We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostal Macondo

Booking.comUS$31*
View Deal
#19 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hostal Macondo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostal Macondo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 129: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed five nights in a very clean and comfortable en suite double room which overlooked the garden. Included breakfast was excellent and patrons had access to the kitchen. It is a 10 minute walk from the historic Centro and the main cathedral and museums or galleries. All staff was great and the front desk staff had good english and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 7557gw
jenny v, Manager at Hostal Macondo, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your comments we are happy to have you or your friends again and very welcome .

Reviewed 6 June 2016

I recently stayed at Hostal Macondo ( from 5/19-6/1/16). The purpose of my trip was to scout out Cuenca as a potential city for retirement. From the moment I arrived through the entirety of my stay Macondo delivered an excellent hotel/hostal experience. This place is truly a quiet sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of Cuenca just outside the front...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rhey W
jenny v, Manager at Hostal Macondo, responded to this review

Good comment and we are very glad we helped you, thanks for your time here too, and welcome back. Jenny ps hugs from every one.

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 13 April 2016

For the price, I thought this place was really lovely. There is an older (100+ year old) building which has all the character anyone could want. There are also new rooms out back that over look a really nice courtyard. For the price, I thought this place was excellent. It is quiet and the WiFi worked. The breakfast was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
jenny v, Manager at Hostal Macondo, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment. We do have a small tv just in case for your next visit. We are very happy that you like our breakfast it's included in the price for your room. Also we have a reformed suite with tv cable just in case. Welcome any time im sure we help more guests. Jenny.

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 21 March 2016

We have only been here a couple of nights but we really love the place. Rooms are very basic, but the setting is very warm. Most of the rooms are around the lovely garden. Breakfast can be improved with variety. The staff is super friendly and accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gigi_Il_Bresciano
jenny v, Manager at Hostal Macondo, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your comment, we hope to have you soon again, and we are glad for your comment, this always help new guest, Jenny.

Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed for almost two weeks in this well located, quiet, friendly, clean and calm Hostal. The staff were always helpful and pleasant, with useful advice and a kitchen that could also be used to cook ones own meals. The garden was most welcoming and we were able to have Spanish lessons without intruding on others.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dikstern
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 days and it was great base for exploring city and surrounding areas. The Hostal has rooms around a central garden area. We stayed in a suite with small kitchen area. Good sized room, very clean. Breakfast was lovely, fruit or yoghurt and muesli with fresh breads. Staff very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill12013
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 February 2016

I have stayed at Macondo every year for 6 years while in Cuenca. It has never disappointed. My last stay included my 4 year old son, and Macondo proved to be welcoming and the correct choice for traveling with a toddler. The staff are always available and willing to help with any needs. The breakfasts are delicious and the serenity...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian476
Steven W, Owner at Hostal Macondo, responded to this review

Thanks, Brian, for the visit. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you soon. Best wishes

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

Hostal macondo was one of my highlights from the trip. Not too far from the busier part of town. Reasonably priced, emptier than we had preferred while there, very clean and magical of sorts. Loved the middle atrium and the backyard. Breakfast was simple but tasty with a chef who cooked as you ordered. Would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Can_Nah
jenny v, Manager at Hostal Macondo, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment, we are very glad that we can help some others costummers, we hope to have you back. Jenny.

Salisbury, Maryland
Reviewed 4 January 2016

I came back to Cuenca this year and stayed in Macondo again and it was wonderful as always. The rooms and common areas are very clean, facing a lovely backyard where you can have breakfast. By the way, yummy breakfast with good coffee, fresh fruit juices (not from concentrate!), awesome breads, plus choices of fruit, muesli or eggs. Staff and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CAROLINA B
jenny v, Manager at Hostal Macondo, responded to this review

Thanks a lot we are always, happy to have you and thanks for your comment.

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Stayed for 3 nights in a single room with shared bath. My room was not comfortable. It was a small room where a hall way near the stairs was converted into a room. Advice: Do not go for the cheapest room. Breakfast was OK. The two courtyards in the interior were great and one had a hammock in it. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Avtar W
jenny v, Manager at Hostal Macondo, responded to this review

Happy New years dear Guest : thanks a lot for your comment which help always to improve our services for the best. we all ready check the internet and is working fine thanks for the suggestions, we always help on time of your kind requests. have a wonderful year and hope we can have you back, please do reserved or...

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
1:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
1.1 km away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
0.3 km away
Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel
#31 of 60 in Cuenca
48 reviews
0.8 km away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#16 of 60 in Cuenca
105 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#3 of 60 in Cuenca
427 reviews
0.2 km away
Hostal La Posada Cuencana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lovely downtown hotel built around a beautiful garden. A very peaceful place in the heart of colonial Cuenca offering --travel and tour assistance --free breakfast --luggage storage --free maps --lending library --wheel chair rooms --24 hour check-in --plenty of hot water --kitchen use after 1PM ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Macondo

Address: Tarqui 11-64 Y Lamar, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Price Range: RM91 - RM240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Macondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Macondo Cuenca
Hostal Macondo Hotel Cuenca
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cuenca
#10 Business Hotel in Cuenca
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostal Macondo staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hostal Macondo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the back, behind the garden: even better!”
319mariepierreb, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Around the garden is best if you prefer a quieter room”
Englishtravelfanatic, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check rooms since all are different”
ElderTrekkers, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“By the garden”
sherylmaddisonc, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The hostal has a variety of room types--single, double, shared bath, private bath, etc.”
linnosav3, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$31* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$31
Agoda.comUS$31
PricelineUS$31
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates