We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa Gangotena

Traveller (519)
Panoramas (21)
Dining (90)
Travellers' Choice 2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Situated in a newly-restored historic mansion overlooking Plaza San Francisco, the three-story Casa Gangotena harbours 31 rooms, a showcase of eye-catching style, contemporary design, antiques, fine furnishings, modern technologies and quintessential comfort.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room Service
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
Great View
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Reviews & more
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 730
  • 53
  • 16
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We used this hotel as our base while exploring Ecuador. We stayed four times over the course of three weeks and experienced a different room on each occasion. All rooms were very good however I recommend requesting a room with a separate shower as on one occasion we had a shower
Read more
Our daypack was stolen off the luggage cart in the lobby of the hotel as we checked in. Upon viewing the security camera video there was one frame left that showed the cart with all the luggage, including the daypack, next there was a convenient lapse of several seconds & no
Read more
Response from JuanDavidE19, Gerente at Casa Gangotena
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear MT_bear2014 As soon as you reported this incident to us, we immediately looked through our security camera footage and reviewed it together with you. What we managed to see with our security cameras was the following: four pieces of luggage were dropped off from your transfer vehicle, all of which were then delivered to your room. We regret to hear that the footage we presented you with was not able to satisfy your doubts regarding this unfortunate incident. It saddens us that you didn’t mention any of your suspicions to us right then and there, while you were viewing the footage with us. Perhaps the screens we were using weren’t of the necessary quality for you to properly examine everything, and we do apologize if this was indeed the case. Please be aware that, if the videos had indeed shown any type of crime, we would have, without hesitation, immediately called the police, as is hotel policy. We are more than willing to provide you with the complete, raw, and uncut footage so that you yourself can review it once again. We are also deeply sorry to hear about the issues you regarding the noises around your room. We did leave a flower arrangement and an apology letter in your room the following morning in response to your complaints. We would have appreciated it tremendously if you had told us what other form of compensation you would have preferred at that very moment. Once again, we apologize tremendously for how upsetting this experience was for you. But we would like to say and clarify that we hold honesty and transparency to the highest level at Casa Gangotena.
Read more
Stayed here several days. Very friendly staff. Hot towels at check in. Beautiful spotless rooms. Very comfortable. Had great gluten free options at breakfast and dinner. Excellent food. Gluten free plantain and corn empanadas were the highlight of our last night. Sat in the
Read more
We come to the restaurant often, especially with visiting friends. We are always left with the impression that ecuadorean cuisine would be among the best in the world, should good chefs as Casa Gangotena's be more widespread. Experience it, you will not regret it (and I haven't
Read more
Response from JuanDavidE19, Gerente at Casa Gangotena
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear tecnidiesel Thank you very much for your kind review about our food. I totally agree with you, Ecuadorian cuisine should be among the best in the world. Please let me know next you visit our restaurant I would like to introduce our new rooftop menu to you. All the best Juan David Echeverria
Read more
Such a beautiful place to stay in Quito, old but elegantly modernised. We loved staying here, the location was perfect for wandering about the picturesque old town, then we could come back to our lovely room overlooking the plaza and relax while admiring the view. Were
Read more
Response from JuanDavidE19, Gerente at Casa Gangotena
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear MyrtleWiltshire I’m deeply sorry that you had missed one night with us, certainly we were honored with your visit, we hope to see you again in the near future. Saludos Juan David Echeverria
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorCasa Gangotena
The Double Plaza View at the Casa Gangotena
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorCasa Gangotena
The Twin Plaza View at the Casa Gangotena
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorCasa Gangotena
The Luxury Plus at the Casa Gangotena
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorCasa Gangotena
The Junior Balcony at the Casa Gangotena
Photo provided by managementCasa Gangotena
Plaza View Room
I can not recall hearing them at all and I am also quite a light sleeper.
1 vote
Show all answers
The hotel is gorgeous. We heard no noise from any construction while we were there. There was also no problem with Road access around the hotel. There is a dynamite pre-Columbia museum right around the corner.
1 vote
Show all answers
need to find a rate less than 450/night for 8 nights
"2nd floor rooms are great"
"Worth paying the extra for a room overlooking the plaza."
"plaza view is really nice!"
"Rooms facing the Plaza offer great views"
"Room 204 for an excellent view of the San Francisco Church and Square"
US$438 - US$650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
EcuadorPichincha ProvinceQuito
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing