiso
9 reviews
0.5 km away
Muffin Hostel
Muffin Hostel
#16 of 164 in Valparaiso
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hostal El Farol
Hostal El Farol
#53 of 94 in Valparaiso
3 reviews
0.5 km away
Nomada Eco Hostel
Nomada Eco Hostel
#1 of 164 in Valparaiso
297 reviews
0.8 km away
La Joya Hostel
La Joya Hostel
#3 of 164 in Valparaiso
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Space for rest and disconnection , we have vegetarian and gluten-free diet, with space for relaxation with descontracturantes massages, and alternative therapies , reiki , healing therapies , space for aesthetic care , thai massage, facial massage, ayurvedic and lymphatic massage with free animal cruelty and organic products. Ideal for people who are looking for proximity to the city center and disconnection for bedsit on holiday. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Valpackers Hostel

Address: Avenida Francia 224, Valparaiso 2362908, Chile (Formerly Casabella)
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Price Range: RM26,695 - RM44,492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Valpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Valpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Valpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't go for the double room on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles OLJ, 19 Sep 2014 | Read review
“My room near the back was quiet and got the sun during the day!”
 of 5 bubbles JessMCurrumbin, 2 Jul 2014 | Read review
“At least one bunk room on the third floor has a great view of the city and the Pacific from a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles chrispV8346CV, 16 Jan 2014 | Read review
“The twin room is very good value!”
 of 5 bubbles 34ChrisM34, 26 Dec 2012 | Read review
“I think all rooms face the street so the top floor 'might' be quieter but only if you leave the windows closed all night.”
 of 5 bubbles jacklyn_giron, 23 Jan 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay